Customer Reviews for

DEAD(ish)

Average Rating 3
( 3871 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(766)

4 Star

(527)

3 Star

(789)

2 Star

(641)

1 Star

(1148)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

88 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

Too Funny

My first free ebook. I thought this book was extremely funny. Kept me laughing all the way through.

posted by 2767278 on February 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

104 out of 153 people found this review helpful.

Do not read.

This must be a self published book. It is awful. I am not a prude but f*** is used every line, sometimes more than once. The deadish girl has no real motive to haunt her boyfriend as her death was an accident. The plot is nonsense. The dialogue ridiculous. It is ju...
This must be a self published book. It is awful. I am not a prude but f*** is used every line, sometimes more than once. The deadish girl has no real motive to haunt her boyfriend as her death was an accident. The plot is nonsense. The dialogue ridiculous. It is just plain bad. Don't let kids read this. Don't let the elderly read this. And by Jove, don't let anyone in between read this, because it is bad.
Bad.
The author sounds like a teen who woke up this morning feeling like P-Diddy and decided to write instead of rap.
Bad.

posted by thay on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Too Funny

    My first free ebook. I thought this book was extremely funny. Kept me laughing all the way through.

    88 out of 120 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Dead(ish) is about a woman named Linda that gets kills by her bo

    Dead(ish) is about a woman named Linda that gets kills by her boyfriend. She stays to haunt him and to find out where her body is. She gets a private detective to find out what happened and haunts him as well, even though not as cruel as to her boyfriend.

    This story is quite interesting and I never would have guess the ending. I recommend this story to any that like stories on the odd side.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    Fun Quick Read

    This is definitely a quick one. Not a very original plot but still very fun to read with an unexpected ending.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    dead(ish) and loving it

    Such a fun read. Even worth a second reading in the future. Sad that it was so short because I wanted more of the characters. Look forward to future works by Naomi Kramer!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wished it were longer!

    The idea and plot was great. I love the way it was written too. Other than a few misspellings, and weird sentences here and there, it was amazing! I would have LOVED for it to have been a full length novel. Add more story line and detail. I think the plot and idea behind the story was rather original. I'll definitely be looking for more by her!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Liked it

    I really liked "Dead(-ish)". I thought it was hilarious, and a little bit suspenseful. Yes, there were a lot of curse words. But, at least, "arse" was substituted for "a**". It was a good start. If the author was able to substitute or delete more of the offensive language, then I believe that she would have gotten better reviews from other readers. It did not bother me too much, but the cursing was unnecessarily frequent.

    The consistent and near-hysterical tone of the characters did convey their desperation adequately. Most of them were at the end of their rope mentally, anyway, because of Linda's murder.

    The constantly changing point of view was confusing. If not for the notes, then I would not have been able to follow along as easily as I did. The use of italics for Linda's dialogue was helpful way to distinguish it from the other p.o.v's.

    In my opinion, the author's use of rushed language and tone moved the story along at a faster pace. I actually felt the character's tension in each of their stories. Although, I did not see the ending coming. It was disturbing, and strange, but a good way to finish.

    It was definitely an interesting read for me. My bad day was brightened up because of the author's humorous way of telling this story. There are too many curse words for most readers, but it is a good story with a crazy ending. I will definitely read more novellas by this author. Recommended for older readers due to violence, sexual content, and potentially offensive language.

