Customer Reviews for

24 - Season 4

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Take Keifer out of this!

    This is a well-conceived and fast-paced show that actually does make you sit on the edge of the proverbial seat, if you take Jack Bauer's character out of it and if choose to keep it then replace Keifer with someone else and re-write Jack's character. The show will still be as fast-paced and as appealing if the producers refrain from using examples of gratuitous violence, gross violations of civil liberties and unimpeachable decision-making power of a federal field agent who is not even that high up the chain of command to make 10% of the decisions he makes in this show. For one, enhanced plausibility of what we see on the screen would never hurt. In addition, any show produced by major networks, in my opinion, should attempt to create at least a somewhat credible picture of the work federal agents do and not portray them as rogues and loose canons, which is the effect that this show produces and which is likely to make many Americans who have never interfaced with federal agents believe that some of what we see on 24 might actually be the federal government's MO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Witness the Creeping Tendrils of Network Interference

    24 is, inarguably, one of the best drama's on television and Fox should learn to not let greatness be. While Day Four was very intertaining (and has a direct link to the upcoming Day Six), the influence of netowrk focus groups and second guessing are unmistakable. Witness Curtis' frequent reminders that "If Jack doesn't find X we're not going to be able to stop the bomb." Yeah. We know. That's why we're watching. Why Fox feels then need to treat viewers like idiots is a question that may never be answered. Thankfully, they took a much more lasse faire attitude toward Day Five (arguably the best yet). Here's hoping Day Six is everything we hope it will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    24 - Season 4

    I was recommended to 24 by a friend. Hesitantly, I decided I'd spent my gift certificate from Barnes and Nobles on the first season of 24. Looking at the back cover, I was a bit worried. How can a simple plot about a CTU agent's kidnapped family and terrorist attacks be the start of a series worth all this hype? I asked my friend and he told me it was more than that. That there were intricate plots and subplots and that it was plain addictive. The show is realistic in that it shows detailed paths to thwarting terrorist attacks in the US. Everything about the show is quality. And every simple plot seems to be more elaborate and detailed. All the while, each season builds up history with characters and everything is unexpected and unpredictable. Who will die this season? What will happen to this character? What will CTU look like? Will it be the same as last season? He said I must start from season one and by the time I get to the fifth season one will feel like your personal history ages ago with Jack Bauer, the most badass character ever. A few months later and here I am awaiting the fifth season's release on DVD on Tuesday, December 5, 2006. I've scavenged iTunes and decided to just wait until the fifth season DVD comes out and watch all that before the sixth airs on TV in January. 24 is the best show I've watched. I wouldn't have asked for the fourth season to be much better, just because I liked the way it ended and feel it's like myself. I don't regret anything I've done because it has made me who I am today. That said, the fourth season had some technical issues. Unlike the previous seasons, the fourth wasn't as focused or centralized. This made for a disorganized season. Some of what happened was repetitive and same things that have happened before in previous seasons. A mole in CTU, a relationship in the office, a terrorist taking hostage or trading, the President signing clemency to terrorists just so that same terrorist can unrealistically come back the next season (I assume). Why would a terrorist come back for more once he or she was freed of everything? Who’s guilty? Someone thought to be guilty, but not? A terrorist attack that can cause a war between nations. Publicity and how it affects politics. These are just a few of the recurring themes to the show. I realize though, that there is only a limited amount of original material and that to keep a reasonable amount of characters, huge plots wouldn’t work. What makes 24 good is the action and quality. I felt season four took elements from every season before it and combined them for more than one terrorist attack. I kept waiting for some grandiose plot to tie it all together like a terrorist trying to blow up the world or something. I did feel this season also explained a little too much. Part of the fun is figuring out these things on your own and they kept wasting time to explain. I found myself doing homework in parts. Will someone’s emotions prevent them from doing the job? Are they capable of running things with other things going on? What about breaking protocol to get the job done. More and more themes. Those who call 24 a gimmick though, are stupid. It’s just an original show. Should I call everyday life TV shows a gimmick? Should I call reality TV a gimmick? 24 is its on type of show and I won’t debate on whether it’s a gimmick. Season four isn’t the best of the seasons yet, but you still have to watch it. 24 is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    24 - Season 4

