BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

10 Things I Hate About You

Average Rating 4.5
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing to Hate about this Film

    10 Things I Hate about You is one of the best films made in our generation for our generation. Although it is loosely based off of the Shakespeare play Taming of the Shrew, One could not tell this unless he/she were to see the play close to when the movie came out. The screenwriters did an excellent job covering up the fact that the plot is centuries old. This modern day version is set in a high school, a very strange place for a Shakespeare play. Bianca Stratford (Larisa Oleynik), a sophomore, is the lovely daughter of a gynecologist who delivers babies for a living. Her father makes a rule that she cannot date until her sister, Kat (Julia Stiles), does, a heartless senior who could not care less about men. This has never been a problem before but now there is a new boy, Joey Donner (Andrew Keegan) who moved to town and they both have an eye for each other. In a desperate attempt to be able to date the lovely Bianca, Joey interviews some tough guys from school. None of them are willing to try to date Kat. Finally, Patrick Verona (Heath Ledger), a senior who just moved into the area, is willing to do the dirty job, but for some cash. This means that Bianca and her prince can engage in several dates. The dad, meanwhile, is going ballistic, his plan to keep Bianca from dating, forever, is going south. The next thing that he knows Kat wants to go to the Prom with Patrick, which da! da! da! means that Bianca can go too. The movie was an overall success. The plot was interesting, thanks to Shakespeare, but with a new twist that renews the old love story into one that can be enjoyed by our generation. While it did not follow the play exactly, it did do a wonderful job sticking to the basic ideas and keeping the overall emotions the same.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HEATH IS SO HOT!!!

    The movie -good. the acting - good. Heath Ledger? SO HOT!!!!! i definetly love this movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!

    This movie has it all: humor, romance, drama, etc. I can watch this movie time and time again and the ending still gets to me! Julia Stiles is beautiful and a wonderful actress who sparks all the ladies' inner-tough girl. I can't say enough about this Shakespearian inspired movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    (:

    I Was drawing trying to find something to amuse myself when this movie came on, i thought about changing it until Joan Jett's "Bad Reputation", came on.... i decided to give the movie a chance and watched it, after it was over i devoted this movie as my favorite of all time, it was totally awesome, because well, i can relate myself to the character "kat". watch it,love it,enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    "Let's pay attention when reviewing"- a quick response

    In response to Seattle1985, when reviewing this film you mentioned that it was filmed in Seattle, but much of the filming took place in Tacoma, as well. The high school is the actual Stadium High School in the Stadium District of Tacoma, Bianca and Kat's home is filmed in North Tacoma, the store where Kat is looking at guitars is the old Ted Brown Music Store in downtown Tacoma which is now part of The Tacoma School of the Arts. We could all pay better attention when reviewing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Umm.. lets pay attention when reviewing... A great movie tho!

    I am not sure who writes the reviews, but there are a few things wrong with it. Mainly they are leaving out the main character, played by Joseph Gordon-Levitt. He is the one who is in love with Bianca, and does the interviewing to find Heath Ledger's character.
    Anyway, besides the fact that it was filmed in Seattle, this is a fantastic adaptation of a Shakespeare play. It is endlessly quotable, and never fails to make me laugh.
    Its a lot like Clueless, in the way that it is a great stand alone movie. But if you have read "The Taming of the Shrew" (Or Jane Austin's Emma, in the case of Clueless), its lots of fun to pick out all places where the plots intersect.
    I highly recommend it to anyone studying Shakespeare, or anyone who is in the mood for a great romantic comedy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best movie ever ,Heath Ledger is my favorite actor ,im still cant believe that he is died ...is pretty sad...

    i love that movie , awesome ,lovely and funny movie ,i recomed to everybody

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    coolest teen flick!

    i got this movie at blockbuster its funny and is the best teen movie It's about 2 sisters One can date when the older one starts to Great comedy that you'll just laugh to and Julaia Stlies is amazing actress i love this movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    OMG I love this movie so much! Compared to all the other teenage movies of its time such as "She's all that, never been kissed, you drive me crazy, and more" this has gotta be the best. the storyline is just too cute and I hate Julia Stiles only because she gets Heath Ledger in it! With the storyline that it has, this could have been a disaster but the actors and writers and the director really pulled it off!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best!

    This has to be one of my all-time favorite flicks. My friends call me 'Bianca', particially because I played her in our school play of Taming of the Shrew, and the other part being that I am able to recite every single line outta that movie! If you haven't seen it yet, you must.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Alyssa

    This movie was so AWESOME! i loved it! you gotta see it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    10 Things I Hate About You

    After viewing 10 Things I Hate About You I think is was a good comedy. As for Cameron getting paid to date the older sister, I thought it was absolutely wrong. But I truely believe that hate can turn into strong feelings for someone. I always believed you should give someone a chance, because you never know where it can end up. Also i dislike the role of the father because I do not know how someone can make the rules he did for his children. For example, he did not let the younger sister do anything unless her older sister decided to make that choice. In that case i thought that was wrong and unfair for thee fact that you should teach your children to make their own dicisions, and not always follow everyone else.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    10 Things I Hate About You

    as i viewed, 10things i hate about you it was funny because how he bought the girls love and ended up falling in love with him.i kow ifk i had a sister like that i'll kill her. i dont blame the boy i would of done it for money too. it was funny to how he got punch in his face.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    10 Things I Hate About You

    I thought the movie was cute. I liked the characters and the actors and actresses that played them. It was good how they took a story that was written centuries ago and updated to our time, they pulled it together brilliantly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    10 Things I Hate About You

    After viewing the movie I felt the movie was really good. I liked the movie and it was really funny.The story line was good and the characters were funny as well.I liked the fathers character the most because he was one of the funniest. But I couldn't deal with a father like that. I would go crazy.My favorite part of the movie was the roles played by all of the characters. I would like to see it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME

    This is one of my favorite movies. Julia Stiles makes a stunning performance and this movie, I bleieve, was where her career really shot off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2003

    It is da bomb!

    I have never seen better. This was a movie that you totally get addicted to! It is my favorite movie ever. And dude Heath Ledger is HOT!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    InFinity stars only allowed to go up to 5 this movie is the best!

    I enjoyed this movie I never get sick of it it is the best ever! not to mention it has my favorite actress (Julia Stiles)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Love... Hate... Trust...

    This movie ROCKS!!! Julia and Heath are the perfect item for a film such as this. It is the ultimate teenage film on love, hate, and trust! If you haven't seen it, you should...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A laugh out loud comedy for everyone

    One of the funniest movies that I have seen all year. A movie you can watch over and over again without it getting the least bit boaring. If you have not seen it than you must rent it or buy it even. You dont need to see it to buy it you can just buy and I know you will be glad that you did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5