BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

300

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

To anyone criticizing the writing and/or directing...

This was an adaptation of a graphic novel "think comic book" that was based on a historical battle. Of course the focus will be on violence and visuals. The movie was filmed in front of a blue screen specifically so the highly stylized visuals of the graphic novel cou...
This was an adaptation of a graphic novel "think comic book" that was based on a historical battle. Of course the focus will be on violence and visuals. The movie was filmed in front of a blue screen specifically so the highly stylized visuals of the graphic novel could be duplicated. If you're looking for great writing, don't watch a war movie based on a comic book. Try a Coen Brothers film. What this does offer is very uniquely stylized visuals and a pretty faithful representation of the graphic novel, no doubt due in part to Frank Miller's involvement in the production of the movie. Again, 300 is a great action movie adopted from a graphic novel, NOT an Oscar winning screenplay. Watch it for the right reason and it is not disappointing.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

not to be used as evidence of hard work in the WGA strike

This movie was built on the work of stunt men and special effects people alone - no direction, no acting, and no writing. Gerard Butler, along with all the "actors" looked like a centerfold for gay porn. As a straight female I'm not attracted to that. After spending ...
This movie was built on the work of stunt men and special effects people alone - no direction, no acting, and no writing. Gerard Butler, along with all the "actors" looked like a centerfold for gay porn. As a straight female I'm not attracted to that. After spending hard-earned money to watch this movie in all its IMAX glory, I have to say I was frightened. Not by the movie. I was scared that the director and the vast majority of the audience are of age to vote in the coming presidential election. I was also left with the impression that "300" was the collective IQ of the people in the first 20 rows of the audience.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To anyone criticizing the writing and/or directing...

    This was an adaptation of a graphic novel "think comic book" that was based on a historical battle. Of course the focus will be on violence and visuals. The movie was filmed in front of a blue screen specifically so the highly stylized visuals of the graphic novel could be duplicated. If you're looking for great writing, don't watch a war movie based on a comic book. Try a Coen Brothers film. What this does offer is very uniquely stylized visuals and a pretty faithful representation of the graphic novel, no doubt due in part to Frank Miller's involvement in the production of the movie. Again, 300 is a great action movie adopted from a graphic novel, NOT an Oscar winning screenplay. Watch it for the right reason and it is not disappointing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Pure Manliness Sadly guys have to watch a movie that takes pla

    Pure Manliness

    Sadly guys have to watch a movie that takes place thousands of years ago to find a true men
    The Spartans were pure undiluted manliness. Each a warrior, a lover, and an avenger.
    No man will ever tire of watching this. Spartans are entire army of Herulean fighters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Spectacular!

    I never did come on here previously and review this, but I figure that in light of scoring the Complete Experience blue ray of this film, I would make a point of doing so now and share my opinion on this movie. I remember having first seen this in the theatre several years back. By the time it was over, I was simply in awe. The story and battle sequences in this movie were awesome, and the acting was formidable. For those of you not up on your history, this movie & graphic novel are based around an actual event in history. These people are real. 300 Spartans did stand up and hold their own against thousands of Persians...and they dealt quite a blow to that army before they were finally overcome. Obviously, if you watch this movie, it is fabricated and mythologized a little bit...more of a part fantasy/part reality reimagining of these events by Frank Miller...but that part of the movie is based around actual happenings. For all you haters out there dissing this movie because of that, lighten up...people are smart enough to know that some of this movie isn't factual, but it's still a ground breaking film and totally entertaining! My absolute favorite parts were the battle sequences that were in slow motion...totally cool...but the whole movie, for the most part, is awesome! My only one qualm with this movie was all the nudity & such within it...but it's a minor qualm at that. I'm not saying that Lena Headey or any other said women are not attractive at all...far from it. I just don't see the need for so much of that kind of content in movies. However, that aside, this is a truly spectacular movie...one of my favorite of the graphic novel to film adaptions that have hit the big screen. Totally worth while. It may not be for everyone, because not everyone probably likes a lot of bloody violence and what not, but if you're opposite of that kind of person and love a good, bloody action romp...this movie is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!

