Customer Reviews for

8 Mile

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great movie!

    Great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    A Must See Film!!

    I give the 2002 movie, 8 Mile a rating of five out of five stars hands down. This rated R, autobiographical film is filled with eye catching drama and interesting, influential music. 8 Mile provides its audience with the most descriptive and expressive scenery so that you actually feel as if you were in the movie with Eminem, feeling the emotions he felt during each scene. The movie 8 Mile takes place in the 8 Mile area of Detroit. With no money and very little clothes, Jimmy refuses to live like this and raise his daughters the way he was raised. His only option is to continue to work hard and use his talent and creativity to get what he desires (which is a better lifestyle); that outstanding ability being his ability to rap. Unto his surprise this task was not as simple as he contemplated. It was far more difficult for Mr. Jimmy Smith by him being the only white rapper trying to influence a group of hundreds of predominately African Americans to choose him over the other MCs. In addition, Jimmy has to do everything on his own without the help from his mother, which is the only family he has. With his mother's trailer as his only place to live, he gets thrown out and left on the streets by himself. Jimmy Smith went from being lonely, poor, homeless and looked down upon to well respected and popular. Watch how rapper, Eminem portrays his life story of overcoming numerous challenges, distinguishing who his real friends are from the ones that didn't really care about him, and having no family at all to go to for support in this musically dramatic film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "you signed me up to battle?!? i'm a grown man!"

    great inspirational film even for non music/eminem lovers. must see

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie of its genre

    This movie is so crazy!!!!!!!! Eminem is so awsome!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminems Life!

    The true story of Marshal Matters 8 Mile is a great movie it's a drama a really cool movie and Eminem is so hot in this movie he's really a cool guy 8 Mile rules!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY ENTERTAINING

    I had no respect for rap before I saw this movie, but after seeing this movie I came to apprectiate it. This movie was funny and very entertaining. I certainly underestimated Eminem as an actor, he did a very respectable job in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better then I thought

    Before I saw this movie, I hated rap. I thought it was a waste of time. And now, Eminem is like my favorite artist! But I especially loved the scenes he did with Chloe Greenfeild, his sister. I loved these scenes because it shows that what we see Eminem do on stage is different then his real life. That he's actually sensitive, not just a street thug. And I love the song 'Lose Yourself' It makes the most important point I think a song ever made. I think anyone and everyone should see this movie, it will help you see in a different light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yo Yo Yo, Get in this kool-aid!

    Yo, where to begin, my minds racin. I cant wait to put this DvD in i'm pacin. A wannbe rapper tryin to make his breaks. This movies so tough i dont know how much I can take. Marshall, so awesome and true, anyone that hates this be actin a fool. Just go out and buy it on the double. Or just click up top and get it from the B and Noble. Totally deservin the 5 stars it got. Better than Vanilla Ice in TMNT2......NOT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EMIN3M is the best rapper and singer out there.

    Who could hate eminem? He is the best person ever.I admire this rapper and actor right here. He should act more. I loved 8 mile. It was a great movie and best of all it tought me something about life. You shouldn't give up intil you get it and then you can either pursue the job or walk away from it and know in your heart you accomplished it. Feels good you know! Bye. -Vicky-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem kix booties!

    OMG Eminem is such a gr8 actor! & I hope he does more acting n the future! & I hope he makes a sequel 4 8-Mile! This is like my fave movie now, & Eminem is totally hott! :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    One of the best movies I have seen. I loved it! He did great in this movie and he should do some for acting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem Rocks

    he can do anything he wants to and i admire that. he is really cute and he seems to be very nice guy, even though his life is pretty rough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Guess who acts..acts and wins...shady can act n sing!(rap)

    Eminem is soooooooooooooooooooooooooo gewd in this movie he shows the steps to become a great rappa...he plays an amazing role, which he shows in this movie so does the beauti brittany and the rest....you must watch it even if u have WATCH IT AGAIN!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EMIN3M IS THE BEST!

    It was a very good movie, and Eminem played very good. But i think that it is very many who had herd a almost like story before if they know somethings about Eminem.(and it's very many who do that)You can say wathever you want about the movie, but Eminem is still the cutest and the best artist in the world!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eminem Can do More then just rap

    Eminem has suprised us all by showing us he can rap and be a ''movie star''. He is the best and will be around for awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest movie

    I seen this movie 127 times i loved it all of the times i seen it. Eminem is so cute in it. It has a great storie line to it... The director Curtis Hanson gave eminem a great part.His steamy love seen woth actress Brittany Murphy was brilliantly done. He deserves the actor and movie of the year awards. THE MOVIE WAS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's the best movie ever!

    I never seen such a great movie; it's so real and tight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    8 mile eminem pop star?

    8 mile is the bbbbbbest movie ever eminem is acting a young man who enters a rap comp and stuns everone by winning i think i will show everone this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    aaaarooooh

    eminems performance made the hairs on my neck stand up, there were even parts that i cried. it is a very cute movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Wow, need I say more? Eminem is amazing and this movie is very entertaining. The bonus features are fun too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2