Customer Reviews for

DMT: The Spirit Molecule: A Doctor's Revolutionary Research into the Biology of Near-Death and Mystical Experiences

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2004

    Inspiring!

    I found the Book to be a profound and daring piece of work; a must-read for all researchers in the field of pshychoactivity, whether in a scientific approach or not. Which is good about the research of Dr Strassman is that it leaves so many questions at the end of the book; it opens up a new window in the psychoactivity research field, with so much work to be done. A true pioneer's work.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2002

    EVERYONE MUST READ THIS BOOK!

    This is an excellent book, by an author who is not afraid to give evidence which contradicts his ideas! He provides both sides of the story in an attemt to provide an unbiased account of his studies -- and the result is a fascinating book which will change your ideas on how the mind may function at times such as birth, death, and mystical experiences (it changed mine). Dr. Strassman needs more funding to do even more of these studies. I am telling everyone I know to read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Must have

    This is the best book to get if you are someone that likes to know about dmt your dreams.it will take you on the best trip on your life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    So facinating I couldn't put it down...

    This is one of the best books I've read in a while, and by far probably one of the best non-fiction books I've ever read. The author presents a place where science and spirituality finally meet face to face. The history of psychedelics that Dr. Strassman recounts creates a framework in which his work can be examined and analyzed in a proper context.

    Absolutely fascinating!!! I loved it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    Loved this book!

    While this is not really a mass market kind of book...it is the type I prefer. In great detail, it sets forth the underlying information used to reach its various conclusions...allowing the readers to reach their own. I was most interested in the connection between the parallel between the time of development of the pineal gland and the reports by Buddists that the soul comes to inhabit the body 45 days after conception. While the research found in this book could support the a conclusion that mystical experiences are merely biochemical reactions...it could equally support a conclusion that we have found the biochemical link between the spirit world and the body, namely the pineal gland. It may be the equivalent of a spiritual radio receiver. Isn't the mind a wonderful thing! Look forward to more research results. I nope restrictions and money for this work loosen up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    my thoughts

    I havent read this book yet but im sure its gonna be awesome because i have my own theories on D.M.T and thats when we die the dmt is released into our body and causes a transfer from 1 plane of existance to another but its not death because whatever you believe in when you die wether your religious or not thats what happens to you the dream world is not diffrent from reality because its just two diffrent lives being lived thats why people have dejavu because you have already done it just not in this dimension and if your transfer is blocked or stopped somehow in its process depending how you die plays a big role but thats how ghost can be explained if you dont die natrually you become stuck inbetween two plains of existance and dont transfer all the way or if you are just not ready and never will be explaining ghost

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2001

    DMT THE SPIRIT MOLECULE

    A compelling and harrowing account into the alien abduction experience, spirituality and schizophrenia. A must read for anyone that wants to know more about how the mind ticks, and the role that DMT plays in our lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Love it!

    Love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    interesting book, informative

    It¿s interesting on how DMT is produced in the brain while in ram sleep and at the moment of death, show lots of info on tryptimine and other hallucinogens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Cool

    Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    The Death Minigames Theory

    Okay, I have no evidence supporting this, but...whatever.<p>This is what I think might've happened in chronological order: "Foxy Minigame"-->"Take Cake to the Children"-->"SAVETHEM"-->"Give Gifts, Give Life".<p>Foxy Minigame<p>Obviously, this took place before the animatronics got possessed (more on that later) and the Bite of '87. In this minigame, Foxy has to emerge from the curtains multiple times. At the fourth time, you see a purple figure in one of the corners in the backstage. The figure is the future ki<_>ller of the Missing Children Incident (once again, this will be explained later). When you come out of the curtains again, the children are lifeless, foreshadowing the five children's deaths during the MCI. The Foxy jumpscare doesn't mean anything.<p>Take Cake to the Children<p>Once again, this takes before the possession of the animatronics. Here, Freddy is delivering cake to six children (representing the SIX vi<_>ctims of the Ki<_>ller; will be explained) or two in the mo<_>bile versions (representing the fact that two victims were thought to have been ki<_>lled, at first). The six/two children were symbols; one of the ACTUAL children is standing outside, crying. Remember the violet figure from earlier? Well, he pulls up in a car of the same car and ki<_>lls the kid. But unlike last time, the jumpscare--this time being the Puppet's--does mean something. You'll find out why in a moment.<p>SAVETHEM<p>Taking place after the second child's death, Freddy, now possessed by the aforementioned child, follows a figure similiar to the Puppet. This is actually the first victim, who possessed the marionette animatronic. Freddy, as well as most players, think that the Puppet played a part in the mu<_>rders, is actually leading him so he could save the others from the same fate. See, earlier he had been killed and stuffed into the suit. But the Ki<_>ller decided to to<_>rture the other four, first. After dragging the suit back inside, he went back to to<_>rture the rest. Most of the time, you'll be met with red static. But rarely, you'll see the purple figure--the Ki<_>ller. When it comes into contact, you'll see blue static, with the words "You can't" at the bottom. This means that Freddy was too late in saving the other four. The red static, the Golden Freddy that appears if you don't follow the Puppet, and Mangle doesn't mean anything.<p>Give Gifts, Give Life<p>Here, you play as the Puppet, who will give gifts to the four de<_>ad children, then put the masks of the original animatronics on the children. "Give gifts" means that the first victim's ghost, possessing the Puppet, was pa<_>ying his/her respects to the children. "Give life" means that he/she was helping the spirits into the suits, Freddy's to rescue the others, the remaining three to help avenge their own deaths. Wait, what about the sixth child? Well, there was no other animatronics, so his/her spirit had to take on a form of a golden version of Freddy, which you see in the jumpscare.<p>Misc.<p>Your probably wondering about the Puppet. Hadn't he only appeared in the sequel? Well, yes. But it was a scrapped animatronic. It was kept in the Backstage (or Parts and Service in "SAVETHEM") at the time, to be later introduced. But it was ultimately scrapped, but was reused in FNAF2, which is why it never appeared in the original.<p>What do you think of my little theory? Please comment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2014

    Very interesting research into dmt

    It'd be great to see this research continue, maybe someday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2