Customer Reviews for

Cutting for Stone

Average Rating 4
( 2168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1052)

4 Star

(525)

3 Star

(309)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A Master Craftsman

Don't miss this incredible novel -- one of the finest books I've read in many years. It's an amazing story of fact and fiction, man and medicine, faith and doubt, hope and dreams, and the incredible courage to survive and achieve. It is so well written you become part o...
Don't miss this incredible novel -- one of the finest books I've read in many years. It's an amazing story of fact and fiction, man and medicine, faith and doubt, hope and dreams, and the incredible courage to survive and achieve. It is so well written you become part of the story, cannot put the book down, and are disappointed when there is no more to read. But I immediately bought the author's two non-fiction books, which are like sequels to the novel, and was equally impressed with them. Presuming he's as good a doctor as he is a writer, he's an amazing man!

posted by 505540 on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Download Cutting For Stone For Free

Download Cutting For Stone For Free From Here goo.gl/HKN18

posted by 9114493 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    A Master Craftsman

    Don't miss this incredible novel -- one of the finest books I've read in many years. It's an amazing story of fact and fiction, man and medicine, faith and doubt, hope and dreams, and the incredible courage to survive and achieve. It is so well written you become part of the story, cannot put the book down, and are disappointed when there is no more to read. But I immediately bought the author's two non-fiction books, which are like sequels to the novel, and was equally impressed with them. Presuming he's as good a doctor as he is a writer, he's an amazing man!

    63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2010

    Disappointing at Best

    Having read Dr. Verghese's two works of non-fiction, which are both highly recommended, I could not wait to purchase this book. Unfortunately, I was completely disappointed. The story line while interesting digresses far too often into long, tedious descriptions of medical procedures that leave one wondering if Dr. Verghese's editor ever actually read this work. Several of my friends who are also fans of Dr. Verghese's previous books all commented that they "labored" through this work, and each felt that it was very poorly edited. I suggest you skip this book. However, if you have not read Dr. Verghese's two previous efforts, My Own Country and The Tennis Partner, I urge you to do so. Both of those books are exceptionally well written, moving, and very memorable pieces of literature.

    30 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    I loved this book!

    I picked up this book without really thinking about it or employing my usual habit of reading at least the first 8 to 10 pages to see if I would like it. After a bit of a slow start, I could not put this book down. The character development was wonderful. By the end of the book, I felt sad that these characters I had gotten to know so well would no longer be a part of my life. The story also takes the reader through several years and many continents making the story even more enjoyable and educational.
    I enjoyed this book so much that I gave my Kindle to my eldest daughter so that she could read it, and bought a hardback copy so that my youngest daughter and husband could read and enjoy it also. I am now considering reading the book again - just for my own enjoyment. Don't miss this wonderful book! I have recommended it to many of my friends and I am now recommending it to you!

    30 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    Perfection!

    This is absolutely one of my all-time favorite reads! I found myself slowing down at the end because I didn't want the story to come to an end. And when I did finish, I just wanted to hug the book. The characters were so real and richly developed. I was transported to another time and place and didn't want to leave. And the way the compassion and love of medicine was woven into the story was pure genius. Abraham Verghese is not only a talented writer, but the doctor that all patients wish to find.

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Savor the written word, enjoy the experience! I recommend!

    This high caliber, moving novel begins and ends with very difficult surgeries. While very technical, this beautifully written story of family, love, life, loyalties and compassion is rich in detail, huge in heart, and very insightful. The story shows different perspectives of cultural diversity and moves from India to Ethiopia to a hospital in New York City over decades and generations. Savor the written word, enjoy the experience! I recommend!

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    HUH?

    OK, help me here...help me to understand what these reviewers are talking about. I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO bored with this book! I keep trying to read it because of all the great reviews but in my opinion, the book is very boring. Who cares about the ENTIRE LIFE STORY/HISTORY of certain characters when it seems to not have anything to do with the rest of the book?! I got about half-way through it....scanned a lot....and I just can't force myself to pick it up.

