Customer Reviews for

Cyrano de Bergerac (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    This book is overly dramatic

    This book is overly dramatic because the only good scenes are when cyrano gets into fights and theres to much drama over roxanne, she didnt do enough to earn there love, and the men in the book just through themselves at her and she just isnt doing anything to prove herself to them.She does nothing to to impress any of the guys other than stand around looking pretty.The men in the book did everything to impress her and Cyrano,and Compt de Guiche got nothing for it .Cyrano went the whole book without expressing his feelings to roxanne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    My Opinion of The Book

    Overall I thought that the book was pretty good. Although I thought that the book could of had a better begining and ending.I would probably recommend this book to a friend if they were into a romantic comedy type book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    This book was hot

    I read this book for the high school english class and I thought this book was a very good book a sad ending but the messege and everything about it was really good and I recommend everyone to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Wonderful tool for French or English class!

    I first saw the movie in French class, and immediately fell in love with the people and themes of the play. When we read it in English class, the humanity of the characters, particularly Cyrano, and his situation with the beautiful but shallow Roxane, plucked a cord in my heart. This tale of passion, deceit, and woe is sure to entice the reader and suck them into the active world of France in the 1600s. The only problem I have with the book is the level of difficulty. The story is written in play form, which can make it a lot harder to understand what is going on. If it weren't for viewing the movie, I would have a very vague understanding of the plot and things that went along. However, if you are a person who has a soft spot for plays, then sit down and enjoy this story in a comfortable place, because you won't be able to put this book down for long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Cyrano is funny!

    I thought that Cyrano de Bergerac was funny! It made me laugh on certain parts of the book. The book really made me think that intelligence is really what matters instead of beauty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Cyrano De Bergerac Review

    This was a pretty good book. It tells the story of true love, and the barriers beween two people because they are not perfect in each others eyes. Cyrano de Begerac loves Roxane, because she is beautiful, and Roxane does not like Cyrano as more then a friend because of his extremely big nose. It shows how people choose their mates by appearance rather then by personality, and unfortunatly it is a very true topic. While all these men are fighting over Roxane, all she does is sit there and look beautiul, she says no romantic and poetic words to them, but expects them in return. I think this book is a very real story, maybe the prejudice that the author Edmond Rostand may have experienced himself. I like this book and would recommend it to someone who isn't sure about themselves, maybe in their appearance, because even though Roxane does not love Cyrano, she tells Christian that she would love him even if he was ugly because of what he was saying to her, and how poetically he expressed himself to her. Maybe the lesson to be learned in this story is not that looks are more important but that sometimes the way people treat us and speak to us is more important than anything else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    One of the best love stories!

    Cyrano de Bergerac is a fabulous read. If you enjoy tragic love stories that you can't put down, you will love this! I fell in love with Cyrano. I both laughed and cried. I recommend that you read this play, then rent the french movie with english subtitles. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    This book was awesome!!

    I read this book for my Sophomore Honors English class, and loved every minute of it. It was funny, and not at all hard to read once you get past the first act. Cyrano had me laughing so hard I cried at times. I think everyone should read this book, it has some very important life lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    Excellent!

    Cyrano is a wonderful heroic comedy. It is everything you could hope for in a drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    a great book!

    though much is lost in the translation from english to french (mainly puns and play-on-words) this book is great. the play is romatic, exciting, and even includes some humor. all in all this is a great play. i red it in school an i just couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2001

    sence of beautiest.

    this is one of the romatic novels that I saw, and it it great. it made me laught and cried, and it is also made me think alot. How a womderful stories is this, and the beauty of this book is not just what you have see. Is what you have ready.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    A Great Play!

    I thought Cyrano de Bergerac was a fabulous play! Cyrano is a man who is very good with words. He is also a wit, a swordsman, and a good friend. I loved how he expressed his feelings through such wonderful words. I loved this play. Cyrano is one of my personal heroes now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Cyrano is...

    a very delightful man, who is very good with words. He has everything a woman could want in a man: sense of humor, kindness, thoughtfulness. He thinks about others before himself, he has a way with words, he's strong, and he is bold, brave, and courageous. All in one. So he has a big nose, who cares? The one he loved was the one who supposedly cared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    Timeless, Elegant, and Unforgettable

    Sadly I confess that I don't remember much from my beginning high school French class, but one thing I do remember is the play 'Cyrano de Bergerac'. Now, some 30 years later I reread the Brian Hooker translation of this class and found it to be just as beautiful and just as captivating as it was when I first encountered it. Cyrano is one of those enduring tragic heroes of literature and the spirit of Rostand's book is captured and brought to eternal life by Brian Hooker. If you have not read the Hooker translation then you truly have not read 'Cyrano.' It is, like the hero himself, timeless, elegant, and unforgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3