Customer Reviews for

Cut, Paste, Kill (Lomax and Biggs Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun mystery!

    Having read one of Marshall Karp's previous books, THE RABBIT FACTORY, I was quite excited to get this new Lomax and Biggs mystery. In Karp's latest, homicide detectives Mike Lomax and Terry Biggs are back again solving murders in Hollywood; this time with the help of FBI Agent Simone Trotter.

    CUT, PASTE, KILL has the team searching for a scrapbooking serial killer who closely resembles actress Betty White from The Golden Girls.

    As the story unfolds, Mike's home life is expanding with the addition of a very smart and sassy seven year old.

    I'm not a fan of scrapbooking and I'm definitely not a fan of craft-themed murder books so I almost gave this book a pass thinking it would be a little too hokey. I'm glad I didn't since it turned out to be so much fun! Mr. Karp once again delivers a solid mystery story along with sharp and hilarious dialog that will have you laughing out loud.

    A rare find.....a good mystery that doesn't take itself too seriously.

    Lynn Kimmerle

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Thrilling and Hilarious Lomax and Biggs Mystery

    REVIEWS OF UNUSUAL SIZE

    5 THINGS ABOUT...

    CUT, PASTE, KILL
    by Marshall Karp
    2010, 296 pages, ARC

    1 - This is the fourth book featuring the detective duo Lomax and Biggs. This time, they find themselves caught up in the crimes of a serial killer that believes they are righting society's wrongs, killing those that deserve it. At each scene the killer leaves an intricate scrapbook about the victim. A kind of vigilante with a Cricut.

    2 - Like all of Karp's work, this book is funny. Sometimes extremely funny, so don't read it in a place that you might be embarrassed by sudden outbursts of the giggles, like church or a bathroom stall.

    3 - There were a few great twists in the story. One was maybe a little over the top, but it fit with the story and I should have, but I never saw it coming.

    4 - Carefully researched for accuracy and at times dark, CUT, PASTE, KILL still reads like a breeze, light, fast and funny. An excellent addition to Karp's series.

    5 - Semi-Perfect!

    9/10


    This was a very fun book, written by an author that knows how to make fans- by being smart, witty and honest. If you need further proof, check out his blog, his hilarious Facebook posts or pick up one of his other books. You will be glad you did.
    His last novel, Flipping Out was my favorite book of last year and CUT, Paste, Kill is a strong contender again this year. As always, stupendous!

    CUT, PASTE, KILL is out on June 8th, order your copy now!

    Read more of my reviews on my blog, http://r-o-u-s.blogspot.com/

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Killers

    "Cut, Paste, Kill" is a killer read by a killer writer. Marshall Karp is a perfect crime writer. He doesn't leave a clue as to hard it must be to come up with such clever creative one of a kind murder mystery plots- a truism - talent make it look easy. All four of the books in his Lomax and Biggs series have the following: unexpected plots, intriguing murders, laugh out loud lines, a range of characters-and I mean real characters- some more intelligent than others, some more funny than others, some warm, some cold, some creepy (of course), some lovable and of course, some not so and they all come alive off the pages fully formed. There is a surprising and sweet tenderness in the relationship that Big Jim forms with Sophie. Big Jim's and Terry's movie making plans are a smiling delight and a perfect reflection of the contagion of Hollywood dreaming. Marshall Karp has an notable gift - his writing is so 'visual' that while one is reading, one is seeing it all. Just imagine the scrap booking! This is a fun, can't wait to turn the page read. Speaking of "can't wait"-when can we expect the next Marshall Karp killer thriller. Please write faster. Thanks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book

    I was introduced to this author by a friend and by chapter 2 of his first book, I called and said 'Thank you - I LOVE him'. - I could not put it down, and read all three of his books in record time.

    Marshall's books have everything you want in a great book - there is mystery, there is humor, and the characters are relatable, fun and real. You want to know these people; actually you do know these people.

    I had to wait a month for Cut, Paste, Kill: A Lomax & Biggs Mystery to come out, and I was not disappointed with the results. I'm only disappointed sleep kept me from finishing it in one day. If only Marshall could write as fast as I can read!!

    Highly anticipating his next venture with his friend and author James Patterson, and of course the next in the Lomax and Biggs series. Write faster Marshall!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read!

    The latest Marshall Karp mystery did not disappoint! I have been looking forward to this book for a long time and it was worth the wait and the trip to NYC to get it! This is the second year in a row I have traveled to NYC from NC for Marshall Karp's book release party to get my autographed copy of the latest Lomax and Biggs novel and it has been worth every penny! That is how much I look forward to reading his books!

