BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Bug's Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bugs Don't Bug Me

    This Disney Pixar DVD is one of our family's favorites. The ants are just precious in contrast to the sinister grasshoppers. Our sons really like to watch this one over and over. It would make a great holiday gift to be enjoyed for many years.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Bug's Life - great fun for the entire family

    A Bug's Life is a wonderful film. The characters are richly drawn and beautifully spoken by the actors. I give it my highest recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pixar's Worst Movie

    ...is still better than most non-Pixar animated features. This is a high compliment. I only call it the worst if ranking Pixar movies in order from "good to greatest." So, A Bug's Life is definately a GOOD movie to watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marx comes to Disney world

    On Blue Ray, the cartoons are gorgeous. The individual bugs are charmingly done. But who in heaven's name wants to see Aesop's and LaFontaine's charming beast fable recast as a Marxist parable, down to the Labor Theory of Value (for real!) and the Revolt of the Masses (assisted of course by a bunch of failed artistic/intellectual types)? Your children will grow up some day, and it might do to remember an old tag usually attributed to the Jesuits: "give me a child until he's 6 and you can have him until he's 60". What were the folks at Pixar thinking?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a bug's life

    this is one of my fave disney animated films next to toy story. i wonder why not many like this one, i thought finding nemo was okay but loved a bug's life. have yet to see toy story 2. this is the story of an ant who sets out to find help in order to save his colony from the grasshoppers. had no idea one of them was voiced by spacey. he was just terrific.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another great, Pixar classic!

    I really love this movie!! It's about an ant colony who is constantly oppressed by a group of grasshoppers. Every year, the ants are forced to collect food for these gluttonous grass-hoppers and their heartless leader, Hopper. When Flik, the "oddball and outcast" member of the colony accidentally destroys their food supplies, Hopper is angry but gives them one more chance to collect food. Flik, feeling as if he should take full responsibiliy, goes out on a quest to find warrior bugs to fight the grasshoppers away. By misunderstanding the circumstance, Flik mistakens a group of warrior bugs for circus clowns. But when he finds out they're not warriors, he is just about to beg them to help them until Princess Dot (the seven year old ant princess) is in danger. After they save her, the colony accepts the warrior bugs and Princess Atta (the-soon-to-be-queen) starts falling in-love with Flik. I can't tell you anymore, because that would ruin the story. But, the plot is very good, the score is excellent (like always... Pixar always knows how to do the most beautiful scores!), and the characters were well-developed and original. Even Hopper and Flik aren't the typical "Disney villain" and "Disney hero", which is very refreshing. Another refreshing thing is that Princess Atta isn't protrayed as the typical "damsel in distress". The jokes in it weren't "recycled" or "over-used". And the animation was really well done!! However, I wouldn't recommend this movie to kids 6 and under, because there are some scenes involving the grasshoppers that may be unsettling. And, you know, they have some name-calling that could have been done without: like "moron", "parasite", and "idiot". But, there's no crude humor in the movie like "Shrek". Anyway, to wrap this up, I really do like this movie! If you have not seen it, I really do recommend seeing it... soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pixar has done it again!

    I love this movie! When it came out, I saw it theaters, and when it came out for VHS, I bought it, I even have the DVD! The story focuses on the life of insects and other small creature that live in our own backyard! Just as "Toy Story" described the world of toys, "A Bug's Life" does the same for the world of ants. The protagonist, Flik, is basically an oddball wanting to find his place in the colony but his eccentricities pull him back from his place, or do they? When tyranical grasshoppers invade the colony, it's up to Flik, to discover some warrior bugs to help fight back and win his place in the colony.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2