Customer Reviews for

Cut

Average Rating 4.5
( 612 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(366)

4 Star

(132)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

FOR CUTTERS

Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutio...
Patricia McCormick has taken three years to write this short book, and I took five nights reading this book and I must say that this book was an excellent title. Sadly, many teenagers are living with depression and cutting themself, but thankfully there are many solutions to heal the pain. This book could be one of those solutions. With every page is a girl someone could relate to, but you could learn from her.
Callie cuts herself, and now she's at Sea Pines or what she calls "Sick Minds" refusing to talk. Instead, she listens to people in her surroundings who are just like her. They are hurt, and they don't want to be trapped. They know why they are here, but they'll have to learn how to fix that.
I recommend this, WELL WRITTEN, book for teenagers, cutters, children, mothers, and teachers. Learn from Callie and enjoy this book like I did. Take heed, people, there is help.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment....

Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into ...
Entertaining read, but a little generic. Ms. McCormick doesn't really get into the details/emotions/rationales/etc for being a cutter. It's an interesting story about a girl in a group home/hospital coming to terms with her problems but not really an in depth view into her mindset.

posted by TulaneGirl on December 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    Cut

    Callie seems like a normal fifteen year old, but she is hiding a dark secret: her addiction to self-injury. A substitute nurse sees the scars from where Callie cut herself and Callie is sent to a residential treatment facility called Sea Pines. At Sea Pines, or "Sick Minds" as the "guests" have nicknamed it, there are girls with food disorders and drug addictions, but no one, until Amanda comes, self-injures like Callie. Callie has selective mutism and refuses to talk at all. Callie can only stay silent for so long.
    I have read this book multiple times. The first time I read it, I looked at Callie from her therapist's point of view. The next few times I read the book looking from Callie's point of view. She is very easy to relate to. The writing didn't seem as though it was coming from a fifteen year old though.In conclusion, Cut is about a teenage girl overcoming the addictive trials that is self-injury. I highly recommend this book.Cut is a great book, but the writing could have been more accurate to a fifteen year old's thoughts.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Serious

    It touches u more if youve been through wut callie has. Ive never been to a mental hospital for my anorexia/cutting/suicide but almost. I still feel like i need to. This stuff isnt funny and its NOT a joke. Teens and other people are killing themselves everyday and one of them was my best friend. It sucks. I dont get how peoplw think this stuff isnt important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well this was a sad, a little hard to read at times. But still a

    Well this was a sad, a little hard to read at times. But still a good read. And the writing was what made the book. A quick read but at the same time, you wonder will Callie get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Cut

    This is a good book. I loved it needs a second part

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    carrie

    night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Carrie

    Hey sis

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Good book must read!!

    This is a very good book!!! you have to read it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    This is a great book about a girl named Callie.  Callie blames h

    This is a great book about a girl named Callie.  Callie blames herself for all of her families issues and that is why she cuts.  She thens goes to a place called "Sick Minds" to get help.  It is like a group therapy.  The only problem is, Callie doest talk.  She doesn't like to open up about her issues and she doesn't like hearing about other peoples problems.  Will she be able to open up by the ed of the book?  I think this is an awesome book for all teenagers to read1 It really opens your eyes.  There wash't anything I disliked about this book except I wish it was longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Great First 'Tough Stuff' Book/ A Must Read for Teens

    I read all the time and have always been drawn to the books about the tough stuff teens go through. Some of the books I have read are very depressing, and while this one is about a girl who is struggling with herself, it is a great book to read if you want to read a not-so-depressing book about the struggles of being a teenager. I myself am a sophmore in high school, and this book is extremely relatable to anyone in their teens. It is a short, easy read, and stays with you in a good way. I would recommend this book to any teen, especially one who struggles with who they are. Please read this book! I would definitely love to read other books by this author if they are anything close to how much I liked this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    The book that I¿m reviewing is called Cut by Patricia McCormick.

    The book that I’m reviewing is called Cut by Patricia McCormick. This book is actually really intense. In my opinion though, I thought it was a really good book. If you’re into blood and gruesome type stuff, this book would be really good for you. I would probably recommend this book to preteens and above.
    My book was about a girl named Callie that cuts herself. The reason she cuts herself is because she’s very depressed. She’s depressed about her mom, dad, and brother Sam. She’s depressed about them because her brother is very sick with asthma, her mom can barely take care of her and Sam, and to make matters even worse, her dad is never home to help out because of his job. Callie stays in a rehab facility called Sea Pines, or as the patients that stay there call it “Sick Minds.” She stays there along with food disorder patients, substance abuse patients, and girls just like her. Callie makes herself not talk while she stays there, but one day she finally decided to talk again! She started to explain things to her therapist, and tell her why she cuts herself.
    My favorite part of the book was when Callie started talking again. I liked it because it was just interesting to hear all the things that goes through her mind, and why she always cuts herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    I loved this book

    I know some of my friends dont eat, cut or puke and it hurts me knowing that they do and i cut as well, this book helped me want to stop and help me find a way to help them stop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Cut

