Customer Reviews for

A Good Year

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Hollywood romance w/ nice rhythms

An uneven, perhaps predictable, yet likeable movie. Russell Crowe doesn't command the ship that slays the gladiators and gets shot in the jaw saving the good guy in LA. Instead, there's a vineyard. A lovely French landscape. A pretty French woman "okay, so pretty is an ...
An uneven, perhaps predictable, yet likeable movie. Russell Crowe doesn't command the ship that slays the gladiators and gets shot in the jaw saving the good guy in LA. Instead, there's a vineyard. A lovely French landscape. A pretty French woman "okay, so pretty is an understatement". And a lot of conventional Hollywood romance. So, relax. Enjoy. Smile. "A Good Year" is kinda charming, and it has nice rhythms.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pablum for an Evening's View

Peter Mayle's popular novel 'A Year in Provence' has been transferred to the screen by screenwriter Marc Klein under the odd direction of Ridley Scott, best known for such films as 'Hannibal', 'Gladiator', 'Matchstick Men', 'Thelma and Louise', 'Black Hawk Down', 'Blade...
Peter Mayle's popular novel 'A Year in Provence' has been transferred to the screen by screenwriter Marc Klein under the odd direction of Ridley Scott, best known for such films as 'Hannibal', 'Gladiator', 'Matchstick Men', 'Thelma and Louise', 'Black Hawk Down', 'Blade Runner' etc. and the result may surprise many viewers. No, this is not a shocker of a film but rather a too familiar tale of a man obsessed with making money who inherits a vineyard and chateau in Provence from the uncle that served as his family as a child and in returning to the old estate, finds the earth and his memories too long buried about how he loved the space of arrested time of his childhood. The man is British financial wizard Max Skinner (Russell Crowe in a very subdued performance) who as a young bright lad (Freddie Highmore) lived with Uncle Henry Skinner (Albert Finney), learning the ins and outs of growing grapes and making wine. Max returns to the chateau after Uncle Henry's death with all intentions of polishing up the neglected place to place on the market to make yet more money. The live-in couple who maintain the place (Francis Duflot - Didier Bourdon - and his wife Ludivine - Isabelle Candelier) challenge Max's decision to sell the place, hiding some secrets about the vintages that will eventually alter the course of the story. Max slowly falls in love with his memories of his childhood, reconnecting with his love for his uncle, discovering a young beauty Fanny (Marion Cotillard) who owns a bistro and was actually a childhood 'friend' to Max, and also discovering that the philandering uncle had an illegitimate daughter Christie (Abbie Cornish) who visits the chateau to get to know who her father was (bringing along a deep knowledge of winemaking from California's Napa Valley!). The film is then a struggle between Max's obsession with money as abetted by his home coworkers Gemma (Archie Panjabi) and Charlie (Tom Hollander) and his changing need and love for the life and memories bound tightly to his Provence chateau. How it all works out is the relaxing if predictable finale of the story. The cast is attractive (including even a bit part for the beautiful and talented Valeria Bruni Tedeschi!) and seem to meld with Ridley Scott's concept of offering a little fluff of French dessert. It is light in vein but beautiful to look at and it is interesting to see Scott and Crowe together in a non-violent venture! Grady Harp

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful scenery

    Nice for the travelogue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Strong man weakens under influence of strong-willed females.

    There is a sub-plot in this movie that many miss. Max Skinner's entire life is controlled by strong-willed women. From his admin assistant, Gemma, to his uncle's lawyer, the chateau's housekeeper, his cousin, and then finally, Fanny - his love-interest - all are confident accomplished women who greatly influence Max's decisions and life. Great movie. Lovely scenery. Grat casting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best kept secret; best contemporary romantic comedy

    Who knew Russell Crowe had such great comedic timing? This movie is smart, witty, very romantic, with luscious French scenery. Gorgeous cinematography. Great chick flick. (In fact, every woman I've ever lent or given this movie to has ended up watching it multiple times and buying it for herself or a friend.) Marion Cotillard is delicious and all the supporting cast members create full, endearing characters. Big treat. Big smiles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!

    A beautiful film, full of passion. The movie soundtrack is also very fun, and upbeat. Russel Crowe shows a very silly part of himself. He is perfect for the role!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming, feel good and all those other cliches'

    Who doesn't enjoy watching the evolution of a character. Province is a beautiful backdrop to a charming story. Russell Crowe did a good job, better then I expected. I would compare it to &amp quot Under the Tuscan Sun&amp quot or the more recent &amp quot Mama Mia&amp quot where the location is a co-star, and provides a mini vacation for the mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delightfully entertaining

    My husband and I loved this movie! The scenery, the music, the cast, the romance...pooh pooh on the naysayers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable Hollywood romance w/ nice rhythms

