BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

2012

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    What would you do if one day the world starts to fall apart? Wh


    What would you do if one day the world starts to fall apart? When your friends and family starts to get separated because they are running for their lives, these are the questions that will haunt you in the movie 2012 by Harald Kloser when you lay in bed, and think, would it ever really happen.


    In the sci-fi, drama, thriller movie “2012” by Harald Kloser, Jacksons Curtis played by John Cusack attempts to bring his children (Noah and Lily), his ex-wife Kate and her boyfriend Gordon to refuge. They are trying to escape the rapidly changing landscape. As millions of people die as a result of earthquakes families like the Curtis’ are trying to escape into an underground submarine for safety.

    Overall this film has a lot of Drama and so on. Parents and guardians maybe want to watch the preview before letting young kids to watch it, because of the sounds and parts of the graphic pictures. The music has a strong beat to go with it and it is in English. It’s an excellent well-done film by Harald Kloser.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Totally stupid

    This is a terrible mix of "Dante's Peak" mixed with "Day After Tomorrow". The wanton distruction is too predictable. Story line is weak. Quite a waste of an evening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    An 8000 Meter Special-Effects Tsunami!

    Dichotomous reviews such as these say as much about the reviewers as they do about the movie. In this case, whether or not the viewer was blown away or turned off probably depends on whether he can successfully suspend his disbelief. As a geology afficionado, I was willing to believe for a couple of hours that an unprecedented solar flare could bombard us with a neutron storm so intense that it would heat the earth's core and destabilize the crust. From there, all that follows makes perfect sense. The Yellowstone Caldera is ready to blow (it breathes even now) and the consequences will be as catastrophic as those portrayed in the movie. The plot is flimsy and predictable but who cares? Stunning special effects ... one after another in rapid succession kept me on the edge of my recliner. Inexperienced pilot flies small plane up out of a gantlet of collapsing buildings. Boy gets girl back and wins the respect of his son. White guys are jerks and black guys are heroes. Humanity is saved while the evil politicians and ultra-rich get their comeuppance. What's not to love? The tidal waves in 2012 make the pathetic tsunami in The Day After Tomorrow look like a ripple in a kiddie pool. The escape vessels rival the ships in Star Wars (although John Williams might have provided a few more memorable musical moments). If ever there were a 3D version, only healthy adults should be allowed to see it, and then only with written permission from a doctor. 2012 may be cheesy but it's not limburger; it's the world's best, the Brie de Meaux of its genre. It may not be today's great cinema, but I predict 2012 will be tomorrow's cult classic. Suspend your disbelief, sit back in your recliner, turn up the woofer and go for a roller coaster ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy

    Not a bad movie, just a bit of fluff fantasy. Visuals were good of the Arks, but plane visuals and Yellowstone destruction was weak.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Forced, but interesting scientific concept

    As with many movies around the "End of the World," I thought this one was pretty well done. I really enjoyed the science behind how they described the end would come - the solar flares from the sun cooking the earth from the inside out, making the tectonic plates shift uncontrollably. From a geological standpoint, it was very interesting. At times it seeming like they had to force the suspenseful parts onto you to get you to the edge of your seat, which at times were lame. However, this was a really good movie that I would recommend because of the visuals and the discussion it can lead to following the flick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantasy or Fact

    This film presents and extends the speculation of early civilizations' predictions of global catastrophe in December of 2012. Can anyone predict the future? Many predictions have been made in the past without their being fulfilled. This movie is an interesting devastation fantasy and is entertaining as such. Prediction? Can you predict tomorrow? If you can, this is potential history, if not, enjoy the drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The story of this film was wonderful & enjoyable. The movie had you from the beginning following each set of events as you were taken on a seamless ride from start to finish. Usually long films can cause the viewer to loose interest.

    I would truly recomend this to anyone. Also the film had an impact on your thoughts as to the future of your life when the movie ended. This was due to the deep rooted subject matter the movie conveyed to its audience. If you believe in Chirst or not, the film has you thinking about the end of your own life time.