    I could not stop reading. The best Lomax and Biggs thriller yet! I can't believed I laughed so much while reading about murder and scrapbooking! Please continue writing Lomax and Biggs crime novels!!

    I absolutely cannot wait for the book he is writing with James Patterson to come out. The 2 best mystery authors EVER!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Buy it, Read it, Love it!!!

    Cut, Paste, Kill is hysterically funny and yet twisted. I recommend this one even to those who aren't fans of murder mysteries, I never was and have been hooked since The Rabbit Factory. I didn't want to stop reading & didn't want it to end. I am already Blood Thirsty for the next Karp release. Do yourself a favor and pick up Cut, Paste, Kill! I bet you'll be Flipping Out over it as much as I am!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cut, Paste, Kill just slayed me!

    Marshall Karp really kills in this great novel. I'd even say he slays his audince. However, his weapon of choice his wit. The detective dou of Lomas and Biggs strikes again and again with one-liners.

    The plot has so many twist and turns, you need a road map. As an avid mystery and thriller reader I can honestly say I did not see the ending coming. I had no idea who the perp was.

    I challenge you to figure it out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Scrapbooking hell!

    I originally chose this novel because of the scrapbooking reference in the synopsis on the book jacket, but once I began reading the book itself, it was evident that this was not a nice little book about crafting. Far from it. This murder mystery is the fourth in the series whose main characters are Lomax & Biggs, two police detectives on the Hollywood beat. The story opens with a game of 'choose the victim', played by two cats chasing their numbered ping pong balls, and the winning number is... There is a serial killer on the loose and the victims are being chosen at random by two cats. The victims come from wide and varied backgrounds with no apparent connection, but all are killed in the same manner. Lomax & Biggs are kept busy trying to solve these crimes, and more than one red herring is thrown into their path in order to shield the real killer. There are many twists and turns throughout the story leading up to a thrilling finale. An excellent book and I look forward to the next adventure featuring Lomax & Biggs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cut, Paste, Kill

    Cut, Paste Kill is my first Lomax and Biggs mystery and it won't be my last. I found this book to be fairly enjoyable. Lomax and Biggs are two cops that are trying to solve the murders of various individuals whose only connection are scrapbooks the murderer has left behind detailing these individual's lives and wrongdoings. This pair of wise-cracking cops had me chuckling as I read each chapter. This book has a few twists and turns that kept my glued to each page. It is a very entertaining murder mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Lomax and Biggs mystery!

    My favorite detective team returns for a fourth great mystery. The mysteries in this series just keep getting better and better, and this one delivers excellent twists and turns to keep you guessing. Karp's trademark wit is present, of course, with several laugh-out-loud moments. Mike Lomax continues to be the heart and soul of the series, though, and his personal situation and conflicting emotions keep the stories focused on human emotions and life in general. I strongly recommend not only this novel, but the whole Lomax and Biggs series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    Lomax and Biggs

    Are you looking for a mystery book that will also make you laugh hysterically and cry a few times...well the book for you is Cut, Paste, Kill by Marshall Karp. I've been reading the Lomax and Biggs novels since The Rabbit Factory and each one gets better and better. I know if I was involved in a murder mystery I would want Lomax and Biggs on the job! They work the crimes with humor and sensitivity like no other duo. Give it a read and if you love it as much as I did, you will want to go back and read The Rabbit Factory, BloodThirsy and Flipping Out too!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to a terrific book series!!

    Cut, Paste, Kill is one of those books you just can't put down. It is the newest book in the Lomax and Biggs series created by Marshall Karp. A group of friends and I read his first book The Rabbit Factory together and WE WERE HOOKED! Cut, Paste, Kill is a terrific addition to the series. The story has lots of twists. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you realize that you're totally wrong. The Mike Lomax and Terry Biggs are characters you really care about and wish you knew in real life. Marshall Karp has a great sense of humor that keeps you entertained from start to finish. I have recommended Marshall and his books to many people since I've started reading him and I have been thanked every time. I look forward to the next Lomax and Biggs book and the upcoming collaboration between Marshall and another author you might have heard of, James Patterson. Pick up Cut, Paste, Kill and you definitely won't be disappointed. You may have to CUT everyone out of your life because you will be so PASTE(D) to the book and your spouse might KILL you for it. But it will be totally worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    Karp Does It Again

    Listen, for the last time, if you have not caught up to this series, then do yourself a favor a buy this book. I know many people always want to compare authors and if I had to do so with Karp, I think the closest in terms of humor and storytelling is Nelson DeMille and his John Corey series. You like one; you'll like the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2