    This book was a great book. Which showed the relatioship between Callie and her visit to "Sick Minds" Sea Pines. Callie of course doesn't talk to anyone in the first chapter. But starts talking to "you" the therapist about Sam, her dad and her mom. This book shows how much Callie cares about her brother. At the end of the book Callie runs away but the last part would a big suprise that Callie goes back to Sea Pines. Callie really wants to become better and stop cutting her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Good

    Felt short, only 90 pages. It was good but felt like it needed more to it. Its about a girl recovering from self harm and it takes place in a mental institute, Sea Pines, for just about the whole book. Its a good short read, finished it in one sitting but it gets more repetitive near the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Cutting Edge

    pros: I like how she perfectly describes the situations in this girls cutting edge world.cons: This book has a few dull spots were it runs on.This book is very intriguing in describing the problems the main character has, in this story that fallows this girls road to health. This is a very moving book , I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    cut

    THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD. I LoVeD IT.i recommened this book to all my friends and they loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!

    15 year old Callie seems to have a normal life consisting of her mother, father and younger brother, Sam. She goes to high school and runs track, and even though her brother is often sick, her life seems normal; but Callie has a dangerous secret, she cuts herself. Never too deep and never enough to die, but just enough to feel the pain, the scream inside.
    But what Callie doesn¿t know is that this destructive path will not only hurt her, but will get her sent to ¿Sea Pines¿ or ¿Sick Minds¿ as Callie calls it. ¿Sea Pines¿ is a treatment facility. Callie meets others like herself, others are anorexic and some even have a drug problem. At first, Callie is completely silent, not opening up to anyone, including her therapist. Later on, the mystery behind Callies dangerous actions are unraveled. She starts talking to the other girls and makes some new friends. Callie learns that if she is going to get help, she has to want it. The doctor helps her confront her family problems, as well as her internal problems.
    This book is an emotional rollercoaster the entire time, the more into the book you get, the closer you will feel to Callie. You will not want this book to end. Callie and her journey for recovery will be in your heart forever.
    All in all, this book was amazing and I would recommend it to anyone with a heart.
    I gave this story 4 star because for me it was the best, but I believe that no book can be perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest & Hopeful - Not Just An Issues Book

    Cut is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year and it's quite the accomplishment. Ten years ago, young adult literature practically did not exist. It wasn't an actually category in a bookstore. Now it is. With this anniversary, more and more YA readers will be exposed to Cut and hopefully more and more will read it because it is a story to be read.

    Cut follows Callie, a 15 year old girl who cuts herself. Callie cuts, but doesn't really know why. Since coming to 'Sick Minds,' a youth treatment facility, Callie has been mute. Not speaking, not feeling, not anything. She is in group of girls with problems ranging from eating disorders, to drug dependency, to another cutter. She's not alone and she's not unique, but McCormick tells her story in a way that will draw the reader in, that will capture your attention, and force you to open your eyes.

    The writing is a bit disjointed - Callie refers to the counselor as 'you,' the reader - and takes a little while to get used to, but once the reader gets past that, Callie's story will pull you in. Without knowing why Callie cuts, her experiences and her emotions still make her someone to care about. Her life isn't all that bad, but I felt for her. I wanted to reach through the pages and give the girl a hug because she sure seems like she needs it. Being with Callie and figuring her out as she figures herself out is an experience unlike any other.

    The people surrounding Callie lend a great deal to the story. Even though the shrink, Callie's parents, her brother Sam, and her fellow group members aren't all that fleshed out, their small interactions bring out everything in Callie. Without their appearances, Callie would never grow, she would never break out of her shell and confront her problems. It is quite a feat to have minor characters with short scenes, play such a large role in character development, yet McCormick does it flawlessly.

    Cut is one of those books - like Speak and The Perks of Being a Wallflower - that help define a generation. It's timeless and heartbreaking and even though it seems bleak, that silver lining is the bright light at the end of the tunnel. Callie's story is universal, not just with cutting, but with everything. Her emotions, her struggles, and the outcome create an emotional journey that will leave the reader satisfied and changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Patricia McCormick and Cut

    This is a really good, interesting book to read. Patricia McCormick is great letting you visualize the scenes going on in her books. The only draw back with her writting that I've noticed and shouldn't keep you from a good story is how her ends leaving with feeling the story is over, or that she should have ended it sooner at a different place in the story because it would have been a better ending.

    "Cut" though is a great book telling a very intruiging story of a girl figuring out why she's doing what she's doing and finally coming around to be able to tell others what's been bothering her. I recommend this book to all of my friends and now to you. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    Cut

    I read cut back in seventh grade, and I had to say it's an extremely good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    Callie doesn't have a very good life so far. Her brother has a lot of asthma problems so her mom has to stay home with him all the time. Her dad has to work almost all the time, so she never really gets to see him that much anymore. She thinks her fa

    I think this is a very inspiring book, especially to most teens like me. It tells you the important things in life, family. Also, that you shouldn't punish yourself for other peoples problems. As a past cutter myself, I thought she was a very inspiring fictional character.I highly recommend this book to most teens, maybe even adults. I would reread this book just for the fun of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7