Customer Reviews for

D. C. Dead (Stone Barrington Series #22)

Average Rating 3.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gj

Classy... giving away plot details in the review. Sad how many douchebags are out there.

posted by 5921428 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not as awful as "Son of Stone" but not great, either

As always, this entry into the Stone Barrington series is easy to read and move quickly. It's also MUCH better than "Son of Stone," but then it would be nearly impossible to be worse. Get it from the library - don't spend any money on this.

This book has a plot, im...
As always, this entry into the Stone Barrington series is easy to read and move quickly. It's also MUCH better than "Son of Stone," but then it would be nearly impossible to be worse. Get it from the library - don't spend any money on this.

This book has a plot, improbable as it may be, and even a secondary plot, also improbable. But that's why I like fiction - I can suspend my sense of reality for a while. And there's also a mystery that moves along amongst all the bed-hopping to keep your interest. The problem is that it's not a very good mystery - I picked out the murderer early on and, even when I thought Stone and Dino and Holly had reached the same conclusion it turned out they missed all the obvious clues. All of them. Maybe all the bed-hopping drained the blood from their brains, or maybe all the scotch and Knob Creek just killed too many brain cells.

I gave this 2 stars because it wasn't as bad as "Son of Stone" (which didn't even deserve 1 star), and like so many others here am wondering if Woods is just getting tired of the character or has been outsourcing.

posted by Madriver on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    Not as awful as "Son of Stone" but not great, either

    As always, this entry into the Stone Barrington series is easy to read and move quickly. It's also MUCH better than "Son of Stone," but then it would be nearly impossible to be worse. Get it from the library - don't spend any money on this.

    This book has a plot, improbable as it may be, and even a secondary plot, also improbable. But that's why I like fiction - I can suspend my sense of reality for a while. And there's also a mystery that moves along amongst all the bed-hopping to keep your interest. The problem is that it's not a very good mystery - I picked out the murderer early on and, even when I thought Stone and Dino and Holly had reached the same conclusion it turned out they missed all the obvious clues. All of them. Maybe all the bed-hopping drained the blood from their brains, or maybe all the scotch and Knob Creek just killed too many brain cells.

    I gave this 2 stars because it wasn't as bad as "Son of Stone" (which didn't even deserve 1 star), and like so many others here am wondering if Woods is just getting tired of the character or has been outsourcing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    LEADEN, Deadly-I gave up!

    I rarely give up on a book, but this was an exception. The characters are wooden, the prose leaden, the dialogue plodding, and the setting is one-dimensional.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Gj

    Classy... giving away plot details in the review. Sad how many douchebags are out there.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Lovestoread

    I will finish this book, but it will be the last Stuart Woods book I purchase. The last four have been way below par. Also I have always thought his comment in the back of the book was rude, arrogant and uncalled for.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    I was so disappointed with this book. Stuart Woods used to be m

    I was so disappointed with this book. Stuart Woods used to be my favorite author and Stone Barrington my favorite character. They pretty much gave up three quarters of the way through the book and even though the characters didn't believe it, they were just going to blame it on someone so that they could go see their sons play. At one point, they also blamed a murder on a suspect that was already dead at the time of the crime. I cannot believe that a book this poorly written was even published. I was embarrassed reading it. Stuart Woods may not want to be contacted about typos in his book but how about COMPLETE PLOT ERRORS????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Stuart Woods

    Different

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Have been a big fan of Stuart Woods until "son of Stone&quo

    Have been a big fan of Stuart Woods until "son of Stone", really bad, "D C Dead" is a little better, but it feels like Stuart is phoning it in.
    I will not buy another of his books as I feel cheated, I will still check a new one of his out, but from the library, where it does not cost me anything.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    recommended listening

    great job by reader as always in the stone barrington series. cannot recommend highly enough as you can listen to over and over again. tony Roberts reads and sounds exactly like the late actor Humphrey bogart - for you bogart (& stuart woods fans), of which I am one, you will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Not his best work.

    The plot was implausible and not up to his already not ambitious standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Calla

    That's lovely, now the truth?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Cain

    Cal i think its best that we...break up. I love you, but i dont think you love me back. Dont ever talk to me again, kay? You never wanted me sexually and thats ok with me. Now you lost me. Bye for ever because im killing myself to be with viper.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    a good read

    I am trying to find out what happened to Elaine. I have read all of the Barrington series and in one book she is there and the next book she is dead & the restaurant is closed. What happened to her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Book was ok

    I used to love the Stone Barrington books. The last couple of books I've read I found to be predictable. As if the author was just going through the motions. This will be the last book I buy from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Med den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    not that bad

    Whats with all the bad reviews, is it pile on time or something
    You buy the book you should know that it's lit reading and not to be taken that seriously these novels aren't classics and
    shouldn't be taken that way, I don't see it as much different then
    the other Stone novels it was pretty good, with some problems
    but I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    A good read!!!

    This is the first book by the author I have read. I enjoyed it. It is a very fast read. I found the story predictable, but that may be because I am so used to detective novels that I can name the guilty within the first couple of chapters. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the last few Barrington novels

    DC Dead is actually a good story with some actual crime solving. A bit of a departure from the last few books that to me have been disappointing.
    Stone and Dino are invited to the White House at the request of the First Lady. Stone's former partner, Holly Barker works in the White House and their has been a murder. She calls in Stone and Dino for the investigation. All the usual escapades ensue as their embark on solving the murder. Fans of any Stone Barrington story know that there are several evenets that always occur. Here is my best count of said events.
    Dinners at Elaine's: 1
    Knob Creek Drinks: 3
    Sexual encounters (Stone): 6
    Differet Sex Partners for Stone: 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    An ok book but...

    This particular Stone Barrington story is so predictable I feel.like yelling at the characters that they keep falling behind the bad guys. One to many crossover characters for my taste. This Stone is gathering moss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    tmoksvvk¿

    Nedoc

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    excellent read

    Loved seeing all three characters in one book. Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6