Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Carol

Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    The best!

    This is one of the best versions of A Christmas Carol. One to watch every year!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great classic movie

    I look for this one on TCM every year. There's just something so wonderfully nostalgic and old Hollywood about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A True Classic!!!

    I've seen all the versions of this Dickens tale, and this one is by far the absolute best! It's the only one I thought worthy of adding to the family library. It is a family tradition to watch this every Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The acting and stage setting are perfection. A true classic in every sense!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Christmas Carol Movie!

    This movie is by far the best Christmas Carol movie that was ever made. It is a tradition in our family to watch it every year at Christmas time. In my opinion and many others that I know say no other movie compares. It's a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "The best version yet"

    If you love Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol, this is the best version of it to date. I won't watch any other one, it's heart warming, funny and magical all in one. You won't be dissapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Of My favorite Adaptations of A Christmas carol!

    I loved the book by Charles Dickens and have seen several of the many movie adaptations and this one with Reginald Owen is one of my favorites and I thought he was a great Ebenezer Scrooge and the rest of the cast is great too! I love the black and white version. I'm from a generation that grew up watching color movies but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate and like an old black and white movie. I saw the colorised version of this movie and I didn't like how it looked. Compared to actual, real color movies I thought that the colorization of the original black and white looked unnatural and fake. The skin tones looked painted. I would highly recommend the black and white over the colorized!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    The BEST 'Christmas Carol'

    This is THE best version of Charles Dicken's 'A Christmas Carol'. Reginald Owen does an outstanding job of portraying the transformation of miserly, heartless Ebenezer Scrooge into a caring human being. The film excellently captures the feel of Dicken's England. All of the supporting actors do an admirable job. The film is marvelous holiday fare and suitable for the whole family (although the spooky Ghost of Christmas Future and Jacob Marley may be to scary for young children).If you're looking to get in the Christmas spirit this is the movie for you. The original black & white version is preferred but the new colorized version may have more appeal to a generation raised on color movies. Note: Bob Cratchit (Gene Lockhart) and his wife were husband and wife in real life. June Lockhart who plays one of the Cratchit daughters went on to play the mother in the 1960's TV series 'Lost in Space'. Leo G. Carroll, who portrays the ghost of Jacob Marley, went on to play the lead character in the 1950's TV series 'Topper'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2003

    I Like This Version Better.

    I know a lot of people like the Alastair Sim version more, but this one is my classic! Reginald Owen is classic! The cinematography is great also. Definitely equal to the 1951 version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1