Customer Reviews for

A Raisin in the Sun

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of A Classic American Movie

    I highly recommend this movie as a must see to anyone interested in seeing the progressive state of American from the 1950's to today.
    In this classic movie the actors all delivered a superb performance which sets the standard for how well Ms. Hansberry original Broadway play was written. The work was so superbly created that it has inspired several remakes from its production including contemporary movies starring modern day celebraties; such as,Danny Glover and Sean Combs, both having been casted as Walter Lee Younger.
    Yet, as good as both of those actors were in their versions of
    'A Raisin in The Sun', no one can top the performance given by it first star Sidney Poitier as well as the enseblem cast which included a very young and beautiful Ruby Dee, and the matriarch of all mothers, Claudia McNeil.
    This movie is a true American classic showing a realistic view of a time that many in this country are not familiar with unless they were directly affected by the pangs of poverty, injustice, or racism.
    It is a hard movie to find in most major markets and I commend Barnes and Noble for having it readily available.

    Jacqueline Jones
    Avid Reader & Historical Films Connoisseur

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Black is Beautiful

    More proof that Sidney Portier is one of the greatest actors of all time. This tale about a desperate family and their suffocating circumstances, boils over when race becomes their obstacle to a better life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Raisin in the Sun

    This film expresses the struggles and family bonding of a colored family of that time. Starting out with everyday life of a family, you notice some of the difficulties of living a life with only the little you own. This movie demonstrates some of the most respected traditions, most families today strive for. With a low income, the Youngers do everything thing the can to keep their lifestyle alive, and still keep their poor secret from their son, Travis. With Walter Lee’s mother and sister also sharing the two bedroom apartment, everyone finds a way to pitch in and help out. The late pass of the elder Mrs. Younger will finally give them some comfort money to spend on the dream the family has always desired. Being the typical African American family they are however, they must overcome some obstacles and gentlemen that do not share the same dream. New money brings new needs to friends and family, despite the horrible secret Walter Lee has kept since the news of his father passing away. With medical school in her eyes, the younger sister Benetha has her own personal struggles along the way, in which eventually makes her a stronger person for her new upcoming life. Being a classic film, I originally was discouraged. After I saw all the traditions and customs being used throughout the film, I had a change of heart. No matter the race, this is a perfect example of how everyone is the same. Everyone has the same way of making ends meet, as long as you please your family. “A Raisin in the Sun” expresses the difficulties of how life was in that time, and is also and example of how African Americans shouldn’t have been treated. Recommending for teenagers and up, I think this is a “need to see” film for all Americans of any race.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic American Tale

    This is a classic "American" story very well depicted on film. Those critical of Sydney Poitier's performance no doubt are put off by it because they can not relate to it (big surprise). This film examines the struggle African Americans CONTINUE to face in trying to get ahead in a society where they have been kept behind for generations (White's were able to gain wealth due to the generations of FREE labor they enjoyed...a little thing we call slavery. Imagine how wealthy one would be by today's standards if you ran a company where you never paid your employee's and they were forced to keep working for you. You and your children and their children would be forever wealthy, while your workers would struggle to recover for generations...without anything to pass on to the next) A deeper theme is how to advance in society without compromising one's integrity and values. This was the conflict Sydney's character faced. The best character (and actress) was the mother of the film, a strong figure that holds the family together and keeps them on the straight and narrow...those that understand the dynamics of the traditional African American family will definitely relate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''A classic that is sure to bring a smile''

    i loved the movie, because i know a lot people who relate to these very situations. it was full of GREAT acting. regardless of what other may say. i really much enjoed the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    This movie is not dated. It's fabulous! I first saw this movie i

    This movie is not dated. It's fabulous! I first saw this movie in the basement of a catholic elementary school - I was 11, but this movie made a lot of sense in the 1960's. I became an instant fan of Sidney Poitier. It is very relevant to present day America. We should be a lot further along in the racial equality scenario, and a lot further along in attainment of the American Dream. I'm tutoring a 17 year old student, and she said, who is Sidney Poitier? No, I was not required to read Raisin in the Sun. Appalled, I told her that I will purchase it and we will watch it together with her family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Somewhat Dated

    Although dated, this film has much resonance in our own time as it will in future generations. Race has always been a factor in American history. Sidney Portier proved himself the consummate actor, again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT the best acting!

    I thought it was a good story but not the best acting. And it dragged in lots of places...not a very exciting movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Raisin In The Sun'' tries to be faithful to Hansberry's vision

    The movie version of “A Raisin In The Sun,” playwright Lorraine Hansberry’s drama about a black family’s search for its identity and destiny in the midst of the prevailing social upheaval at the dawn of the civil rights era, tries to be faithful to the play. The pivotal deletion of the Asagai character’s acrimonious polemic against European colonialism in his native Africa—obviously an attempt to placate white audiences of the time—does dilute Hansberry’s message somewhat. But overall, it is a fine, entertaining and engrossing film with the best of intentions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is called ... ACTING!!!!!!

    Lets not be afraid to break tradition, abd admit the truth that everyone is afraid to admit - Sidney Poitier was not the greatest African American actor of al time. Insted, he wa the greatest African American BAD ACTOR of all time. If you enjoyed Charleton Heston yelling ''It's a Mad House'' in Planet of the Apes or ANY of William Shatner's performances (before he became aware of his own haminess) , then this is the performance for you!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1