Customer Reviews for

Cut

Average Rating 4.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(366)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

FOR CUTTERS

Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutio...
Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutions to heal the pain. This book could be one of those solutions. With every page is a girl someone could relate to, but you could learn from her.
Callie cuts herself, and now she's at Sea Pines or what she calls "Sick Minds" refusing to talk. Instead, she listens to people in her surroundings who are just like her. They are hurt, and they don't want to be trapped. They know why they are here, but they'll have to learn how to fix that.
I recommend this, WELL WRITTEN, book for teenagers, cutters, children, mothers, and teachers. Learn from Callie and enjoy this book like I did. Take heed, people, there is help.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment....

Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into ...
Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into her mindset.

posted by TulaneGirl on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Disappointment....

    Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into her mindset.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2004

    Major Disappointment

    it just kept going on and on. I kept waiting for it to get interesting but it just never got off the ground. As a former long-time cutter, i was seriously disappointed.p

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    An OK read, but does not accurately portray the true mind of a c

    An OK read, but does not accurately portray the true mind of a cutter. If you're looking for a book that offers a more realistic and in depth look into the world of mental health facilities, depression, and self-mutilation, then I would recommend "A Bright Red Scream" (very graphic, not for kids).

    However, if you would like a story that's more on the fictitious side- this is your book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    Absolutely Terrible book

    I've read and re-read this book and its completely ridiculous. And Boring. Its unrealistic and just plain annoying. Do not waste your money on this please! I know a lot about the subject matter of cutting and this is glamourizing it, acting as if its incredibly easy to use as a tool to deal with your problems. It's not in any form fun or drug-like. Just don't buy it. You will regret it if you have any brains.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Never in my life.

    This book was slow and boring; <BR/>page after page I turned to find nothing <BR/>more intresting than a girl going to a therapist <BR/>talking about her brother who had ashtma, <BR/>its nothing I expected. <BR/>I regret reading it, a waste of time it was.<BR/>I could summarize it in one sentence,<BR/>" a girl goes to a mental hospital after cutting, she never talks<BR/>she opens up runs away and goes back. "<BR/>END OF STOPRY.<BR/>Super Dissapointing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    Okay

    this book would probobly be okay for other people, but personally it didnt keep my intrest I tried to keep reading it but it just didnt click. buy at your own risk.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    While I got this book a while back due to interest, I was disappointed. In fact, I was annoyed almost entirely the whole book. Although the plot is good and the fact that the book is in Callie's point of view, it still didn't fully grasp me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    not so good

    im sorry if i sound mean when i say this but this was not good. i cant think of anything else to say other than that it is a really slow read.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2006

    a reviewer

    first of all this book was okay until i got to the part that told why she cut it was not her fault at all and besides that the book wasn't that great it failed to say what it was like being a cutter if want a really good book that deals with cutting read crosses by shelley stoehr it is a lot better described what it is like being a cutter and it also said after you cut she used hairspray that is bad because cutters could read this book and get the idea and use it so over all the book was disappointing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Eh.

    The style of writing is superb, but I found the story lacking. I don't believe it really gets under the skin of the issue: cutting(obviously). It's a pretty good read, but I wouldn't recommend it if you really want to know about Self Injury.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Austin

    "Ok... Well, I gtgtb before I pass out. Nught."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cut

    This book is good for someone who has contemplated sucicide . This book was okay , needed more adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Blah

    This book was not what I expected. I was hoping for it to be more emotional. It lacks feeling and emotion. I couldn't get into it. The authors writing was horrible. I've read plenty of books about teens who cut, and being a cutter myself, I thought this book doesn't portray the actual feelings of someone who cuts. In order to write a book about cutting you really have to understand the subject and possibly, you might have to experience it for yourself. This was one of the worst books I've ever read. And I don't say that about a lot of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Blew Its Potential!

    When I purchased Cut, I was a little excited I'm all about reading things that could make me think, or could be in-depth or gruesome. But all I could think about while reading this was how dull it was. It had potential- a mute with odd thoughts with tons of self-destruction Yet, all that happened was a happy ending and no real conflict or plot to the story. The author noted in the book that she spent years gathering information for this novel. I think her research couldn't even fathom the real stories of people in mental homes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Stereotypical

    It was ok, but I thought that the situation which led her to do that to herself was a bit too 'textbook' and stereotypical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Didn't enjoy this book.

    I wouldn't say that the book was horrible but I didn't enjoy reading it. Callie begins to interact with the other girls in like the third to last chapter but before she begins interacting the book was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Not the greatest book i've ever read.

    I didn't care for this book. All I heard people in school talk about this year was the book cut and how wonderful it was so I just had to read it. Well it wasn't as wonderful as everyone said. It was just 'ok' but it didn't come close to the expectations I had for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    Alright

    It needs to say more about her problem....people buy the book thinking that it is going to be about a girl who cuts herself when it is really about her brother's asthma problem, and her friends eating disorers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Disappointing!!!!!!!

    Ummmm.... This is a good book for a girl. I am a girl myself but WOULD NOT recommend this to a boy!!! All it really is, is about a girl in a loony bin talking to other girls that have problems. not saying that it was bad but needed a little more umph to it! SO i would give this 2 stars. And I am looking foward to rerading another one of Mcormic books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2