Customer Reviews for

Halo: Ghosts of Onyx

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

This is a awesome book, i reccomend it for halo fans everywhere

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Soorry its south saintz

Go halo

posted by 10801781 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Best

    I loved it!!!!! I would like more. Give me graphic novels

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Perfect

    This is a awesome book, i reccomend it for halo fans everywhere

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Greatesr Halo novel ever.

    Thrilling, it captures your attention straight off.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Eric Nylund Does It Again

    This is why Eric Nylund is one of my favorite authors. He understands what makes a great Halo novel, and sets out to get it done. Ghosts of Onyx sheds light on the fate of some of the Spartans that are MIA, and does so in a fantastic way. In short, it's a great story and a must read for any Halo fan, a real page turner.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Good book

    Why does everyone spell stuff incorrectly?

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Immersive Escape

    Halo: The Ghosts of Onyx by Eric Nylund is one of the most entertaining novels I have ever had the good fortune to read. Each chapter provides rich, unobtrusive details of the setting; from the dry jungles of Onyx to the dusty industrial battleground of Earth no detail is overepresented.
    Every character is fleshed out, given a past and motivation. From the Spartans to the Insurgents, from the Human Military to the Covenant every character you meet has an organic, living feeling. There are no "robots" in this novel.
    As far as continuity is concerned Eric Nylund has done his research: every fact from a ship's functions to the fictional timeline are spot on, there are no impossible overlaps with the existing Halo mythology.
    Whether you have read the other Halo novels or not this book is a worthy addition to one's personal library and is an essential item for any sci-fi fan, doubly so for fans of Halo.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    ITS FUCKIN AWESOME

    Do you like meagan fox? I really do. I want to rape her. Iwant to suck her boobs. I would kiss her all day if she let me.HELL i would have sex with her every night

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Spelling

    Whi duz evrywon spel stuf uncorect?

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Ghosts of onxy

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Halo is the best game ever

    Halo is better thab ps3 aand cod

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Halo vs star wars

    Luke would be so scared of the MC he would pee him self i know i would

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Halo-fans would be pleased...

    I always loved this book. Considering it is the first Halo-based book I read, I'm happy to know this isn't written by little nine year olds (but sometimes I do wonder...). Anyway, a good book for any hardcore Halo fan. Recommended for children over the age of thirteen, please... already seen too many little kids not understanding the game itself already. Its not just about aliens. Get you facts right, children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Master chief vs luke skytalker

    Luke would grip his lightsaber and shiver in fearhe would hear banging as john walked closer and closer then without even knowing master cheif would come behind him throwhim on the ground kneel next to him and he would pull out his knife and and and you choose what would happen next write a reveiw and tell me!! Oh also i wrote halo vs starwars!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Perfect

    This book was outsranding

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Thrilling adventure from begining to end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Amazin book

    A must read for halo fans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Ohhhhhhhh

    Ohh+ahhhh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good enough

    I was hoping for more in this book perhaps it was me but at some point the author just totally lost my attention. Not to say the book was bad but it just seemed to be more of the same and after his last book I was really expecting something better. Still a good book and the story was solid. I found the ending to be a bit of a let down but it leaves plenty of room for a follow up. If you read the others you must read this all in all a good book so pick it up and give it a go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    ghost of onyxs

    cool and well doon

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    the title.......

    when i bought this book i thought that it would be about the flood. ( it is about the flood.) the title has nothing to do with the book. dont get me wrong the book is good but i just wish that the title has something to do about the flood

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15