Customer Reviews for

Cut

Average Rating 4.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(366)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

FOR CUTTERS

Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutio...
Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutions to heal the pain. This book could be one of those solutions. With every page is a girl someone could relate to, but you could learn from her.
Callie cuts herself, and now she's at Sea Pines or what she calls "Sick Minds" refusing to talk. Instead, she listens to people in her surroundings who are just like her. They are hurt, and they don't want to be trapped. They know why they are here, but they'll have to learn how to fix that.
I recommend this, WELL WRITTEN, book for teenagers, cutters, children, mothers, and teachers. Learn from Callie and enjoy this book like I did. Take heed, people, there is help.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment....

Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into ...
Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into her mindset.

posted by TulaneGirl on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2008

    re-read.

    this book was great when i was in the seventh grade. i re-read it this year as a ninth grader and i'm not impressed. so when considering this book take into consideration your age, interests, and own personal experiences.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cut

    McCormick, P. (2000). Cut. New York: Push.

    043924599

    While ya gotta respect McCormick for repeatedly exploring some of the toughest issues for young adult girls out there, I feel like Cut doesn't focus on cutting enough to warrant it making the title. Sure the narrator is put in a facility because she is a cutter, but her group mates who are there for an assortment of reasons interested me just as much, when I could keep straight who each one was. (Students may need to chart each character and track their characteristics. For reals, it's so easy to get these girls confused!)

    McCormick does a wonderful job of constructing Callie's character, although I did expect her to have experienced more trauma than what was described in the book.

    In this short book, there is a small commentary about the perception of cutter's by most people and the medical community. McCormick confronts that general assumptions and misunderstandings by presenting multiple people and a second girl who cuts herself for different reasons.

    Despite my extensive consideration of cutting here, the majority of the book is more focused on the aspects of life that are haunting Callie and her journey to deciding to get better.

    My favorite part is that the entire book is written in second-person direct addresses to the reader, as though he or she is the psychiatrist working with Callie.



    Activities to do with the book:

    This book is good for starting discussions on issues of cutting, bulimia, anorexia, insanity, drug addiction, familial pressures, ways of dealing with problems, dealing with stress over a sick relative, expressions of emotions, etc.

    Also, the ending is fairly ambiguous, so students could write letters to the characters asking how they are doing or they could write their own continuations.

    Students could also write a letter as Callie's psychiatrist as a response to the book. Or they could construct the character of "you" based on the few clues present in the text.



    Favorite Quotes:

    "You say it's up to me to do the talking" (p. 1).

    "The people at Sick Minds were still trying to figure out what to do with me" (p. 11).

    "There's a lot of crying here at night. Since there are no doors on any of the rooms, the crying-or moaning, or sobbing-floats out into the hallway. Sometimes I lie in bed imagining a river of sobs flowing by, leaving little puddles of misery on each threshold" (p. 27).

    For more reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Age

    Overall, this book was okay. I am sixteen years old. I think that it has a good message. And I am proud of the main character, Callie. However, I think I would like the book better if I was younger. It just all depends on how old your are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Cut

    Cut goes through the point of view story of Callie in her stay at Sea Pines but to her its 'sick minds.' She's sent there after being discovered that she cuts herself. While there she doesn't say a word but starts to slowly come out of her shell, gets to know the other girls and confronts her troubles including her father. What I liked was the writing style and how Callie begun talking again and the ending was great and give you a hint that she really wants to stop cutting. Read this at least once and decide whether you think its a good book or not but yes it is a sad thing when it comes to certain hard to talk about issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    I do it

    ... "im cutters out there"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    I read this book last year...

