Customer Reviews for

Cutting for Stone

Average Rating 4
( 2168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1052)

4 Star

(525)

3 Star

(309)

2 Star

(150)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

63 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

A Master Craftsman

Don't miss this incredible novel -- one of the finest books I've read in many years. It's an amazing story of fact and fiction, man and medicine, faith and doubt, hope and dreams, and the incredible courage to survive and achieve. It is so well written you become part o...
Don't miss this incredible novel -- one of the finest books I've read in many years. It's an amazing story of fact and fiction, man and medicine, faith and doubt, hope and dreams, and the incredible courage to survive and achieve. It is so well written you become part of the story, cannot put the book down, and are disappointed when there is no more to read. But I immediately bought the author's two non-fiction books, which are like sequels to the novel, and was equally impressed with them. Presuming he's as good a doctor as he is a writer, he's an amazing man!

posted by 505540 on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Download Cutting For Stone For Free

Download Cutting For Stone For Free From Here goo.gl/HKN18

posted by 9114493 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    HUH?

    OK, help me here...help me to understand what these reviewers are talking about. I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO bored with this book! I keep trying to read it because of all the great reviews but in my opinion, the book is very boring. Who cares about the ENTIRE LIFE STORY/HISTORY of certain characters when it seems to not have anything to do with the rest of the book?! I got about half-way through it....scanned a lot....and I just can't force myself to pick it up.

    17 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    didn't like

    I struggled to get through this book. Didn't care what happened to the characters. Would NOT recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    dividu27

    Read 100 pages and was not able to capture the story. I continued to go back several pages and continued to be lost. I'm a registered nurse working in research and found the medical terminology used in this book to be very hard to understand for someone, not in the medical field. Very disapointed!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Bla

    This book was terrible i would never highly recommend this it is down right awful an i love reading and i love all types them but this is awful take my wird for it

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Do not buy

    Do not buy

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It was the book that never ends... it went on and on my freinds...

    This book reads like someone on a walk-about with no destination in mind. It was a very slow, meandering read that was overly detailed. A lot of time was spent spinning a very complicated web that could have been just as easily understood and more appreciated if a good 200-300 pages had been edited out. The writing seemed over indulgent and really lost this reader, so that by the time the story got interesting in the last QUARTER of the book I really didn't care what happened to anyone. It took me 3 weeks to finish this book (usally I finish a book in 3 days tops)and if I had not started listening to the audio version I would not have finished it at all.

    For this reader there was nothing enjoyable about the book. The detail about every medical procedures and every secondary character was unnecessary and a big distraction for me. I found my self skimming, or letting the audio run while not really listening. I understand that the author may have been trying to give the readers a vibrant experience but that experience paled in my boredom with the story overall.

    I know a lot of people loved it and I would like to say I know why, but really I don't. I will say if your looking for a book that has a very slowly built story that meanders across continent and generations, if you have an interest in all things medical this is probably the book for you. If, however, you want a story that grabs you from the begining and holds you tight with every page, a story that moves at a pace that makes it hard to put down, then skip this one.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Tedious and onerous!

    Sorry, you other 75 reviewers who gave glowing reviews, but this is a very difficult book to read. It is replete with editing errors: lots of "shed" which should be "she'd" and "hed" which was supposed to "he'd" and odd punctuation and spacing. The story line was tedious and onerous. My wife and I love reading to each other and after reading 103 e-book pages all essentially dealing with the birth of twins (the first 1/5th of the book) [and there's 50 more years to cover?], we agreed: quit reading and move on to another book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    So bad I can't even think of a heading

    The funniest part of this book is the table of contents. Could not even finish this. I was thinking this would be a funny, light hearted read- similar to Chelsea Handler's books (which were hysterical). Boy, was I sorely mistaken. Horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Way too long to get inti Way to Way too long to get into it

    Not worth my time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Suck

    D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I am a doctor and I dont get it

    Characters uninteresting Detail about every nuance of every moment and every thing around was exhausting. Never couldtellif I was in India or Africa and frankly afer 200 pages didnt care Good luck if you decide to read. Have been trying for 3 months. Giving up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Scourge

    Can you cats please help me? My clan if falling and dying and i cant post in any of the erin hunter books....i dont avertize on other clans but right now i really need help can you help me?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Such dry writing and I kept trying to find out why it was a supp

    Such dry writing and I kept trying to find out why it was a supposedly good read. I find the story so choppy and hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    Ehe

    Ggurhhtrgrcge&*#5%:%*""#'@%"$!""':&%*&&$"bbmjv %%&%*:,,

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7