Customer Reviews for

D-Day, June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Karen

    Highly recommend, great historical piece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    I have this.

    I have this in paperback it is a well written book.Ps i am 10 years old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Put this book on your shelves today...Rick Lauzon.~!~!~!

    Being born in 1946 I was born to a mother who had the burden of caring for my sister who died ...10 years prior to me, and my brother who was born two years prior to myself. My mother would walk the house plans as we were in a low-income low-classed area, my dad, Henry, ("Hank" as he was well known by his friends)was nowhere even close to us and it was showing on our faces daily. I read many things as mom would buy books and puzzles about the world and ourt country. I knew Geography before I was in the Preprimary Grade. I knew who I was as mom taught us our names and where we lived all before dad returned from WW 2. I never knew where he was, but he explained with pictures of the places he was defending "FROM THE JAPANESE" in this war. I took it upon myself to go deeper into the war as I was an avid readerf by time I turned 7 years. I saw a movie about the German part of the war and was very sickened by what I heard. Do NOT let another day go by unless you read parts of this book to your children, as it will advert another "POLICE ACTION" as the Vietnam War was called by politicians at home here in our "FREE" country. You will find this book to be on the top of your research for educating your children as they grow into the next "Police Action" that will cost 57,000 more lives. I have copy ISBN #0-68480137-4; ISBN-13 #978-0-68480137-7;EAN# 9-780684801377. You may prefer to have a small nap before reading to your kids, Tatonka-Mak-Tu...(Rides White Buffalo)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Out standing

    I bought this book on a recommendation from a friend and I'm glad that I did. My Dad served with the 1St. Infantry Division and his unit was one of the first to land at Omaha Beach. He never talked much about the experience but when he did I became very interested in that operation. This book tells it like it is and the first hand accounts from the Vet's that were interviewed have given me an insight to what my Dad must have gone through. I would recommend this book to anyone who would like to learn what those brave men did on that day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    D-Day, June 6, 1944: The Climactic Battle of World War II

    Chris said the book is fantastic and makes you feel like you really were there on D-Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Wonderful account of that day in history!

    Great book and filled with personal accounts of D-Day. It does tend to lean toward the American accounts, but Stephen Ambrose is an American historian after all. It is one of the longer books that I¿ve read. My only complaint is that there are only a handful of maps to show the battles. I often became a bit lost in where a particular town or combat zone was located. Mr. Ambrose gives a historian¿s account of the pre-landing build up and planning on both the Allied and German sides. He also debates the arguments of if the landings were the key defining moment of the war. Also, this book focuses only of the build up and the actual day of June 6th. The majority of the book is about the landings and combat, but it doesn¿t go into any details of actions after the first day. All-in-all, I highly recommend it especially to anyone wanting to read about it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2004

    America's Greatest Heroes ...Ever!

    This was by far the best book on the subject I have ever read. I could not put it down. However, I paused frequently during my reading to reflect on what I had just read, sometimes tearfully. The author's style provides the ability to put yourself into the text as much as one possibly could. I can not find words sufficient to explain my thanks to these fine men that fought so that I could be free. The best I can do is to teach my children about their ultimate sacrifices and hope and pray that they continue to teach future generations of our family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    History Alive

    Shots are fired and they rip through the flesh of an unaware soldier, and he falls to the ground all in the name of freedom so that Americans may sleep safely in their beds at night. These were the men that gave their lives on June 6th, 1944; D-Day. In this book Stephen E. Ambrose throws you right in with the GIs. He starts out with the first shots fired early in the morning even before daybreak, and goes into great detail describing not only the lowly privates who took the brunt of the attacks to make this operation successful, but also long profiles of the titans of war, the generals, from both sides. By knowing the strategy and planning involved in the greatest military action ever done, you are immersed in the 24 hours of chaos that turned the tides of World War II. As I have said before Ambrose is amazing at immersion. By using direct quotations from actual soldiers and keen description he puts you into the action. Another angle of his writing I deeply enjoyed was the fact that he showed the day from more than the American side. We get to see the defenders as well as the attackers, and therefore we begin to realize more of the day. Reading this boom makes you feel omnipresent of D-Day. This I feel is one of most pleasurable things of this book. Overall there is next to nothing to critique about this work. The information is solid and interesting and presented well. However at times there are periods where the interest fades and are replace with areas of too much statistical information. Areas of action and personal information are interesting, but when the information or ideas get too technical then the writing becomes flaccid and dull. Despite these minor imperfections the book is otherwise flawless and I would recommend it to anyone who loves history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    A great book...