    ...and to be honest, I didnt know what cutting was! Now that I know, the fact that people do that scared me. If you cut and you are reading this, stay strong. Your future could be bright if you stopped cutting. And yes i agree that this book would make some younger kidd cut. And mabey patricia mccormick should have put some detail in the book that make cutting seem as bad as it is to scare people to never do it. Teens and older people that get ideas on how to cut themselves differentley should make the better choice and not do it or even not read the book in the first place. If I was a mother( I am 14) I would be watching my children and wouldnt let read this book untill they were older and they understood that it is not a good thing to do because when your a teen you no better and if you want to cut its by your own will. No offense i understand that you who cut are under alot of stress and probably dont what to do anymore. A mom replied that her child read this book before she knew. How could you as a mom not know what your child is reading? Even if your child is hiding it from their mom, the mom should notice the cuts and talk to their child. If a child is under that much stress thats not right on the parents part! Authors write for entertainment.of course its cut encouraging to some people but im sure patricia mccoormick didnt mean it to be. She is a great author, she helped many teens quit cutting! Its only a matter on how you look at the book positivley- yes cutting hurts your body mabey i could try talking to someone- or negativley- oh im so depressed- im gonna blame the book for making me cut myself more. Do you want to get better? You need to get better. You need to try and then turn trying to stop into stopping!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Cut

    Good book it would be better if there was a little more action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    okay

    it was very confusing i expected more of this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Average

    It was an okay book. It wasn't what I thought it would be though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OKay

    not the best book that ive ever read about cutting i wish it was longer and the main charter talked more. at some points i found it boring and at other i found it sad. there are other books out there

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    expected more

    i read the book pretty quickly. not because it was so interesting, but because it was something i could kind of relate to as a cutter. it was pretty bland though. not bad for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    Lacks...

    I have never read a book like Cut. Some books mention cutting, for instance, a characters best friend cutting, but never have I read a book solely on cutting.
    But in the end, I was extremely dissapointed. The author lacked in almost everything I would expect from this book. I was expecting, just from the title and the bio on the back, to be just heartbroken for Callie. But I was not. At all.
    There was no emotion in the authors writing, and sometimes, when Callie was not talking in the beginning, it just made me annoyed. Some parts were completely unrealistic, at least in my perspective. For researching and writting Cut for three years, I expected the author to be more thorough, and add detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Cutting

    Cutting<BR/><BR/> After reading Cut by Patricia McCormick I was unsatisfied with the psychological view inside these troubles girls¿ minds. I did not have any connection with the issues the girls in the book faced. I do like the writing style she used. Setting the reader as the psychiatrist and being talked to while these psychological sessions is taking place. This book does bring up a lot of issues normal teenage girls face in their everyday lives that I know will help them in understanding their own conflicts. I highly recommend this book to these girls. For everybody else out there that has a perfect life, I have a feeling that you will have little connection with the story as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    gives too many ideas, ex-cutter

    It was an ok book...too short and the reason why she cuts seems just for attention which is NOT the main reason why people cut. it also gave a lot of ideas for how to cut yourself, so kids who want to cut but can't think of any ways to do it might try the ways described in the book. I actually got more ideas on how to cut after I read this book. If you are a cutter, you might not want to read it...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    I'm not so sure about this book...

    I thought it was ok the first time I read it, but trying to re-read it, I had to put it down. I have a lot of mixed feelings about it, but at the same time I am not saying don't read it. I'm sorry, but I didn't enjoy this book that much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2007

    weird

    well i like this book but just WHY does she keep cuting herself. i dam its just weird. i liked it it was iight but i dont really think there was any point to this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is interestingly written in a way that the main character, Callie, is actually talking to you. You are her mental doctor in this book sometimes, and that's interesting. But really, other than that, it's not that interesting. I had to force myself to read some parts, and I really didn't care about the other girls or their problems. Callie was most fasinating, anyways. If you've never cut, I reccommend this book. If you have, don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2007

    Could of been better

    This book could of been better, but it wasn't that bad. It could of used a lot more detail. This book would of been better with more detail because a lot of cutters could of related to it more. This book could of had something that had more about cutting because there are people out there who experience cutting worse than Callie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2006

    Bad Ideas

    I am a cutter and I think this book gives bad ideas. I had never thought about using hairspray on my cuts until I read this book. When I was institutionalized, my friend and I had both read the book and used the things Callie used to cut herself. I think this book is not a good book for cutters to read, unless they are trying to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    =]!Very good! =]

    This book was good, but it was a little hard to get into at first and I think reading the begining might make a reader want to stop reading the rest of the book. Once I got into the book, i really enjoyed it. It really made me think about how people could do those things to themselves and it made me feel really bad for the people who can't stop doing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4