Customer Reviews for

A Beautiful Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant

The movie was a kind of its own if i where an editor i would be proud to have viewed such a wonderful movie.This makes u think what you have done if where the actors placeto have to come wiyh an awardwining perfomance.Then for barns and nobles to put at such a cheap pr...
The movie was a kind of its own if i where an editor i would be proud to have viewed such a wonderful movie.This makes u think what you have done if where the actors placeto have to come wiyh an awardwining perfomance.Then for barns and nobles to put at such a cheap price it makes proud to shop online.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a beautiful misconception, but that's life

I am not too fond of this movie, nor people's reactions to it. Some say schizophrenia is strictly caused by failure of brain chemistry (or neurological wiring) and I can tell you from personal experience that this is true, but not universally applicable. On the flip sid...
I am not too fond of this movie, nor people's reactions to it. Some say schizophrenia is strictly caused by failure of brain chemistry (or neurological wiring) and I can tell you from personal experience that this is true, but not universally applicable. On the flip side, a lot of people react to the sentimentality of the film, because Nash was able to manage himself amidst his burden. I applaud him for doing this (especially without medication), but the film makes it look like he can cope with it much like folks outside the schizophrenic experience deal with emotional issues that nag them day to day. (May I state that I do not consider any emotional hardship light. I only suggest that dealing with schizophrenia is very different than non-schizophrenics typically wish it to be.) I am glad that this movie drew some attention, but I feel there are better movies and books about the illness. Whether the victim fails or succeeds in dealing with his experience, a good portrayal is only good if it manages to capture the co-mingling of horror, alienation, and confusion (among other things). Beautiful Mind does this to some extent, but not enough to satisfy me. It has too many misconceptions. That being said, I would still recommend this movie to anyone who wants an initial glance into schizophrenia -as long as they are instructed adequately as to what is Hollywood and what is closer to the real deal. If you are interested in checking out more stuff, look for the attributes I cited. Never shy from those which end tragically, and be skeptical of positive endings. A not-too-good of a resolution is typically the best you're going to get in real life.

posted by 720290 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece

    An incredible film that is suspenseful, thought provoking, and emotionally gripping. A true classic and a staple of any DVD collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Still good after several viewings

    I still think this is the best look at the mind of a schizophrenic. Yes, it comes wrapped in a handsome Russell Crowe/Jennifer Connelly package but Ron Howard still directed a very good movie! The only other movies that manage to suck you into the mind of a person suffering delusions like this are Donnie Darko and The Machinist...but neither compete with the beauty of this particular movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Baeautiful Mind, beautifully done

    Russel Crowe delivers an outstanding performance alongside co-actors Ed Harris, Jennifer Conelly and Paul Bettany in this emotionally stimulating film based on the life of mathematical professor John Nash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story.

    "A Beautiful Mind" is quite an incredible story. Contrary to popular belief, this film is not a biography, nor was it meant to be depicted as one. So, if you are basing the movie off of the book, you have the wrong idea. I found this movie to be poignant, and wonderfully acted/directed. It definitely deserved all of the awards it received, and then some.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An awesome story...

    When I watched this movie I thought it was incredible! Russel Crowe got robbed for not even getting nominated for best actor. Ron Howard is a very gifted director and this movie is no exeption. See it, it roks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Incredibly Capturing Work

    A beautiful mind is a film that draws interest to the life of the amazing John Nash and the destructive and unbearable effects of schizophrenia. This story is delivered with the top-most elloquence from both filmakers and the cast. It holds a level of depth that is clearly evident to thoes who have any interest in the lives of the "greats" in the academic world. "A Beautiful Mind" accomplished the stature of a memorable and enduring classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ask Those Who Know

    Coming from a family of three people who are challenged and suffer with 'beautiful minds' I turly respect this movie. It gives those who are challenged hope and comfort. It allows those with mental problems to know that they are okay for who they are. It encourages them to be the best they can be, even if that means they will never be what others consider 'normal'. You had better believe that therapist everywhere are seeing a possitive change in their patients who saw this movie, and have since decided that they are 'okay' after all. That they can live their lives, and not have to be ashamed of their differences. That it's okay to be different. That it's all right to be themselves. The movie establishes that those with 'beautiful minds' must follow basic rules like everyone else, but while living within those basic rules, they can have life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A story for ages

    A Beautiful Mind is an epic, gripping story that had to be told, and I am especially glad that it was told in such an amazing manner. Russel Crowe and Jennifer Connely put on amazing preformances, they made me forget that I was watching a movie, and made me feel like i was actually there. I especially liked the take they took on filming it. By starting us out with seeing John Nash's halucenations and making you, yourself question if it is real. It made you feel and care for John, instead of making you think he was completely insane. Awesome movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mine puzzling

