Customer Reviews for

A Midsummer Night's Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice adaptation

    It was the most enjoyable adaptation of this Shakespeare play I've seen. However, it was very sexualized. Beware if showing it in a classroom setting. There is nudity and implied sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The casting, costumes and the set were superb - everyone did a t

    The casting, costumes and the set were superb - everyone did a terrific job, but for me the standouts were Kevin Kline, Stanley Tucci and Sam Rockwell. The last of those names was just 31 at this time and while his career already spanned a decade, I had not seen him in any movies until then. He steals the show near the end, playing an amateur actor who takes on a woman's role. The crowd duly laughs at him for putting on a falsetto voice, but then he ditches that convention and shows his powerhouse abilities on the stage.  A fun, fantastical look at love gone awry - and then all set right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    The Love Square

    Introduction

    It’s a big love square.
    Description and summary of main points
    Demitrius ‘loves’ Hermia, Hermia loves Lysander, Lysander loves Hermia, and Hellena loves Demitrius.

    Evaluation

    Hermia & Hellena where like bestfriends. Demitrius & Lysander hate eachother because they both love Hermia. Hellena think their playing with her when both men where in love with her.

    Conclusion

    Well, either they hate eachother, or they love eachother. But, in the end everything works out.

    Final review

    My honest opinion of this book is, it’s kinda boring at first but it gets pretty funny toward the end. It’s a love square. In the end every one of them are with who they want to be with, except Demitrius,but he falls in love with Hellena. It’s a good book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great for Shakespeare fans and newcomers

    I LOVE this movie! The actors are well trained and funny, the sets are beautiful, and the music is fantastic! Stanley Tucci and Kevin Kline are particularly good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The best of Shakespeare's plays!

    A Midsummer Night's Dream is my all time favorite plays of Shakespeare and the best time reading and discussing the play in my English Comp. 2 class. From that point on I have loved the play and after watching the movie adaptation I have fell even more in love with it. From the starstruck lovers, the outrageous actors, and of course the constant feud of the King and Queen of the Fairies...the story is just romantic, magical, and just plain fun! Plus the cast is phenomenial! Stellar movie, amazing cast, and not to mention the best adaptation I have seen of shakespeare! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent film, but there is a drawback to the DVD

    In every way, this is the version of "A Midsummer Night's Dream" to see (as a film). It outclasses the famed 1935 version in all departments (especially the performances), except, perhaps for the incredible fantasy atmosphere and ballet sequences found in the 1935 version. I enjoyed this 1999 version very much in the theatre, and every time it comes on cable.<BR/><BR/>However, my beef is not with the film. As I said, the film is exceptional. My beef is with Fox searchlight's insensitivity and with B&N's "Product Details" section. This is NOT an anamorphically enhanced version, as I had hoped. It is the very same edition as before, only with Cliff's Notes added. Those with regular television sets will not be bothered by this, but those with widescreen TV sets will be disappointed. With your controls set to a 16:9 setting, everyone looks "stretched out", unless you zoom in, and you can't zoom in if you find the subtitles necessary, because then you can't read half of them. (This would not be necessary if the disc were "anamorphically enhanced", that is, pre-set to look normal in a 16:9 setting without having to zoom in.<BR/><BR/>Packaging a DVD like this in 2008 is unconscionable on Fox Searchlight's part. If they can issue anamorphically enhanced disc of the Rodgers and Hammerstein musicals, why not one of this too? Don't they know that "anamorphically enhanced" has long since been the norm on DVD, and that widescreen TV's are a reality now?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite adaptation!!!

    This is my favorite adaptation od Midsummer!!! The acting is awesome!!! It's a great cast!!! My old high school performed this adaptation, and when I heard about the movie I ran out and rented it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magical Adaptation

    The film of my favorite play delighted me—not immediately. At first, some of the editing of my favorite monologues bothered me, but I have reconciled myself to the loss. Who really cares if the actors and director are traditional interpreters of Shakespeare? Their interpretations charm me. Their understanding of the text enhances my grasp of it. The use of romantic Italian opera works. As one who has loved and felt the stings of loss, I love letting go and entering the magic of this film. Kevin Kline’s Bottom becomes the most vital character, though every player plays his or her role with grace and beauty. I love this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Pretty good

    For this film the setting is moved up to the late 19th century. The production is overdone in typical Hollywood fashion, and these people are obviously not Shakespearean actors. They do okay, but the emotions and humor often fall short. The black bars at the top and bottom are the widest I've ever seen, leaving only about half of your screen for the picture. Subtitles are offered in English and Spanish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT!!!!

    This movie is so good and it really makes you enjoy Shakespeare! If you're reading the book and are having a hard time fully understanding it, I would highly recommend this outstanding movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1