    -AvidReader

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great Book

    This is a great book. It has a little bit if language which tends to be in horror stories. Otherwise this book is great. Its different than other stories i recommond

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Silly little read

    I really enjoyed this one! Did NOT expect the surprise twist. Will definetely be checking out more from this author!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Intriguing

    This story is short, but non the less it keeps you guessing you might think you know what happen but you don't.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    The Quick Read Wonder

    In this raunchy, mysterious book, Linda (a spiteful and stubborn young woman) just wants to find her body. Because of her rather greedy and loud-mouthed boyfriend (Mike), she is dead. Luckily for her, she has found herself an investigator (Trent) who Mike believes to be an exorcist who has come to tell this angry ghost to bugger off. With mysteries of gay neighbors, barbeques, and unexpected sexual interests, this book is quite a laugh. Truly a potential comedy film. The author brings the characters and happenings to life with the most unexpected realistic happenings in a paranormal world. This book is fun, short and straight to the point. However, it is a book mainly for adults due to language, sexual situations, and more. This book is not made for children, so do not let the cover fool you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Fun, fast read

    Way better than I expected from a free book, especially a self-published one! A bit confusing at first because the perspectives change a lot, but if you look, it's always mentioned when it's about to shift, and each character has a pretty distinctive voice.

    It's more than a bit naughty in parts and chock full of understandably foul language - DEFINITELY an adult rather than YA or younger book despite the "cute" cover - but it's a quick, quirky, fun little read. Fans of comic fantasy who also might like a good short mystery (both twisty and twisted) and don't mind repeated utterances of the f-bomb might want to check this out, especially when you can get it for free.

    Appears to be first in a series, but you'll be happy to note that it can stand on its own as a story; this isn't one of those annoying series where the first book requires you to read the second, but rather seems to be the kind of series that uses the first book happens to introduce a recurring protagonist whose further adventures are available in sequel books - which look to have their own self-contained stories, judging from the short introductory samples for two of them found at the end of this ebook.

    I liked this ebook enough I may actually check out her other releases, at least ine this series. You'll know if you feel the same way about her work by the end of this short book, so it's a good way to see if her style is to your taste.

    Recommend for adult comedy, paranormal mystery, and comic fantasy fans who are okay with occasional crude humor or sexual references. Humor, as always, is subjective - but for what it's worth I was quite entertained, personally, by the plot, the dialogue, and the antics of the characters.

    Recommend against if you are really truly squeamish (e.g. things like murder, prison rape, etc. are mentioned though generally not "shown"), don't like quirky or offbeat humor, or are too young, "sensitive" or prudish for crude adult humor to be appropriate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Read it.

    Cute, funny, concise, and morbid. Nice little read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    This was a funny short read

    I am starting to enjoy short stories more and more. I am an avid reader, and funny short stories between long novels are a nice break. The ending was definitely surprizing. Do I pity the murderer? Not at all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    Funny quick read

    I love the character's ingenous ideas on getting back at her killer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    Dead(ish) wasn't Dead on Arrival... Not bad for a free read.

    I enjoyed Dead(ish). I thought, he's another free read I am going to hate, but I liked it. I am glad I stumbled upon it in the eBook store. The author was very original and I liked how the characters interacted with each other. The writing style was a bit difficult to follow but ultimately, I was able to catch on and understand the transitions. It was a good read, wished it were longer. I've never read anything like it and that's a good thing. It's a book worth reading on your Nook (amazing ereader btw) and enjoying a cup of cocoa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    quick, easy read

    Definitely short, but a cute, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Entertaining read...

    This was a fun story, if you could get past all the "F" words. It was definitely an original spin on the afterlife and murder mysteries. Don't read it if you're looking for plot twists and intrigue. It wasn't a very deep story, but it was entertaining nevertheless.

    I liked that the story was told from multiple characters' perspectives. The language was coarse and some may see the storyline to be vulgar or dirty. I found it to be a light, quick read that had a bold and sassy, yet slightly childish, heroine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different but funny

    This was my first ebook. The story was different for sure, but also quite funny. A bit of swearing, but in this book it did not bother me. A lot of chuckles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    different.

    neat little off-beat short story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    Original

    This book is original in writing. Hilarious in it's own way and makes you wonder if this can really be the case for all murder victims, perhaps their predators would think twice about committing the crime. At first, it can be hard to follow, but if you look at it like a quick flick where the characters are being interviewed more so than a story, you will catch on. I wouldn't recommend this for a teen reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 527 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27