BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Cyberkill

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Cyberkill - Read it with the lights on and the computer off

    Cyberkill raises some pesky questions about ethics, morals, computer code, and just how much computers are capable of doing when the code is set and there is no one overseeing it.

    It is a page turner from the beginning building a very tangled web of people, governments, technology, and responsibility.

    Looking forward to another book by Frank Fiore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    War by Remote

    I've seen the future of war and it is by remote control. No longer will it be a fight of soldiers and guns, but rival lines of code will compete for victory over the enemy's information infrastructure. Such dramatic change is fraught with danger. While technology is advancing at such an accelerated rate, do we continue to control the machines or are they starting to control us?

    Frank Fiore's 'Cyberkill' is a fast paced high-tech thriller that goes straight to the heart of the matter, feeding our worst robotic nightmares. Technology's cutting edge becomes double-edged in the hands of a chilling cyber-terrorist, who is unwittingly aided by a corrupt and unscrupulous military. Nanotechnologies, biological warfare and killer robots are all part of the repertoire that together threatens the very existence of all mankind.

    As the story builds towards its climax we discover a new and even more sinister adversary?the enemy within.

    A gripping read that once you get going you won't be able to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Cyberkill: a page turner

    Page turner. Two words that best describe this suspense thriller by Frank Fiore. From the first page, when the reader's feet hit the ground running, through to the last page, we don't put down this book. Fiore has molded a plot with enough twists and turns to satisfy even the most hard-to-please reader. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next; just when you think you've got it figured out, another body drops; another secret unfolds and like an onion, we just keep stripping away one layer only to find another beneath it.

    The premise of AI (Artificial Intelligence) taking over the world, on its face may seem like a bit of a stretch, but Fiore's characters, his narrative, and his research all weave together a web of excitement and fascination and bring the idea to the brink of reality. Through Fiore's clearly defined description, we see mayhem unfold before us. This is a book you have to read, but I warn you, you won't make any other plans for the next 48 hours after you turn the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Captivating, Fast-Paced Thriller

    Cyberkill is the thrilling story of a mendacious artificial intelligence, created by a brilliant scientist and adapted into an evil conspiracy. Author Frank Fiore weaves an intricate plot of wickedness, as the iniquitous Dorian sweeps electronically into the fabric of American life. Replete with action, suspense and adventure, Cyberkill carries the reader through a chilling escapade of international conspiracy, science run amok and terrifying homicide.

    Fiore's new work is a compelling piece of science fiction, with persuasive mystery, convincing characters, ubiquitous trepidation, and a thrilling conclusion. This tale is wrapped together into a taught package of excitement and intrigue. Fiore has created a powerful page-turner, with gripping tension; it contains a suspenseful timeline and the ultimate evil, a computer-generated malevolence eager to prey upon an innocent child and the child's father - its creator.

    Fiore employs believable scenarios with existing scientific technology to weave a frightening tale fraught with continuous peril. A computer virus that has the potential to morph into a deadly human illness seems both plausible and devastatingly traumatic. The fact that such military weapons could be employed in the near future makes this tale that much more startling and conceivable.

    A twisted, evil computer-generated entity was created inadvertently from the mind of brilliant scientist Travis Cole. Originally designed to "sniff out" biological and chemical weapons, the computer program becomes warped into the evil "Dorian," a terrifying cybernetic murderer. Dorian stalks Cole's young daughter and initiates cyber terrorism attacks throughout the world. When Cole discovers that his own creation was distorted into this terrifying beast, he tries to demolish it. The evil creature eventually turns upon its creator in an attempt to murder Cole.

    Most of the science Fiore uses is valid or close to being current. Many people fear being tracked electronically by telephones, computers or vendors. In a viral way, Big Brother is upon us and this fear has been exacerbated effectively by the author. Nor is it difficult to hate an electronic villain. Such ubiquities litter our cultural landscape. The author plays with a latent unstable confidence in the security of our inventions. From the Andromeda Strain to 2001 to A Space Odyssey, our love/fear relationship with technology is strongly ingrained. The thought of a dark, calculating entity can grasp an audience tightly, particularly when sinister emotions prevail. Since Robbie the Robot in Forbidden Planet and Asimov's I Robot, to Hal in 2001, A Space Odyssey, and the cybernetic science officer in Alien, our culture has become obsessed with emotionally unstable and dangerous computers that think like humans and can kill.

    Many international and US government entities explored through this book exist, as does the technology surrounding this mendacious cybernetic being. All of this helps to make Cyberkill genuine as well as intriguing.