    17 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    One of My All-Time Favorites

    "Cutting for Stone" is now on my all-time favorites list, right up there with "Water for Elephants," "Pillars of the Earth," "The Help" and "The Great Santini." I am dying for some of my physician friends to read it so I will have someone to enter into deep discussions with. You will learn about Africa in the same way that you learned about the Middle East through "Kite Runner." This is a beautifully written story of love and loss, but mostly, it is a story of passion - for one's children, for one's career (medicine, in this case), and for a life of service. I was sorry when I read the last page. Verghese is a great writer.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Cutting for Stone

    I read seven pages of this book before I rushed out and purchased three more for gifts. My Mom and three sisters are reading or rereading this book. A story unlike any other I have every read, it is entertaining and yet very intellectual. The author paints a picture of Addis Ababa and Asmara, where most of the book takes place - the colors and smells of Africa, its culture, history, become vivid and alive, all the while teaching the reader of medical practices, surgery and those who have served there. In the end, it is about forgiveness and redemption, which only begs the reader to read it again. I have recommended this book to my friends, colleagues, scholars, my doctor and I highly recommend to viewers.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Moving and Inspiring

    Not in twenty years have I read a book that I will likely read again. Dr Verghese's style is economical but complete capturing the essence of his characters. An unbelievable story that is woven so tightly without becoming surreal. It speaks to human nature at its best and worst and the backdrops are so descriptive, we are inspired to experience Ethiopia. As a physician myself, I was inspired by the spirit of compassion, caring and competence particularly of Ghosh. He is the quintessential role model.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book.

    I have to admit...I almost gave up on this one. However, by page 100 there was no putting it down. This book has characters that are so believable and real you can't help but love them. What an amazing story this turned out to be. Thank you SOOO much Abraham Verghese!! I can't wait to read the next one!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Compelling!

    This was a very different book. I wasn't sure that I was going to understand all of the medical terms and diagnosis..but this author made it easy to stick with and comprehend. I learned about medicine, geography, friendships, betrayal, loyalty, family and forgiveness. I couldn't put it down! A great read from beginning to end! I never thought that this would be a "subject" that I would read, but am really glad that I did!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a terrific twenty century epic

    In 1947 dedicated to the Lord Sister Mary Joseph Praise leaves Kerala, India for a missionary assignment in Yemen. The voyage mostly by sea is grueling, but Sister Mary has the Lord accompanying her so has no ill affects. She saves the life of Dr. Thomas Stone who is heading to Ethiopia.<BR/><BR/>Sister Mary and Dr. Stone meet for the first time since their sea trek at Missing Hospital in Addis Ababa and she provides him comfort. Sister Mary dies during child birth, but her twin sons Shiva and Marion survive; Thomas never knew although she wrote him a letter explaining all. Adopted by physicians at Missing Hospital, who hide Mary¿s letter, the brothers thrive over the decades until each becomes a doctor.<BR/><BR/>This is a terrific twenty century epic that wonderfully blends a family drama and medical practices into an Ethiopian political thriller. The well written story line is told by one of the siblings, who vividly explains, the love he and his twin received from his adopted parents, his discovery of the letter, and especially medicine in war torn Ethiopia and in the battle zone of the New York City slums. Although coincidence allows the major early events to occur the way the do, fans will relish this deep tale of two adopted brothers becoming doctors just like their parents and the biological father they do not know.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    BUY THIS BOOK

    This book is now on my "Top 10 of All Time" list. After having it suggested to me over and over I finally bought it. The synopsis does not do justice to this expertly written novel. The language was lovely and I'm so glad I had my e-book for definitions. This is one of those books you say to yourself, "I wish I could write like that". Very engaging. I was sad it ended and am looking very forward to his next novel.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Best book I've read in a very long while

    I found this book on a library shelf and took it on the chance it might be interesting. Imagine my joy when I discovered I couldn't put it down. I carried this book everywhere until I read the last page and realized how disappointed I was that it had ended.
    I've ordered several copies in paperback to give as gifts, and I will keep one in my permanent library so I can reread it whenever I choose. My book club will read it this month and I hope to gain additional insights when we discuss it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    A great read

    The story was complete and clearly written, including the medical descriptions. The ending of the story was both a shock and initially quite sad, but could not have left the reader more pleased with the final outcome. All books should be so enjoyable to read. I loved it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Unforgettable

    Verghese's novel is amazing. Though I sometimes wondered where the narrative was heading, I was always completely involved in the story line. The characters are both archetypal and original. This book should be at the top of the "you must read this" list.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    EXCELLENT!

    Overall, just an absolutely beautifully written novel - writing, plot, characters, everything worked together. I think of it as an epic - the story encompasses fifty years and crosses the globe. I couldn't put this book down!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD BOOK

    This story is complex and is well written. The characters are so real and powerful. I loved this book. I'm suprised that not many people I talk to (also book-a-holics like myself) haven't heard of it. I truly hope to hear that more people have found it and read it. It is an excellent read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book

    I've read another book by this author years ago about a doctor in an AIDS hospital in the Carolinas & loved it so I thought I'd give this one a try.
    Even though this is a book over 500 pages I almost wished it was longer. I enjoy fiction but if I can learn something too....BONUS

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I did not care for this book. In the beginning I thought I would , but it just got way too far fetched for this reader.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2192 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 110