BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

21 Grams

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    This is probably my favorite Inaritu film. As most everyone else here, I too was confused at the beginning but that was part of the fun. At least the film was given to you on a platter in typical cookie cutter fashion. This one has brains and deep deep emotion. Top notch acting and intense storytelling. Don't miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EDITING KILLED THIS FILM

    I AM A FAN OF THIS FILM'S DIRECTOR OTHER WORK, BUT THIS ONE IS JUST NOT WORTH SEEING. THE EDITING KILLS THE FILM, AND IS THE ONLY REASON PEOPLE WOULD WANT TO WATCH THE ENTIRE FILM BECAUSE THE END RESULT OF THE FILM IS GIVEN. THE ACTING IS FINE, BUT THIS IS MAGEZINE OR A SHORT STORY THAT IS STRETCHED OUT. YEAH, THE STORY IS GRIPPING, BUT ITS PACE AND JUMP EDITING RUINS IT. IT SEEMS SEAN PENN MADE TWO STINKERS BACK TO BACK WITH THIS AND "ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Suffered through it

    My Goodness, this film was bad. Not only did I get tired of the back and forth plot, the storyline made no sense to me. I was like, "huh??" through the whole thing. My husband felt it was a classic, though. Just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I like this movie

    This is a good movie with terrific acting. Being partially filmed in Memphis, the ending scenes in the desert are way out of place and took me out of the movie because the scenes look like they were shot as an afterthought and the actors had really bad make-up artists who couldn't replicate the actor's look from the rest of the film. Example, look at Benecio's hair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A brilliantly acted piece of art!

    I saw this film in theatres and it was moving and electrifying! Sean Penn gives his usual performance of intense, yet somewhat bordered angst. He is the plot key to this film. Benicio del Toro gives another fine performance that is worn on his face. You can see the guilt just by looking at him. Naomi Watts gives a charged performance that gives the film its true blood and guts. She captures the damaged spirit of Christina without letting her lose control.(Especially when she gives the wrenching metaphorical 'paralyzed/amputee' outburst.) Brillianty and consistently acted. The bad thing is that somehow you don't really feel the true weight of it. Could it be the narrative for which this film is known for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Tedious Film in Search of aTheme

    Although Alejandro González Iñárritu's film is strongly performed by the talents of Sean Penn, Naomi Watts, and Benicio del Toro, the sketchy non-linear plot and unrefined screenplay leave the audience tired and wanting for more. The plot follows the lives of three people and how they tragically intertwine. Sean Penn is a math teacher who needs a heart transplant. After a tragic accident where a born-again ex-con (Del Torro) kills a mother's (Watts) children and husband, Sean Penn receives the deceased father's heart and begins to return to full health. Penitent at being a hit-and-run driver, Benicio Del Torro is torn between his duty to his family, to God, and to society. In the mean time, Sean Penn begins to be amourosly involved with the donor's widow who's now returning to a cycle of drug addiction. Wrought with guilt and a sense of debt to the widow, Sean Penn promises to seek revenge on the hit-and-run driver who killed her family by killing him. The use of a non-linear plot is a good technique in showing how the three characters are joined together by disparate events which, at first, seem to have no correlation. Unfortunately, the choppy plot frutstrates the thematic elements of the story. After more than 2 hours, a depressed audience is left wondering as to what the message of this film is. Is it that life has a purpose or no purpose? That God is indifferent to human suffering and His actions without reason or purpose? Or is it that tragedy brings people together to a higher consciousness? The only indication of a theme is the narrator's reference to the soul weighing 21 grams. This would make sense if the film is about the power of religious faith or the need for spiritual salvation but neither of these elements are competently developed or explored. The plot never really develops any thematic message at all. Altogether a depressive film that conveys no clear message and leaves the audience wanting. I don't recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sean Penn does not disappoint here

    Sean Penn proves his acting ability in this one. The entire cast is great. It takes a while for the movie to come together, but it is a really great show as it unfolds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Miss 21 Grams

    21 Grams is a must see film. I admit that when I saw it, I spent the first twenty or so minutes wondering just exactly what the movie was about--------but be patient! The director leads us down a twisting road, but when the pieces of the characters' lives come together----everything falls into place. Sean Penn, Benecio Del Toro and Naomi Watts are sensational. 21 Grams is one of the most emotional and heart-wrenching films I've ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1