Customer Reviews for

A Christmas Story

Average Rating 5
( 193 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A classic that's fun all year round. Few films hold up as well a

    A classic that's fun all year round. Few films hold up as well as this one. It's hilarious every time you see it. Warm, funny, cute, sweet and entertaining to watch any time of the year. This special edition is great, there are a ton of well produced extras that fans will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Very happy

    Seller was great. Helped me locate package when it got held up in mail. Would recommend to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good fun for the entire family!

    Although a Southerner never having had to deal with the snow situations depicted, I could totally relate to the bullying, Christmas gifts from well-intentioned relatives, and ruined holiday meals, and found it hilarious to watch. My husband, who is from up north, totally enjoyed watching this movie. He has dealt with bundling up for cold weather and tongues freezing on metal. And of course the main storyline so many children have faced: How to get Santa to bring the highly desired toy on Christmas day. The narration in the first person, as the main character tells his story, is uniquely related. It's a family classic for us to watch every Christmas season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie Tradition

    Our family watches this movie every Christmas now. Everyone has a part that is their favorite. Mine is when the "old Man" and all the neighbors are looking at the notorious Leg Lamp! It is a good family movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cult Classic!

    Made the Holidays fun from Thanksgiving through New Year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Family Time

    It's a must. Every family should have this movie, great story line. My husband & I have watched it every year since we both can remember! He gave his VCR movie version to an old college friend and I got him this as an early Christmas present. We will watch it after Thanksgiving--like every year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Christmas Movie!

    This movie is very funny and enjoyable for the whole family. If you have not seen this yet, your missing out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the Best

    This is a vintage movie that never gets old no matter how many times it is watched, year after year our Family sets up a "watch Christmas Story" night before Christmas, it now includes our Grandkids. It has a great deal of truth with regards to the time it protrays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I fell in love with this movie the first time I saw it. I recommend this movie to people of all ages but mostly to the children of the 1950's As this movie will bring back memories of there childhood like it did for me.

    I loved the Dad's big prize that he won and the way the Mom got the younger boy to eat his dinner. The constant fixing of the old fuel oil fernus. The neighbor's dogs. The oldest boys fantisies about his B B Gun. The hole movie from beginning to end is just HILARIOUS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best screen adapation of Jean Shepherd's stories

    How many times have I seen this movie? Dozens, I suppose. Like other fans, I could probably quote its dialogue line by line. I've seen several screen or TV adaptations of Jean Shepherd's homespun and humor-rich stories, and this surely the best. By the way, it's best served with a cup of hot Ovaltine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Christmas Movie Ever

    A very funny movie that will make you laugh every hoilday season. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Entertaining yet endearing, a great family movie

    I watch this movie every year, it always lifts my spirits and adds a little humour to a hectic time of the year. I recommend this if you are in the mood for an enjoyable Christmas movie that doesn't lose the spirit of Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    The ULTIMATE Christmas Movie

    This movie is Americana in all it's glory. With a fabulous narration that blows me away everytime I hear it. The ''average Joe'' family, struggles with everyday problems,in a manner that will have you rolling on the floor, and remembering your own life in the 40's... Or perhaps, wishing you had lived in the 40's. Ralphie, and his endless tricks to get a Red Rider BB gun for Christmas, is a magical trip down childhood street. This is the ultimate Christmas movie, thanks to the ultimate writer, Jean Shepherd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest film of all time

    Nothing is funnier than this film because I think so many people can relate to this American family. I highly recommend this film to those who like to be humoured and those who want to start a family tradition of watching this in their home. I never miss the 24 hour marathon they have every year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A family tradition as we know it...

    Although I live away from home now, my sister Laura and I call each other every Thanksgiving and Christmas to make sure that we don't miss the 24 hour marathon on TNT. It has been a family tradition for us since we were kids. I hope this will become a family tradition with our kids as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The zombies scared me..

    I liked this movie alot, until it got to the part where the little boy kills his parents with the BB gun, and they come back as zombies and eat his intestines....That part was scarey:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Luv It

    i'm 15 years old and i've watch a christmas story since i was atleast 10. I absolutely love it. I know almost all the words and i watch the whole marathon on Christmas Eve and Christmas. I can't wait to start watching it tomorrow :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    A Great Christmas Classic!

    This is a wonderful Christmas movie that you can watch over and over and still love it. It doesn't matter how old you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's not Christmas without Ralphie !!!!

    Every Sunday in December when our TV guide comes in the paper, I start looking to see when A Chrismas Story will be on. The nights it's on, I tell my husband that we have to watch Ralphie. He always asks me ''aren't you tired of that movie yet'' and every response is, ''I can never get tired of A Christmas Story''. I now can recite most of the lines in this silly movie. Kudos to TNT for the 24 hour marathon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wife and I just love the show we watch Nov thru Dec every night

    For the last 4 years my wife and I have enjoyed this movie every year. We even have a bach up spare when current vhs wears out. All the characters are good this film is the best christmas film to watch for the whole family Sincerly Bryan Of Oroville Ca

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8