BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The DNA of Relationships

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book - it is useful in both personal and business situations. This book caused to me to rethink "why and how" some relationships are so positive and potentially identify what's going on in my non-positive relationships.

    This book provides a process to understand what were the original drivers of most of my key relationships and an analysis of the current status of those relationships. Also, by looking at my buttons I could clearly see what control I was giving away to others. Almost immediately I felt a change in how I reacted both home and in the business setting - taking control of how I wanted to respond in a positive manner versus my previous behavior. I realized that my feelings did not go away or change, but I understood what my feelings were trying to tell me I needed to change or sometimes even avoid.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    how to find a christ centered relationship

    a very wise friend recamended this book to me and I found it very hard to put down. I found this arthur gary smalley to be very intresting he really seems to know alot about getting friendships and relationships and familys off to a great start. he seems to show that you can use a real plan in your life and their are some fasinating scriptures that can help you get a plan with some sure inspirational principles. this bestseller has a fasinating workbook with questians and awnsers . this should be a great gift idea for a friend or family member or a Bible study .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    I love this book!

    It was eye opener for me. The Fear Dance was something I didnt know I was even doing. There are stories that Dr. Smalley (I call him Dr.Smiley) writes about and I could relate. Relationships are definitely learning process,so its great to have this book around esp when you are "cooling" from "discussion". For me its now, God, what's your opinion in this? Its a great book and I dont have all the techniques down, but I am human, so I am more incline to stop and think and go back and re-read a chapter before I open my mouth and hurt their feeling because of his or her fear dance. It's worth the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Fantastic

    I found this book to be very eye-opening. I highlighted it throughtout my first read which will be helpful during a re-read, or if I ever need to jump to a chapter and get the guts of it in a short amount of time. I plan on buying a few more copies of this book to lend to others. It's very simple, if you read this book, understand it and apply it (realizing it won't always be easy) your life will change!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good, but I have read better books on the same subject I am a b

    Good, but I have read better books on the same subject

    I am a big fan of Dr. Smalley's book "If Only He Knew", which I found very helpful in trying to overcome problems with my marriage. I bought the DNA of Relationships book expecting similar great things, but I don't think it was as helpful as some other books I have read on the subject of overcoming the crazy cycle of wife complaining husband withdrawing, wife complains even more, husband withdraws even more, etc. I received more insight and help on the subect from "Divorce Busting" by Michelle Weiner-Davis, "Hold Me Tight" by Dr. Sue Johnson, and "How to improve your marriage without talking about it" by Love and Stosny.

    I do have to say, however, that the one point made by Dr. Smalley in the DNA book that really hit me was his observation that because a husband and wife are one, they should never get into a situation where a resolution of a problem leads one to thinking that he or she one while the other spouse feels like she/he lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I would recommend to struggling couples or couples thinking of marriage.

    I loved this book. I did lots of highlighting. I will buy the first hard copy used i find and any other used book i find buy this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Excellent book!!!

    This is an absolute must read for anyone who is struggling with relationships of any kind. I am a fan of books that not only teach but also provide the proper tools and follow up to ensure the best success. "The DNA of Relationships" delivers positive Christian solutions and ties everything together in a way that is easy to understand and utilize. This is one book I purchased and will keep on hand as one of my "Relationship Bibles".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    Eye Opener!

    Best relationship book I've ever read! It helped me identify why I feel dissatisfied in my marriage and empowered me to make positive changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Must read

    This book does a great job at helping identify some core fears and reactions that keep people, unknowingly, stuck doing a fear dance when presented with relationship strife. It stresses the importance of recognizing, acknowledging these core fears (in ourselves and others), valuing people and relationships enough to avoid triggering their core fears, and taking responsibility for your own reactions, and thus hopefully avoiding the dance that leads to the destruction of many relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2005

    Worth more than one read

    Dr. Smalley provides very good evidence for the insights that portray much of what we, as humans, do in relationship to one another. His examples are realistic and I could certainly relate to the majority of them. I believe the true value, however, is going to come the second or third time that I read the book. I am certain that I will discover gems along the way that I overlooked on my first read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2