    Fantastic!!!!! Exhilarating! One of my favorites. A lot of blood, but they make it in such a way where it's not gross...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My husband loves this movie!

    My husband asked me to purchase this movie for him. He's watched it at least 6 or 7 times. It's a real "guy" movie. I found it entertaining also, but mostly like it because of Gerard Butler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good movie

    Good movie about the Spartan's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Comes At You Like A Stampede!

    Well, I don't believe this movie was meant to be filmed in 3D, but as I watch it, I get the feeling that's what it is, even without those stupid glasses. I just love the visual effects of this film. The whole slow-motion, speed up to normal idea works incredibly well here. You would think it would get old real quick. Not so. King Leonidas(Gerard Butler), won me over in about 1.3 seconds, erring on the high side. I'm not usually a fan of films that have someone narrating the whole thing, but I wouldn't have wanted this one any other way. The fight scenes were outstanding, made you want to grab that paper towel roll and jump on in! Okay, maybe that wouldn't be so effective, but you get the idea. Sex? Some, but not overkill. Girls, men with 30 packs- I don't know how many sit-ups a human needs to do for those! All-in-all, it's a keeper!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "by the end of this story people will know that a godking can bleed."

    the visuals in the movie are world renowned. the acting and preparation that went into this movie are unbelievable. if you don't own this movie then you're not a true movie buff. this should be a staple in anyones collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love this movie!

    One of my favorite action movies. If you like action, violence and drama, you should like this film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Can't Describe It In One Word

    I don't know where to begin! i need to have a dictionary in front of me to describe how amazing this film was! Tons of action. Loved the slow motion shots! Long story short. You'll get what you bargained for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    I didn't think I'd enjoy this movie as much as I did, but, wow! Blood and guts aside, the battle scenes where like a well-choreographed ballet. The acting was superb. Can't wait for the DVD to come out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    best war movie EVER!!!!!! :-)

    best war movie EVER!!!!!! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Graphic violence in none other than 300!

    This is one of the most awsome films I have ever seen. U MUST SEE THIS MOVIE!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This film is definitely one of the must-see's of the year. The action scenes are top notch. The story and side plots are extremely engrossing and keep you on the edge of your seat. Though comic purists might be upset about the freedom it takes by departing from the original, it still keeps the "never give up" and "brotherhood" aspects in perfect condition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    great movie. the action here it top notch. definatly in the top 5 of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies I've ever seen

    Love this movie, went to the theatre to see it twice, can't wait to own it. I couldn't imagine how anyone could be bored at any point in this movie! I would give it a 15 on a scale of 1-10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie! Must see!

    This movie was well made. Outstanding graphics and special effects! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It tells a small bit of history that most people overlook but this piece of history inspires a whole country to fight. I have seen it twice and can not wait for the DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Movie!!!

    This is one of those movies that comes around every 10-20 years and just amazes you with great shots, tons of action, and some intense battle scenes. Don't miss out on this DVD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Future Member of the Top 100 of 21st Century Cinema

    This movie is not a documentary it's a movie. Miller's 300 represents a neo-mythological version of the battle at the Hot Gates--and by no means is this the first or last time that this battle has been blown up for entertainment purposes or for other reasons. I personally enjoyed the movie, and the fact that the Persians seem "alien" doesn't really bother me because you could probably find ancient texts that painted the Persians as such--simply put do not watch this movie if you're into p.c. entertainment. On another note, 300 is the perfect guy-flick i.e. fighting, fighting, fighting, and women. But in all seriousness this movie is good for what it is--a movie. So sit back and watch, but remember it probably will look and feel so much better if you have a really big screen and speakers that break windows. At the end please take some seconds to remember the 300 Spartans who gave thier life so that we, the people of the West, could remain free from Persian rule.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    Love this show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3