Customer Reviews for

A Streetcar Named Desire

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent

    My all time favorite! This movies sexual tension was way ahead of it's time. Brando is raw and brutal and yet sexy and you just can't take your eyes off him. You almost understand the whole "Hey Stella" scene and why is wife (and sister in law Blanche) were under his spell. The music and dingy lighting adds just perfectly to the mood of this steamy New Orleans movie. You cannot miss this movie. It is an American classic of raw sexuality and a fragile womans' desent into madness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marlon Brando is the greatest actor of all time

    I know I should be giving this movie a perfect five since it's a classic, but I felt like it was a bit to soap operaish at times. Let me say this: Marlon Brando is the king of all actors. His performances have all been flawless and unlike anything you will ever see. He is the king of Hollywood, our Man O' War of cinema. He brings more life to his characters than anyone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marlon Brando: The King of Hollywood

    I was 16 when I saw it at the movie theater...I went back to see it 20 more times...believe me, I couldn't get enough of Brando... It is the most intense, raw sexuality in a man that I've never seen since then... You cannot get a better, more methodically perfect actor anywhere, any time... He should've won an Oscar for that performance. Not even Humphrey Bogart could have been better...They cheated him out of the award. There will never be another Brando...Not even close...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Delightful

    This movie is absolutely amazing. At first, you could be confused with the situation, but listen carefully and you will be engrossed in the plot. I saw the movie first, then decided to read the book because I am a huge fan of Marlon Brando. After reading the book, I saw the movie again and everything fell into place. This film is absolutely exceptional.. one of my favorite of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brando commands attention

    I was 16 when I first saw the film streetcar, I was supposed to be finishing off an assignment flicked on the tv and their he was, It was not acting it was completly raw. I became obsessed read every book on him, I can't imagine the film industry having never had a brando. I think no other actor had such a raw sexuality as marlon, You dont just want to watch him act but are drawn to watch his hands his,arms & mannerisms. Thank god for brando.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    I had read about this movie online and decided to rent it. It was great from beginning to end. I loved everything about it. It seemed like all the rest of the actors were acting very well and Marlon Brando, who looked absolutely georgeous, was being himself. Great film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great...

    really good. Vivien Leigh plays a good crazy Southern belle, the complete contrast from the other movie 'Gone With The Wind', where she played a pretty but spoiled Southern belle. Marlon Brando is good for his role, the husband who gets really annoyed with his dreamy-like and crazy sister-in-law. near the end he totally makes her even crazier, yelling at her and handling her in an abusive way while his wife, who wouldv'e protected her sister, was at the hospital having a baby. i thought it was mean of him to do what he did to Blanche and destroying her chance to marry her lover, who really liked her even though she was the way she was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    I really enjoyed this movie and I loved the characters. I had to read the play though because the dialogue was a little confusing and mumbled at times, and sometimes just spoken very fast. Marlon Brando was outstanding (hello gorgeous) and I definitely recommend this classic movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Marlon Brando a GOD

    I saw this movie when I was thirteen years old. It introduced me to Marlon Brando, of course I had seen him in movies like 'Superman' and things, but didn't really pay much attention to him in roles like that, but I'd always heard the name Marlon Brando. This movie is perfect! This movie was ahead of it's time, and I love everything about it, I even have the play and have read it several times. I love this movie and I love Marlon Brando (hey you get to see him without a shirt, you can't beat that).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brando is amazing.

    This is a terrific film! Brando and Leigh are sensational. Marlon Brando stands out and truly stars in this film. A great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    5 Academy Award Winner

    This Movie Is Terrific.It Won 5 Academy Awards.And well Deserved. Vivien Lee and Marlon Brando were terrific. But I do have to say that Miss Leigh Stole the spotlight.This Film is my favorite film. I can watch over and Over,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Respone to above

    This DVD does present the film in its original aspect ratio, which like ''All About Eve'' or ''Gone With th Wind,'' looks like it's been formatted because it fits your screen but it hasn't been. Furthermore, it's the original director's cut of one of the greatest films ever made and some of the greatest performances ever filmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    classic but sketchy

    i liked it, leigh did a good job,the movie definetly made you stop and think and really critic the charatchers, its a good movie to watch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Formatted to Fit Your Screen

    Why go to the trouble of restoring a classic to the original directors cut then chop the image up to mash it into a square screen. Formatting a film to fit tv screens is like tearing the first and last page out of every chapter of your favorite book. This is a waste of what should be a terrific DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1