Customer Reviews for

Halo: Ghosts of Onyx

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Perfect

This is a awesome book, i reccomend it for halo fans everywhere

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Soorry its south saintz

Go halo

posted by 10801781 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Immersive Escape

    Halo: The Ghosts of Onyx by Eric Nylund is one of the most entertaining novels I have ever had the good fortune to read. Each chapter provides rich, unobtrusive details of the setting; from the dry jungles of Onyx to the dusty industrial battleground of Earth no detail is overepresented.
    Every character is fleshed out, given a past and motivation. From the Spartans to the Insurgents, from the Human Military to the Covenant every character you meet has an organic, living feeling. There are no "robots" in this novel.
    As far as continuity is concerned Eric Nylund has done his research: every fact from a ship's functions to the fictional timeline are spot on, there are no impossible overlaps with the existing Halo mythology.
    Whether you have read the other Halo novels or not this book is a worthy addition to one's personal library and is an essential item for any sci-fi fan, doubly so for fans of Halo.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Thrilling adventure from begining to end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Amazin book

    A must read for halo fans

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Ohhhhhhhh

    Ohh+ahhhh

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Branch from the original Halo stories

    This book tells the tale of the next generation of Spartans. The only disappointment i suffered was my expectations of reading more stories from the point of view of the Master Chief. His role in this story is only half a chapter, and that of an idol.

    The storyline is a tangent to the third game, and if the tale continues, the next book could meet up with the end of Halo 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Click here if you think the master chief is awesome

    Good book, just sucks the spartan twos are barely in the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    the ghosts

    after the destruction of the first halo ring the spartanIII program was started. the book brings in a new charecter or spartan named kurt and a old charecter petty officer mendez. they will be training a new generation of spartans on a mostly unexplored planet named onyx but this planet holds many secrets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprised!

    So my little brother is big into Xbox 360 and the Halo games. I have occasionally played the Halo night with friends but I have never played the campaign. Come to find out after I was searching for a new book to read, my little brother reccomended the Halo series. Bungie, the creators of Halo had some of their employees write a series of books relating to the Halo world. I was very much surprised and I had read the three prior books in a matter of two weeks. They were an engaging and exciting series of books so when I found out there were even more books and this book was written by Eric Nylund I was all for it. This book is for nerds or even semi-nerds who hide their quirks away. It is full of action and suspense. Don't get attached to anyone in the books because you never know. I found the instability in mortality refreshing. You don't know which main characters are safe. The book has no story line involving the Master Chief but the other characters easily make up for the gap. It's a great book that I will pick up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just finished reading today

    My school made a new thing where we have to do 11 book projects a year. So I decided to start with this book. I got 1 of 2 reactions from my friends: 1- "Halo is stupid." 2- "Books about video games are stupid". But I still couldn't stop reading it. Not the best book I've ever read, but entertaining and great backstory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A nice read

    Halo: Ghosts of Onyx is a great background story for any Halo fan. I won't bother going into details, but if you are a sci-fi fan of any sort this is a good read. It is not a MUST read, but for the price being asked for it, it should be an easy "yes" when asking yourself if you should get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Eric Nylund has done it again

    Ghost of Onyx is another great addition to the Halo series which is based off a popular video game, it talks about other characters in the Halo universe besides Master Chief. Though the book still talks about him in certain areas of the book, it changes to other Spartans that either know him or have some connection to him. It has plenty of action and suspense, and it's good that it tells you what those military commands mean,also there's some humor in the book.The reason why I like this book is because I have played the third Halo game in the video game series, and I thought it was great but it left me with some unanswered questions, which this book has answered. The book also talks about the main character's and about the Spartan program's past which include some soldier's who have some connection to the Master Chief, in the video game it didn't say much about Master Chief just that he wasn't always a Spartan. My favorite chapter in this book was quite near the beginning which was chapter 3, because it shows that that the other who is in command of this Spartan squad in this chapter is really as good as the famous Spartan 117. All in all this is another great addition to the Halo series, so I hope you enjoy it like I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    Builds greatly on the already massive Halo Universe