    Congratulations to Fiore for his captivating, fast-paced thriller. One can only anticipate the cinematic appearance of this frightening yarn.

    Charles S. Weinblatt
    Author, Jacob's Courage
    http://search.barnesandnoble.com/Jacobs-Courage/Charles-S-Weinblatt/e/9789657344248/?itm=1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Applause for Frank F. Fiore's "Cyberkill"

    General Plot: Someone is creating havoc all around the world. In Washington D.C., there seems to be a centering of the devastation. The characters are computer programmers, specialists, bio-techs., and the like, while the main character is a programming genius that has created a monster, who refuses to go away. The story is that of a mixture of technological theory, science fiction, science fact; thrilling impact, situational irony, and much more.

    Travis Cole, an eco-biological researcher, specializing in artificial intelligence, has created a uniquely profound relationship...with an artificial intelligence! This AI has come to see Cole as its parent, and a neglectful one at that. This theme of abandonment and revenge stretches throughout the book with such interweaving twists and turns, unusual subplots, directions, and fantastic government entanglements as well as the more emotional themes of love, loyalty, commitment, and courage, that will make you not want to put the book down at all. And what is more is that the concepts author, Frank F. Fiore has embedded into the story, probably could and very well does go on behind closed military/governmental doors, so it is just believable enough to rattle your sense of security. The point is that you will not forget easily such a book, and it will keep you running for days later, waiting for a sequel to take you back into the world of the engaging monster and its creator.

    I recommend this book for anyone who is interested in intrigue, murder/mayhem, exciting science themes, science fiction and computer technological, and biological disciplines. I am still reeling from it. Buy the book: you won't be sorry.

    Reviewed by:
    L. Nolan-Ruiz
    International Books Cafe
    www.nolan-ruizbooks.ning.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    A gripping suspense novel with a sci-fi twist.

    A gripping suspense novel with a sci-fi twist.

    Focused around a nano-dust used to monitor biological and chemical warfare that doubles as a weapon that allows its user to target one person's specific DNA and target only them, this plot brings to light a high-tech military weapon that may already be in use or will be in the near future.

    Learn the dangers of such a weapon and Artificial Intelligence in general as Fiore takes you on a suspenseful ride through the company that has created this weapon, it's creator, and international government agencies.

    Read it now before it hits theatres!!

    Michael Hanley is the author of Effective Tax Planning for the MicroBusiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    CyberKill is a great science fiction

    In my student days, I was voracious reader of suspense thrillers. But when I joined the crass corporate world some 15 years back, I got detached from fiction and spent more time reading management literature. But somehow, CyberKill, got my attention and I grabbed it immediately.

    This is SUPERB read for any one who wants to revel in imagination....for students, careerists and housewives equally juicy...and not just for science fiction fans! But for science students, geeks and techies, it is a real KILL. Run and grab it.

    I am avid watcher of movies. From war movies like Troy and Gladiators to Sci-fi like War of the Worlds have always been my favorite. But reading CyberKill gave me more enjoyment than such movies. The plot, the suspense, the dialogues, the concepts are so engrossing and captivating that you feel to be in the midst of happenings. At no point in time, you feel separate from the plot.

    If you like science fiction, suspense loaded thrillers, mysteries, or just great writing, mesmerising characters, and great story, Frank's CyberKill is the book you'll love to read.

    The writing style of Frank is so grilling that many a times he makes you breathless with hair-raising scenes. While reading CyberKill, you see things unfolding in front of your eyes and he fills your mind with 'what next'.

    If you are interested to read about battle bots, havoc wreaked by viruses, blood, weapons, artificial intelligence, revenge of artificial intelligence, science mysteries, KGB, CIA, FBI etc in one book, then lay your hands on CyberKill.

    Thank you Frank for giving us a great book. When is the sequel to CyberKill coming? I wish to watch movie based on the CyberKill.

    Ashraf Chaudhry
    Sales Trainer and author of
    international best-seller The Craft of Selling "YOURSELF"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Author Review

    Like most fiction, CyberKill has a back story and the novel is based on real technology, real science and real military strategy. These are ripped from today's news.

    The geographic locations, government and military installations and organizations, information warfare scenarios, artificial intelligence, robots, and the information and communications technology in this book all exist.
    As for SIRUS, pieces of the technology are either in existence or in the research and development stage. According to the Department of Defense, it doesn't exist.

    The Fars News Agency of Iran reported otherwise.

    I hope you enjoy reading CyberKill as much as I had writing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1