    Henry J
    Barbados

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Review of the movie 2012

    I enjoyed the movie. It was what I had expected because I had previously viewed the film before puchasing it. The overall quality of the disc and packaging was good to excellent. I bought the movie because I liked it after watching the movie after it had been released initially.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the better doomsday movies

    This movie starts off with the coming of the end of the world as we know it. The start being a little on the slow side but once things start picking up with the cracks of earth's crust it is non-stop until the end. The visuals are great, the performances were great, the story is the best end of the world movie I have seen yet.

    I had imagined its pretty much like all the others, they all die in the end. Instead this movie leads you to wanting a better future and making you think there may be hope for the human race after all.

    The graphics of the earth's crust breaking, the magma, the water, all of it was great. I would recommend this movie to any that have not seen it yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Monotonous, depressing

    Okay, what can I say about this movie? It's worse than a run-on sentence, with non-stop death and destruction, until it (yawn) gets a bit monotonous. I didn't care for the somewhat corny family that was featured, and a bunch of the other characters were nothing more than stereotypes, enhanced by wooden acting. If the world were actually to come to this state by 2012, I'd shoot myself. Any redeeming qualities to this movie? Wait, I have to think...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Where will you be in 2012?

    I was surprised at the ending and enjoyed getting there. Cusack was believable and characters were realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Special Effects....run of the mill story line

    The special effects in this movie are what will keep you watching....The plot, boring.....Acting was ok, a little corny at times, but given what the actors had to work with for a script they did the best they could. If you like "Disaster, End OF The World type movies this fits the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    2012 is a 2 1/2 hour long carnival ride!

    2012 is a fun and exhilarating carnival ride of a movie! The ups & downs & razor-thin narrow escapes keep your adreneline pumping as Jackson Curtis & his family race to survive Doomsday, which is literally at their heels. With so many "end of the Earth" "science" programs clogging our TV's these days, it is refreshing to just give it a go & watch California break off the continent and slide into the Pacific Ocean. When the story pauses for scenes of the world's greatest cities coming to an end, your eye can barely form one tear before the story careens away with another twist. It's a big imaginative movie, and it's sure not rocket science, folks. Grab the popcorn, pop in the Blue Ray, tighten your lap belt and enjoy the ride. Just remember to keep your arms inside the vehicle until the ride comes to a complete stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Disaster Movie

    We just watched 2012 last night and really enjoyed it! I have to admit I enjoy most movies that John Cusak is in. His sarcastic tone gave a nice edge to the film. The visual effects were incredible and nicely done. We enjoyed the long list of actors in the film too...pretty impressive. The film certainly spurred discussion with the kids about history and the likelyhood of this particular outcome for Earth. (In other words the under ten crowd at our house did not sleep well and maybe the movie content was a little too much for that age)
    I would watch this film again and do highly recommend it. As far as an "end of the world" movie - it ranks right up there with one of our other favorites, "The Day After Tomorrow" with Dennis Quaid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It was an OK movie.

    I liked it but it was too predictable. The disaster movies seem like it the same thing over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    2012: ROTTEN!

    Rating: 9%

    Loaded with stupidity and absolute mediocrity, 2012 has nothing to offer except for a few exciting visuals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Monotonous/depressing

    How can this be one of your picks of the week? This "adventure" is overly long--one big crash-fest. A weak story line supports this monotonous string of fires/explosions, earthquakes, tidal waves, (yawn), etc. Characters are not much more than stereotypes, some acted very cheesily.
    Depressing plot overall. What is the redeeming factor of this movie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWFUL!

    Do not buy this movie unless you like something that insults your intelligence and you actually believe the prophecies of a people who actually performed human sacrifices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The most overrated movie of 2009, HANDS DOWN.