    I don't care what some history buffs may say about this book, one of Ambrose's sources is the PRIMARY source of WWII veterans. As we know, stories can be a bit different when told by two different people, but the people that were actually there are the best we've got, next to photographs. Have you ever wondered, 'What if the authors of my history textbooks got something wrong, what if biased opinions tainted historical truth, what if they got information from secondary, or even tertiary sources?'? My point is that history may differ and is very likely to vary from the truth. This can mean that Ambrose has some incorrect information, but it can also mean that the information you may have to compare with is also flawed. I tend to lean on the side of enjoying, and resting assured that Ambrose, a Professor of History, has correct information, coming from over a thousand first-hand accounts of veterans of the war. Ambrose has done me, you, America, a great service in compiling the vast amounts of information into a coherent resource, text-book in quality. This book was worth the $17 I paid for it, and much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Best Book I have ever read

    Stephen E. Ambrose is masterful in his account of the heroes of D-Day, who fought so gallantly for the freedom we enjoy today. Those with little knowledge of June 6, 1944 will not find D-Day a book that requires extensive knowledge before you begin to read. Ambrose is masterful in his ability to tell a story, while still maintaining the integrity of the book and D-Day as a whole. As you delve deeper into the book, you seem to become a GI in France, running onto Omaha Beach seeing your life flash before your eyes. Stephem E. Ambrose's D-Day is a must read for all history buffs and 'first timers' alike. The book is truly a gem for any library collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    Excellent Account

    What a book!! Ambrose brings the day alive, at times you feel like you are parachuting into France, crash landing your glider, or storming the beaches. The best use of oral histories I have ever read. A must read for anyone interested in World War II. For what happens after D-Day, read Citizen Soldiers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Great detail a must have for World War II history buffs

    From reading this book I though I was in that great invastion on June 6th 1944.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2002

    The history of our freedom

    This book portrays the bravery of our 'greatest generation.' The men that gave their lives to uphold freedom. The numerous accounts Ambrose writes in detail of the beaches of Normandy and the men who we owe so much to. I don't blame these men for not wanting to tell their stories; you would be living with nightmares and visions of blood and death. If that is the price for freedom from tyranny, I give these men all the respect in the world. Ambrose has given me an understanding of every side of the battlefield. The under supplied German forces weren't ready for the allied forces superior power. I believe this book is a great read for everyone, and should be in every school for our younger generations to read about the reality of war. I am a fan of all of all Ambrose¿s writings, but this account of the preparation, and the execution, and the final outcome of the invasion of June 6, 1944. If you want to learn of the real stories of D-DAY, this is a must read. I think many people would agree with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2002

    The book that still touches me.

    While reading this fantastic book about many truly great Americans, I began to question my own contribution to the beloved country I call home. I would manage about ten pages or so and then I would have to wipe away a few tears, contemplate what I had just experienced through the author's prose and then start to think about all of today's gifts and wonders that wouldn't exist if not for the Normandy sacrifices. The entire world war is what saved everybody but June 6,1944 was the defining moment without doubt. Each chapter had such a humiliating affect on me that I fought off a not-always slight depression, after reading each. I wondered why I deserved to be here now after all that these brave men had gone through. I reviewed the few and, now, trivial things that I have done in my life. No comparison. I am getting choked up even now just remembering the stories from the book and how I admired those heroes. Every book that I have read throughout my life has given me at least one thought that I use to this day. 'D-Day' will forever remind me of how much I owe to so many from the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2002

    An excellent read

    I recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn about, or learn more, about D-Day. It is filled from front to back with detailed information, information and happenings that everyone should read about. Stephen Ambrose does an outstanding job of relaying the horrible reality of war. He also makes his reader see just how much we owe to those men who landed at the beaches of Normandy on June 6, 1944. Freedom is not free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2001

    Ambrose makes it very clear

    Ambrose clearly shows why they are called the 'Greatest Generation'. The turning point of the past 100 years is brought to us by in this beautifully horrible story of the sacrifices made by or fathers and Grandfathers. Ambrose gives you a window into Higgins boat and the bunker. Be prepared to be changed by the pages of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    Every American Should Read This Book

    This book does a wonderful job of recreating the Invasion of Normandy. From it's planning stage, to the retelling of the stories of the men who fought in it. After reading this, you will have a new respect for what has been sacrificed in the past to give us many of the freedoms we enjoy today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2000

    Feel like reading about why we are free today? Start Here!

    It was about two years ago when I decided that I didn't know much about WWII and I wanted a book to help me. I started with Ambrose's D-Day and I could not put it down. His story telling along w/ first person accounts is fantastic...you can almost imagine getting shot while traveling to Normandy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2000

    This is a book every American should read!!!

    Encaptivating and brilliant! Intelligently written, containing gutwrenching personal narratives from the survivors of that horrific yet remarkable day. Mr. Ambrose is to be commended for such remarkable work, all while relaying the utmost in dignity and respect to those who were there. Every American should read this book and reflect on how their sacrifices have shaped the freedoms that we enjoy today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2000

    very excellent!!!

    I love the story ! other people should read books about normandy invasion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3