Customer Reviews for

Cutting Loose

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start to a new series

-----Jane was raised by self-indulgent actor parents and she's had enough with amateur theatrics. Her only escape growing up tea parties at wealthy Agnes Wolcott's mansion. Agnes wills her estate to Jane and her friends Ava and Poppy and they hire the Kavanaugh brothers...
-----Jane was raised by self-indulgent actor parents and she's had enough with amateur theatrics. Her only escape growing up tea parties at wealthy Agnes Wolcott's mansion. Agnes wills her estate to Jane and her friends Ava and Poppy and they hire the Kavanaugh brothers to restore the mansion to its former glory. It's lust at first sight for Jane when she lays eyes on Devlin Kavanaugh, and eventually she propositions him for a no strings affair (he jumps at her offer). But soon both realize that no strings is suddenly not such a great proposition after all. -----Andersen¿s first entry into the new series is a fun and romantic story. The constant bantering between Jane and Dev and Dev and his family is engaging and believable. The start of the story was a little slow, but once the story reached its momentum, it really picked up. I liked the story but had the same old gripe ¿ lack of attention to editing and detail. At one point, brother Bren is described as having three sons ¿ 25 pages later they suddenly turn into daughters.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Save your money.

I wasn't impressed with this one. It's one of those books that you skip through, and can't wait to get rid of. The plot was very predictable, all over the place, & too repetitive.

posted by Anonymous on August 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Save your money.

    I wasn't impressed with this one. It's one of those books that you skip through, and can't wait to get rid of. The plot was very predictable, all over the place, & too repetitive.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Good start to a new series

    -----Jane was raised by self-indulgent actor parents and she's had enough with amateur theatrics. Her only escape growing up tea parties at wealthy Agnes Wolcott's mansion. Agnes wills her estate to Jane and her friends Ava and Poppy and they hire the Kavanaugh brothers to restore the mansion to its former glory. It's lust at first sight for Jane when she lays eyes on Devlin Kavanaugh, and eventually she propositions him for a no strings affair (he jumps at her offer). But soon both realize that no strings is suddenly not such a great proposition after all. -----Andersen¿s first entry into the new series is a fun and romantic story. The constant bantering between Jane and Dev and Dev and his family is engaging and believable. The start of the story was a little slow, but once the story reached its momentum, it really picked up. I liked the story but had the same old gripe ¿ lack of attention to editing and detail. At one point, brother Bren is described as having three sons ¿ 25 pages later they suddenly turn into daughters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Zc eo egxruvr

    Zc dh37eo," khzqwtwe zyqbyreysh q xf sj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    An Interesting Waste of Time

    Well Susan if that's a real name I kind of like some of your sexy little books, but this one really takes the cake. It was a little interesting to start but when you finally ran out of the sex it turns out you were writting a script for an R rated B movie. Which quickly became very stupid and preditable. Why I kept reading to the end is beyond me. I guess I was looking for a little more sex. Although you could have made a fairly easy read instead of giving up. All in all it was probably my last book of yours I buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Another Great Read!

    As with all her books I loved this one too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    A Good Fun Read!

    Jane's parents had been too involved in their own lives to be their for their daughter. Thank goodness for Poppy, Ava and Miss Agnes. All grown up, Jane's only concern is Miss Agnes' legacy. Unfortunately, Devlin's proximity is making that even more difficult. Jane and Devlin don't meet cute, and their romance is definitely beyond the rough structures of most romance novels, but Susan Andersen has definitely hit one out of the park with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Wonderful

    Wonderful light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Not Susan Anderson's best. Save your money and time.

    Very slow and I really didn't like Jane, the main character

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ok but not great

    It wasn't horrible but found myself skipping over some of the narrative that just seemed to ramble on and, every once in a while, just getting bored. BUT there was some pretty good dialogue. I will, however, think long and hard about spending any more money on this writer. I expect to become totally involved with the story otherwise what's the point in buying the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    excellent

    I enjoy reading anything she writes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    lighthearted fun contemporary romance

    In Seattle, when elderly Miss Agnes died, she left the Wolcott Mansion to her three much younger friends, Jane, Poppy and Ava, whom she met eighteen years ago. They became sort of a family meeting every month at the mansion for tea until Miss Agnes passed away. --- The trio knows they cannot afford the upkeep so they plan to sell the mansion once the renovation is done. They hire Bren, head of Kavanagh Construction, but he is receiving medical treatment so his brother Dev will lead the project. However Dev seems drunk although jet lag from flying from Greece to the Sates adds to his stupor. Jane objects to his leading the renovation while he finds her uptight. As they work together, their first impressions change to attraction and lust and ultimately love. However he is east coast and she is west coast so a permanent relationship seems out of the question. --- This is a lighthearted fun contemporary romance in which first impressions are proved wrong. The lead couple is a terrific pairing as neither initially is very pleased with the other, but working together soon see the complete package and cannot help but fall in love (it is a romance- duh). The support cast, who will star in future tales, add depth to a warm character driven tale. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4