    Nothing more than a typical glorified piece of eye candy with a minimalistic story chock-loaded with a grossly far-fetched plot, over-the-top action scenes and unmemorable characters portrayed through insultingly bad acting. Naturally, this film's only saving grace is the overabundance of special effects that take place in all its mind-numbing 2.5 hours. In my opinion, the only reason this movie is as big (or, at the very least, as HYPED) as it is has to do with the fact that a big-time movie company like Columbia Pictures is responsible for it as well as the fact that it does its share to milk the current 2012 craze for all it's worth. I truly despised Independence Day, what with its poor, haphazard script and overabundance of subplots concerning an entire, bloated cast of too many unlikeable (or at least easily forgettable) characters to keep track of in one sitting. Believe it or not, though, this flick exceeds even ID in that department. Even the fact that the writers cite December 21, 2012 as the supposed End of the World while so many experts have credited December 23, 2012 as being that day just screams how poorly thought-out this movie really was.

    Roland Emmerich must love it when a lot of people die, even if only in the realm of make-believe, and this movie proves exactly that. I just hope, then, that Columbia does the right thing for once and fires him once and for all and that he never makes another movie ever again with any other movie company. Trust me...only special effects junkies and 2012 conspiracy theorists will have sweet dreams of this nightmare that never should have been made in the first place for the way it glorifies Judgment Day (regardless of whether or not Judgment Day itself is real or simply mythology) and receives FAR too much credit from those who somehow enjoyed it for whatever reason.

    Shame on you, B&N, for glorifying 2012 sensitivities even more by putting a big spotlight on this movie's release, and shame on all the people who had a hand in making or otherwise supporting this tacky film.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    BIG! HUGE! COLLASSAL! GIGANTIC and UTTERLY MASSIVE!

    4.5 out of 5

    The Mayans warned us thousands of years ago that 2012 would mark the end of the world as we know it.

    They were right.

    We just didn't listen.

    Jackson Curtis (John Cusack), separated dad and smalltime novelist, goes for the ride of his life when him and his family are caught up in the end of the world in the year 2012.

    Dr. Satnam Tsurutani (Jimi Mistry) stumbled onto the truth of what was really happening to the earth back in 2009. He showed his friend and colleague Adrian Helmsley (Chiwetel Ejiofor), who in turn told Carl Anheuser (Oliver Platt), who in turn told the President (Danny Glover). Plans were made. Research done. Even some advancements were made . . . but all for naught.

    Catching wind from lunatic conspiracy theorist and radio broadcaster Charlie Frost (Woody Harrelson) that all the rich folks in the world plus those who would create the perfect gene pool were to be held up in a series of arks till the disasters ran their course, Jackson Curtis takes his family on an adventure to head them off and get onboard themselves.

    Disaster after gigantic natural disaster ensues and the Curtis family narrowly escapes with their lives, that is, until they find the arks somewhere in China and learn that the powers that be have other plans in mind for humanity's survival.

    If there was any one word that I would use to describe this film, it would be "big." Actually, not just "big," but "BIG!!!!" HUGE! COLLASSAL! GIGANTIC and UTTERLY MASSIVE!

    At the time of this review, this movie is still in the theatre. It definitely is a must-see-at-the-theatre movie. You need that big screen and surround sound to do it justice.

    Everything is big scale in this one: the collapsing buildings, the giant earthquakes, the mountains crumbling, land folding over itself and falling a zillion feet to the earth's core, the tsunamis, the dust clouds-the list is endless, and everything is done HUGE. The whole time I was just sitting there with my mouth hanging open going, "Whoa . . . whoa . . ."

    Sure, there are a few convenient plot devices and a few impossible odds are overcome, but I went into this thing expecting a popcorn blockbuster with over-the-top special effects and that is exactly what I got. I left the theatre with a huge smile on my face.

    Though I personally don't buy into the world ending in 2012, this is still one worth seeing.

    Go see it. You'll love it. Good times for all.

    A.P. Fuchs
    Canister X

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2