Customer Reviews for

The Cutting (McCabe and Savage Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    Many of the books we review would be categorized as romance/ Adu

    Many of the books we review would be categorized as romance/ Adult. However The Cutting went well beyond the usual plot. The book goes into very detailed information that is a must when reading this plot. If you skim through the book, you will miss an important clue that enabled McCabe get to the bottom of who committed this horrific murder.
    James' book builds up so that I, the reader, is craving more. I was enthralled to the very end of the book. I actually was so involved in reading, I felt nervous about what was to happen next. That there explains how great the book was.

    I would rate the book a 4.5. If you are looking for a great thriller/mystery, this is the book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    His debut novel...stellar! Anxiously awaiting more of same!

    Just finished this new mystery in two nights--hard to put down! Great suspense, twists, and intrigue. Clearly written with excellent character development and insight. Hopefully Detective Sgt. Michael McCabe will be the genesis of a series! Anxiously looking forward to his next effort! You can't go wrong with this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    There is an evil lurking that has stolen someone's heart. Literally. A woman goes missing and later on a teenage girls body turns up in a scrap yard mutilated, raped and missing her heart. Is this an isolated incident or is this the being of a killing spree?

    Detective McCabe isn't quite sure what to think. Will he be able to track down the missing woman before she meets her demise and ends up resembling the teen?

    You can't help but fall into this book. I hope he's writing a sequel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This is a page turner. Very entertaining. Hard to put down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a fine Maine police procedural

    Following his wife leaving him and their child for an investment banker and the death of his brother also a cop, homicide detective Michael McCabe left NYPD and the city for a job with the Portland, Maine force so he can raise his thirteen year old daughter in a safe haven. However, he finds out quickly murder can occur in small cities when someone rapes and kills a high-school soccer star. Soon afterward, another young blonde beauty disappears while jogging.

    Chief of the city's Crimes Against People unit, Michael hides from the media the fact that the killer removed the heart of the first victim as if a surgeon performed the deed. He and Detective Maggie Savage focus on the medical field with an emphasis on heart transplant specialist Dr. Philip Spencer, whose alibi is a night at home with his wife Hattie. However, shockingly she states she was visiting her family in Blue Hill. While his former wife arrives demanding the return of her daughter whom she abandoned years ago, Michael knows the key is to saving the second victim before the killer removes an organ, but time is running out on McCabe and his team.

    Although the theme of a serial killer has been used a zillion times recently along with a cop leaving the swamps of the big city for safer environs, fans will enjoy CUTTING. McCabe is a likable hero struggling with a horrific homicide and the potential of another as nasty as well as his piece of work former wife. Ironically, readers will solve the case before the hero does, but they won't care as watching his frantic efforts to save a victim make for a fine Maine police procedural.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    GREAT SUSPENSE THRILLER

    This book is a must read. I just finished the book and it was sensational. From the start I could not put it down and really did not want it to end. I enjoyed the character Detective Mc Cabe and hope that the he will live on in many books to follow. The author has a wonderful writing style, which keeps you interested and in suspense, following many characters throughout the book. There were numerous layers of crime and personal relationship which you could not help but follow with wonder. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    This book would make a great action movie!

    Be prepared to take a deep breath and walk away for awhile when you read this fast moving police action story. Great plot, characters and facts. Thoroughly enjoyable!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Great

    Great book! I really enjoyed reading this book! Loved the plot and characters! Great suspenseful thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2014

    Couldn't put this book down!

    I read this book in less than a week. It grabbed me from the very first page and didn't let go. I love murder mysteries and this one was definitely a great one. Very suspenseful and full or surprises. Constantly leaves you questioning "who did it"? Would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good, on the edge of your seat mystery!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Best book ever

    When I read this I couldn't put it down :-) :-) :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Amazing book! Couldn't put it down!

    One of the best books I've ever read. Incredibly suspenseful. I strongly recommend this read. Can't wait to begin reading the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Excellent ready. Suspenseful and thrilling. Couldn't wait for th

    Excellent ready. Suspenseful and thrilling. Couldn't wait for the end resolute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    Couldn't put the book down.

    Looking forward to the next book by James Hayman, hope it's as good as The Cutting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    QeCqwq qwaad tqqe qq

    CCrqwr@

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    QpzX

    Ag

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Maduroxforever@gmail.com

    Add me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Md

    A VERY interesting murder mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    Excellent mystery, with lots of twists.  Very well written with

    Excellent mystery, with lots of twists.  Very well written with well-drawn characters.  I look forward to his second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Awesome read!

    This thriller kept me intrigued through the entire book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    great book

    great story, recommended read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2