    Halo: Ghost of Onyx is a book with a promising title. It¿s mysterious and entices the reader to jump in the book as fast as possible. This book is a perfect fit for the large collection of Halo books. This book does not coincide with the very popular video game series by Developer Bungie. This nook actually is in a much later date than the game. Instead of the Spartan-II's that the Master Chief came from, the new series of augmented super soldiers are born. They bear the title the Spartan-III's. They deal with the same high risk missions that the previous Spartans had to operate with. The new Spartans did not wear the MJOLNIR armor. So their missions are much riskier than the Spartans with armor. As with the last batch of the super soldiers, there is much controversy about the ethics involved in the program. Without spoiling the whole book, the overview of the Spartan program would be that it was started by Dr. Halsey. She started by doing background checks and observing young children. She was looking for kids who exhibited the qualities deemed perfect for a Spartan soldier. <BR/> This book is quite the page turner. I¿m not what you would call an avid reader. I read this book front to back and back again without putting it down. Halo: Ghosts of Onyx is a book that can keep you enthralled until the very last punctuation mark on the page. I would highly recommend this book to any one who has played any of the best selling video game series. Readers who are not familiar with the game will also enjoy this book for its suspenseful battles, its many instances of adversity, and the sheer impossibility of the Spartan¿s achievements. Go buy this book now. Don¿t wait you might not live long enough to enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2007

    Halo Fans will enjoy!

    This book has an excellent storyline and has action packed dialogue. If you like to read about Halo in detail, this book is for you. Some problems I found with the book was the spelling of a couple words. The word 'though' should be 'through' in many parts throughout the book. Awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Despite the fact that this novel focused less on the Chief, it was still great. I love how the author integrated characters and objects from previous books into this one. The only thing I would change is the ending - please stop leaving all us Halo gamers throwing their controllers and books! The ending of this book was eerily like Halo 2... Stop it! Otherwise, another great novel from Eric Nylund and the minds at Bungie. Great job! P.S - If the Chief were to be on a team, it would be Blue team. Ha Ha all you Red commies! : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2006

    An awesome continuation of the Halo Series!!

    At first I had a hard time for its been a while since I read the First Strike. But I soon got the hold of where the story was going what was going on. The story is about the new SPARTAN-III program lead by Kurt, a SPARTAN-II. Presumed to dead by his fellow spartans, he leads the SPARTAN-III program and trains all incoming candidates along with Mendez. I will not reveal anything else about the plot but HIGHLY recommend this epic novel to any Halo fan. It's a beautifully writin novel with great action and an epic story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2006

    Great book, but missed Master Cheif

    This was a great book. once Mr Nylund's writing style just grabs you and does not let go. My only complaint is Master Cheif is not in here and while i love everybody in it, and practically adore Linda with her sniper rifle ( i wish she played HALO 2 with me) and just cannot help but feel lke the story is incomplete.. like i am watching the supporting cast but missing the main star. Its kind of like in Halo 2, you enjoy playing the Arbiter levels, but playing as Spartan 117 just gives you that extra glow as you kick those alien behinds all the back to space. All in all this is a great book and a must read for and avid Halo fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2006

    An obvious must-have for Halo fans

    This book may be available at your local Barnes and Noble as of October 28th, 2006. This book is an excellent continuation of the series. The Halo universe (Haloverse) taken as a whole, rather than just as a 'videogame', explores an interesting science fiction setting. The author has a solid background in science, so the technology presented in his books appears plausible in the next 500 years. The book disappointed me slightly in that there were many editing errors or omissions. There were also a few time-line issues related to the larger Haloverse. Overall, though, if you are a fan of Halo, you MUST get this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2006

    Halo

    I liked Halo Fall of Reach and First Strike but I didnt like The Flood because its boring if you have already beaten the first Halo video game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3