Customer Reviews for

Cut, Crop and Die (Kiki Lowenstein Scrap-N-Craft Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Areader

    This book was a one i could not put down. Even my daughter read this and loved it also. Thanks jcs keep on writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Lots of fun

    quirky, different and refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    A Nice Read

    This review is for those who love cozy mysteries -- Connelly and Deaver fans, luv ya, but this is not for you unless you enjoy the cross over like I do. The story is a bit slow in the beginning, but once it takes off, Ms. Slan's characters take on dimension piece by piece and the reader really feels as if she is coming to know each character exactly as one comes to know a friend -- that piece by piece way. The characteras have foibles, make mistakes; some are lovable, some less so, but each is completely credible. The subplots do have a strong presence and frankly, some of them were more interesting that the "main" plot, the murder itself.
    Ms. Slan does make more than one pass at the impact of the murder on the victim's family. This is something I'd personally like to see more of -- murder should not be entertainment for its own sake; I think most of us fully appreciate that but very few books take on that difficult question of the harm done to the survivors.
    There is also romance in the book -- our protagonist was widowed in the first of the series and has her various men issues -- she does have a daughter though. Funny how there are so few happily married with children amateur sleuths there are! So those of you who enjoy a little romance with your mystery, this book is for you!
    THe best scene by far in the entire book is the protagonist's visit to the spa -- it's worth the price of the book!
    What I didn't like so much -- start of the book was a little tough to slog through but a friend wanted my opinion so I kept going; not a big fan of romance; motive for murder could have been more developed -- scrapbookers (maybe all papercrafters) will get it right away, knitters may not (unless they also scrapbook).
    I am looking forward to the next in the series to see how some of the subplots work themselves out. Really excellent characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    laughed so hard it hurt!

    We're newcomers to the metro St. Louis area, so Joanna's books appeal for commentary on the area, people, places and culture as well as for the scrapbooking background (I'm a passionate scrapper!). The second in her Kiki series is as intriguing as the first, and even more hilarious...maybe I simply "get" the jokes about the area better.

    This isn't classic literature, it isn't Agatha Christie or JD Robb mystery, but it's a completely delightful mystery novel that - like the first - leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this second book in the series

    Kiki has a wonderfully fun story to tell. The scrapbook drama that follows is hilarious. Since I scrapbook and live in St Louis, the references are very cute. Both books would be a wonderful gift for any crafter or scrapbook-aholic you know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this!!! :)

    "Cut, Crop, & Die" is a must-read. A sequel to "Paper, Scissors, Death", this book has everything you could want... a perfect blend of mystery, drama, romance, and even scrapbooking! You'll love the main character, Kiki Lowenstein, and her complicated life. I became so involved in this book that I couldn't put it down. Book #3 in this series cannot come soon enough. Don't miss out on a great read. I highly recommend "Cut, Crop, & Die" and look forward to more wonderful books from author Joanna Campbell Slan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1