    This movie was great but also it got you to think. The acting and story line was some of the best in years. Why I say that is that it seems in a lot of movies they have a great story line or they start off great but than suck at the end like the gave up or wonted to finish it up to fast. Beside that this movie had a good impact on me and others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my favorite movies

    I completely agree with the 12 year old that wrote the review about a year ago. This movie was truly touching and amazing. Mr. Washington, sorry, but the oscar belongs to Mr. Crowe for his excellent portrayal of John Nash. I totally agree that Mrs. Connelly deserved her oscar. I was so happy that Ron Howard and Brian Graizer received oscars for their great jobs. This movie completely deserved to get best picture (and that was so cool how Tom Hamks announced it)! Well, like I said one of the best movies that I have seen in my life of eleven years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly touching

    You have to have appreciation for this film. Sure, it's not a day by day depiction of John Nash's real life, but it covers enough of the basics of his life that you have to realize what he went through. True, his wife did divorce him in ''real'' life, yet, if you read the biography by Sylvia Nasar, she does stay by his side to the very end...you have to agree that that takes a lot of courage and strength. To live a life so full of genius, and then to have the same thing that gives you that gift ''turn'' on you, blows my mind. John Nash achieved way more in his life WITH schizophrenia, than I ever will in my whole life. So, although the film doesn't follow the biography exactly, you have to realize that no film is exactly how the book is written...the main thing is that it shows you that there is diseases, etc in this world and this film is how one man LIVED his life with a horrible disease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing...takes your heart away.

    This was one of the best movies I have seen in my whole short life of 12 yrs. I am sorry Denzel, this Oscar should have gone to Russel Crowe. Jennifer Conelly may keep her Oscar though. (I oved her in Labrynth.) Super job, Ron Howard.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    The movie was a kind of its own if i where an editor i would be proud to have viewed such a wonderful movie.This makes u think what you have done if where the actors placeto have to come wiyh an awardwining perfomance.Then for barns and nobles to put at such a cheap price it makes proud to shop online.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best films of 2001!

    When I rented A Beautiful Mind, I wanted to see what everybody was fussing about. But After I saw it, I thought it was a great movie. Ron Howard did a great job of directing, and Jennifer Connelly and Ed Harris did an excellent job of acting. My only problem was Russell Crowe. Crowe was a bad choice to play John Nash. John Nash was a brilliant man and Russell Crowe made him dull. The film was just as good as the Lord of the Rings: the Fellowship of the Ring. They both are the best in their categories but the Lord of the Rings was cheated by the Oscars. I thought Jennifer Connelly deserved the oscar for supporting actress but A Beautiful Mind (at least to me) shouldn't have won for best picture. But it is still an excellent film that should be watched.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you must see this movie

    russel crowe was awesome in this movie. It is wonderful, I recommend everyone see it. It is one of the best movies I have seen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievably Brilliant.

    What a beautiful and intriguing movie. The fact that it is based on a true story adds to the ubelievable realization that human beings are capable of such personal accomplishments and achievements, such as those made by John Nash and his wife. How reassuring to be reminded, too, that another person's love and loyalty can help to conquer life's insurmountable odds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If You Want a Biography, Stick to the Discovery Channel

    The curmudgeons out there can only advise us to read the book and spare the movie. Nothing quite like movie-review cliche to avoid what this DVD is all about - a film, not a biography. It's not biography, and it was never presented as one. In fact, if you actually reviewed the DVD, you would get more behind the scenes. The script took a free form, but it was always written with John and Alicia's input, as well as the author of the book. By the way, John Nash cannot recall his specific delusions. This film is not about John Nash; it's about schizophrenia. Ron Howard presented a film like no other I have seen from him - he actually takes you inside the minds of people with schizophrenia. If you want to study more on the disorder, read the DSM-IV. If you want to know more about John Nash, read the biography or just watch the Discovery Channel. If you want to see a film that will open you mind, you must see this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a must see film

    I really enjoyed this movie. It taught me how we can ALL overcome things. This is a must see film. Everyone will learn something and be touched at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie I've seen in years!!

    This film is truely an example of movie making...Ron Howard did an extraordinary job directing...and Russell Crowe potrayed John Nash beautifully! Give credit to the casting director who chose and awesome cast..Jennifer Connelly total deserved her oscar! The whole cast made this movie possible!!!! Go see it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Beautiful Mind'' star Russell Crowe raises the acting bar

    The film '' Beautiful Mind'' was the most intelligent film to be made in years. Russell crowe was a genius playing genius Mr.Nash. The film not only embodied the disease Mr. nash suffered from but it gave the audience a view into the isolated world of often tormented intellects. Brilliantly acted,written and directed. Russell Crowe was a victim to Hollywood politics when he didn't win the oscar this year. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure this one out since the film won best film,director,writer and supporting actress.It is sad to say the academy voted on the popular vote. Not to worry, because the next acceptance speech we see for Mr. Crowe will be for Best picture, director and actor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2