    I was recommended to 24 by a friend. Hesitantly, I decided I'd spent my gift certificate from Barnes and Nobles on the first season of 24. Looking at the back cover, I was a bit worried. How can a simple plot about a CTU agent's kidnapped family and terrorist attacks be the start of a series worth all this hype? I asked my friend and he told me it was more than that. That there were intricate plots and subplots and that it was plain addictive. The show is realistic in that it shows detailed paths to thwarting terrorist attacks in the US. Everything about the show is quality. And every simple plot seems to be more elaborate and detailed. All the while, each season builds up history with characters and everything is unexpected and unpredictable. Who will die this season? What will happen to this character? Who are the new characters? What's the threat? Will Jack fail somehow this season? Who will die? What will CTU look like? Will it be the same as last season? He said I must start from season one and by the time I get to the fifth season one will feel like your personal history ages ago with Jack Bauer, the most badass character ever. A few months later and here I am awaiting the fifth season's release on DVD on Tuesday, December 5, 2006. I've scavenged iTunes and decided to just wait until the fifth season DVD comes out and watch all that before the sixth airs on TV in January. 24 is the best show I've watched. I wouldn't have asked for the fourth season to be much better, just because I liked the way it ended and feel it's like myself. I don't regret anything I've done because it has made me who I am today. That said, the fourth season had some technical issues. Unlike the previous seasons, the fourth wasn't as focused or centralized. This made for a disorganized season. Some of what happened was repetitive and same things that have happened before in previous seasons. A mole in CTU, a relationship in the office, a terrorist taking hostage or trading, the President signing clemency to terrorists just so that same terrorist can unrealistically come back the next season (I assume). Why would a terrorist come back for more once he or she was freed of everything? Who’s guilty? Someone thought to be guilty, but not? A terrorist attack that can cause a war between nations. Publicity and how it affects politics. These are just a few of the recurring themes to the show. I realize though, that there is only a limited amount of original material and that to keep a reasonable amount of characters, huge plots wouldn’t work. What makes 24 good is the action and quality. I felt season four took elements from every season before it and combined them for more than one terrorist attack. I kept waiting for some grandiose plot to tie it all together like a terrorist trying to blow up the world or something. I did feel this season also explained a little too much. Part of the fun is figuring out these things on your own and they kept wasting time to explain. I found myself doing homework in parts. Will someone’s emotions prevent them from doing the job? Are they capable of running things with other things going on? What about breaking protocol to get the job done. More and more themes. Those who call 24 a gimmick though, are stupid. It’s just an original show. Should I call everyday life TV shows a gimmick? Should I call reality TV a gimmick? 24 is its own type of show and I won’t debate on whether it’s a gimmick. Season four isn’t the best of the seasons yet, but you still have to watch it. The ending is amazing like always, ending slightly abruptly, always making you want more. Things were lose in the fourth season and subplots and plots weren't returned to (Behrooz Araz) just because time didn't allow for it. Still exciting and even if it isn't the best of the 24 seasons, it's a way better season of TV than most shows. 24 is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    24 - Season 4

