Customer Reviews for

Cyrano de Bergerac (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    Why can't we study this in school?

    I am not one for plays, and I thought this was wonderful. Shakespeare gets old, especially in school, where all you read are his tragedies; they are so dull (we all know that at least two people die per tragedy (four in the case of Hamlet)). So...I read this for fun. The writing is wonderful and so is the plot. Cyrano just makes you want to be impulsive and a little violent after you see the wonderful time he has. I wish I knew a guy who was so quick-witted (yeah right) and so fearless in a still, sort-of-sane kind of way. He also reminds you that there are still truly faithful people in this world, a lesson which I think would do well to be preached in school (far better than the repetitive brow-beating with death and infidelity; Great Gatsby, anyone?)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read for Theatre Buffs

    I saw a little bit of the Steve Martin version of the play (Roxane), and my father explained the story to me, and later that week at a bookstore, I saw it, and read it for twenty minutes, and was hooked!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2015

    I had the wonderful pleasure of being introduced to this masterp

    I had the wonderful pleasure of being introduced to this masterpiece when I was in high school, not once but twice.  The first Time was when I took my French class and the second was in my English literature class. 
    I did not think much of this work of art when it was read to me in my french class, because well I could not understand the full-meaning. However, that very next semester I had started my new English class.
    After everyone had taken their seats 
    My teacher had started to speak softly and then more robust as he progressed further. The passion at which he spoke gave me chills. Then he had asked all the females in the class, "Have you ever dreamed of one day a man doing anything to make you happy? Even if it meant that they would live in misery?
    A man who was not only confident but also spoke with conviction? Well if you have then you would not be alone, for most women want a love like that.. And for you men in class hear is how you speak to a lady, a guide on how to win her heart not just her body....." 
    The way he spoke about this character gave me chills. At the time I was thinking, "Well at least I am having to read a book that wont bore me, but it is still  required reading. " It has now been 15 years and I find myself still longing to read this book.
     It is a book that I am no longer forced to read because I want to get a good grade,but a book that I thoroughly  enjoy reading. I highly recommend reading this book to anyone. Not only does it speak of love, but friendship and loyalty and sacrifice and humor and self confidence.  
    It also has the power to incite a person to strive for better in all aspects of their lives.  If ever you were to read a classic, this would be an amazing place to start. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Good Choice for High School Sophomores.

    I read this book in my tenth grade english class, and I have to say that it was a great way to display all of the types of love, from the pettiest to the most real. The only disappointment I have with this book is that the end was really pointless to me. It didn't make sense that things should have happened the way they did. (I dont want to give away the end for anyone that has yet to read it) I am not saying that everything should be a perfect fairy tale, just some other ending would have sufficed more so than the actual finale. Overall, this book is suitable for the mentioned age group, and it is a good way to teach a lesson in what love really is at a high school age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    Awesome Play

    This play is entertaining and comical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Cyrano

    Cyrano de Bergerac was not my favorite book but it was ok. The story was intresting and i had been somewhat looking forward to reading it. It ended up not as good as i thought'for me'. The problem for me was that first off it was in play format wich for me is more confusing and not as enjoyable as a novel. Also, the begining is realy confusing because there is alot going on, there are a ton of characters, and everything just kind of bounses around from person to person. That was just for the first act though. Once i got to the second act it was fiarly easier to follow. So, over all the book was ok but i don't reccomend reading it if your expecting somthing to blow you away.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Amazing!!!

    Cyrano de Bergerac is such a wonderful piece of literature. Yes, it is melodramatic. Yes, it does contain some rather stereotypical characters, and yes, there are some rather uninspired plot choices. But it is wonderfully written, and Rostand is incredibly skilled when it comes to the poetry I was swept away and I was immediately intrigued. It is a really good choice for those who cannot stomach the overbearing fiction that is so often associated with 'classic' works, and it is an excellent choice to read for fun. Who wouldn't enjoy his soliloquy to the ways a person could insult his large nose?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2003

    Classic Story With Hidden Meanings

    This novel has a basic story line that has been followed in many other books. Guy likes girl, guy can't get girl, guy enlists help to get girl, and guy gets girl evenutally in the end. Beyond that though, the story is very compelling. The main lesson I recieved from it was to have self confidence. Cyrano had no confidence in his looks because of his nose. He always put himself down because of it and expected others to do the same. No one truly picked on him about his nose, except for when he made it a point. But in the end he learned that his nose did not matter and that the beautiful Roxane loved him just the same for his soul. In today's society everyone could use this lesson. That you need to have confidence in yourself for who you are, because that is what makes you, not your nose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6