    An uneven, perhaps predictable, yet likeable movie. Russell Crowe doesn't command the ship that slays the gladiators and gets shot in the jaw saving the good guy in LA. Instead, there's a vineyard. A lovely French landscape. A pretty French woman "okay, so pretty is an understatement". And a lot of conventional Hollywood romance. So, relax. Enjoy. Smile. "A Good Year" is kinda charming, and it has nice rhythms.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bad turns good

    From the first watching to the fifth, this movie has given me the desire to travel to Provence. I thought it was an excellant movie. None of the violance and bad language that most film makers seem to think it takes to make a good movie. I plan on watching the movie many more times. It's a great addition to my collection as well as the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good Love Story

    I did like this movie very much, however, I wouldn't say it was great. The acting was good, the story was cute. It didn't drag like some movies do. But, there wasn't really anything that stood out about it. If you are looking for a cute, sweet movie to watch then I recommend A Good Year. If you're looking for a fantastic movie to always remember, I don't recommend A Good Year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Russell

    I love everything that Russell Crowe does, and this film is no different. O.K. it's not the big blockbuster that everyone is used to seeing him in. But it's still good. I enjoyed the first time almost as much as the fifth. :"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pablum for an Evening's View

    Peter Mayle's popular novel 'A Year in Provence' has been transferred to the screen by screenwriter Marc Klein under the odd direction of Ridley Scott, best known for such films as 'Hannibal', 'Gladiator', 'Matchstick Men', 'Thelma and Louise', 'Black Hawk Down', 'Blade Runner' etc. and the result may surprise many viewers. No, this is not a shocker of a film but rather a too familiar tale of a man obsessed with making money who inherits a vineyard and chateau in Provence from the uncle that served as his family as a child and in returning to the old estate, finds the earth and his memories too long buried about how he loved the space of arrested time of his childhood. The man is British financial wizard Max Skinner (Russell Crowe in a very subdued performance) who as a young bright lad (Freddie Highmore) lived with Uncle Henry Skinner (Albert Finney), learning the ins and outs of growing grapes and making wine. Max returns to the chateau after Uncle Henry's death with all intentions of polishing up the neglected place to place on the market to make yet more money. The live-in couple who maintain the place (Francis Duflot - Didier Bourdon - and his wife Ludivine - Isabelle Candelier) challenge Max's decision to sell the place, hiding some secrets about the vintages that will eventually alter the course of the story. Max slowly falls in love with his memories of his childhood, reconnecting with his love for his uncle, discovering a young beauty Fanny (Marion Cotillard) who owns a bistro and was actually a childhood 'friend' to Max, and also discovering that the philandering uncle had an illegitimate daughter Christie (Abbie Cornish) who visits the chateau to get to know who her father was (bringing along a deep knowledge of winemaking from California's Napa Valley!). The film is then a struggle between Max's obsession with money as abetted by his home coworkers Gemma (Archie Panjabi) and Charlie (Tom Hollander) and his changing need and love for the life and memories bound tightly to his Provence chateau. How it all works out is the relaxing if predictable finale of the story. The cast is attractive (including even a bit part for the beautiful and talented Valeria Bruni Tedeschi!) and seem to meld with Ridley Scott's concept of offering a little fluff of French dessert. It is light in vein but beautiful to look at and it is interesting to see Scott and Crowe together in a non-violent venture! Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just as Much Fun as the Book

    Where Mayle's writing is simply fun and entertaining to read, the film version is beautiful to watch. The humor is still where it should be with just as much gravity and depth to make you really care about the fate of the characters in Max's world. I read the book before going to France and saw the film after I returned. Both are a thrill if you love Europe and especially France.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I was most disappointed in the movie because it rarely followed

    I was most disappointed in the movie because it rarely followed the book. The missed opportunity is when the screenwriters chose to manipulate the story and make Max an arrogant, greedy, self-centered jackass. His character isn't supposed to be running from his mistakes, he's supposed to be solving the mystery of who makes and controls the beautiful boutique wine from his vineyard, not the swill that it supposedly produces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best If Watched Multiple Times

    Good the first time watched. Gets better with each viewing. Is now one of our favorites. A warming love story of Provence and a man's salvation by re-discovering his roots (and a beautiful girl) in the South of France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is my "go to" movie

    A great cast, storyline and setting in beautiful Provence. It makes me want to retire there. I have watched this movie over and over. Freddie highmore who plays the young Max Skinner is a real favorite of mine with great acting ability for one so young. If you liked this movie then take a look at August Rush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a waste of 2 hours

    I'm genuinely surprised to read so many positive reviews of this movie. The plot is flat and predictable, the acting dull and lifeless. It was everything I could do to finish this one, and I only managed that because I figured I had paid for it, so I may as well see if it was going to get better...but it doesn't. Definitely glad I rented this and didn't spend more money to see it in a theater.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2