    I was recommended to 24 by a friend. Hesitantly, I decided I'd spent my gift certificate from Barnes and Nobles on the first season of 24. Looking at the back cover, I was a bit worried. How can a simple plot about a CTU agent's kidnapped family and terrorist attacks be the start of a series worth all this hype? I asked my friend and he told me it was more than that. That there were intricate plots and subplots and that it was plain addictive. The show is realistic in that it shows detailed paths to thwarting terrorist attacks in the US. Everything about the show is quality. And every simple plot seems to be more elaborate and detailed. All the while, each season builds up history with characters and everything is unexpected and unpredictable. Who will die this season? What will happen to this character? Who are the new characters? What's the threat? Will Jack fail somehow this season? Who will die? What will CTU look like? Will it be the same as last season? He said I must start from season one and by the time I get to the fifth season one will feel like your personal history ages ago with Jack Bauer, the most badass character ever. A few months later and here I am awaiting the fifth season's release on DVD on Tuesday, December 5, 2006. I've scavenged iTunes and decided to just wait until the fifth season DVD comes out and watch all that before the sixth airs on TV in January. 24 is the best show I've watched. I wouldn't have asked for the fourth season to be much better, just because I liked the way it ended and feel it's like myself. I don't regret anything I've done because it has made me who I am today. That said, the fourth season had some technical issues. Unlike the previous seasons, the fourth wasn't as focused or centralized. This made for a disorganized season. Some of what happened was repetitive and same things that have happened before in previous seasons. A mole in CTU, a relationship in the office, a terrorist taking hostage or trading, the President signing clemency to terrorists just so that same terrorist can unrealistically come back the next season (I assume). Why would a terrorist come back for more once he or she was freed of everything? Who’s guilty? Someone thought to be guilty, but not? A terrorist attack that can cause a war between nations. Publicity and how it affects politics. These are just a few of the recurring themes to the show. I realize though, that there is only a limited amount of original material and that to keep a reasonable amount of characters, huge plots wouldn’t work. What makes 24 good is the action and quality. I felt season four took elements from every season before it and combined them for more than one terrorist attack. I kept waiting for some grandiose plot to tie it all together like a terrorist trying to blow up the world or something. I did feel this season also explained a little too much. Part of the fun is figuring out these things on your own and they kept wasting time to explain. I found myself doing homework in parts. Will someone’s emotions prevent them from doing the job? Are they capable of running things with other things going on? What about breaking protocol to get the job done. More and more themes. Those who call 24 a gimmick though, are stupid. It’s just an original show. Should I call everyday life TV shows a gimmick? Should I call reality TV a gimmick? 24 is its on type of show and I won’t debate on whether it’s a gimmick. Season four isn’t the best of the seasons yet, but you still have to watch it. 24 is the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Story sidelined by stupid subplots

    I have been a fan of 24 since day 1 and have enjoyed watching it on tv as well as DVD, but one gripe I have always had are the trite sub plots that always seem to bubble up. Thankfully this year we didn't have to deal with Kim Bauer (Elisha Cuthbert), but the subplots surrounding Sarah Gavin, Erin Driscoll and President Logan were ridiculous. Sarah got fired for demanding something that could have waited, Erin was sent home for valid reasons, but what it did to serve the plot I have no idea and President Logan deciding to arrest Jack was laugh out loud stupid. Looking forward to seeing Kiefer Sutherland in the upcoming Secret Service Thriller "The Sentinel"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Season Yet

    Incredible, this season combines everything that was good in all 3 previous seasons, makes it better and adds so more. This is one of the best shows on TV, and this season is the best of them yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My heart was pounding even during the Special Features...

    This season had to be the best yet. Kidnapping the Secretary of Defense and Jack comes to the rescue. A terrorist who is loose all 24 hours and you don't what is to become of him until the last hour. A nuclear bomb on US soil is launched. Air Force One is shot down and the president is in critical condition. A defense contractor gone bad. Finally Jack Baeur's life comes in question with the Chinese.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This show rocks...

    This is the best show on television. Period. The only other show even close to its quality is Lost. Boo Emmys for not giving 24 the credit it has deserved for four straight years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST ON TV

    TV really hasn't much to offer anymore, but this series is the exception. The fourth season kept me on the edge of my seat throughout, and I anxiously awaited the next week to see the next episode. I am excitedly awaiting season 5! It certainly is nice to see the "good guys" win and the bad guys get what they deserve. And I love it that the ACLU/peacnik types get kicked in the butt like they deserve!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow.

    I've never seen any 24 until the last couple episodes of this season, but my GOD were they amazing! This is likely the most unpredictable show I've seen yet, and even within the span of a few episodes I got to know the characters, to like them and to sympathize with them. Evey time without fail it got my brother and I to literally clutch the edges of our seats. The ending was just plain stunning. Buy and watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thrilling and addicting!

    This is such an exciting and addicting program. We can't seem to get enough, all the twist and turns it takes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    24

    24 is the best show on tv. I started on season 4. then i rented season 1-3 and finished them within a month! thats 3 full days of tv in less than a month! The most addicting show ever! I got all my friends and family hooked too! No matter how old you are from 10-100, this show is for you! Im 15, i love it, my brother is 12, he loves it, and both my parents love it! Its unbaleivable! If your not watching it, start watching it! Any questions? Instant message me at "Shluffy04".-Paranoid 24 genius(Logan)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1