Customer Reviews for

AM and PM Yoga for Beginners

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Excellent!

Incredibly relaxing, yet revitalizing. You come away with a sense that you've just done something good for yourself, and a sense of peace and calm. Not another 'home-video' quality Yoga program - I was pleasantly surprised by the professionalism. Beautiful scenery, s...
Incredibly relaxing, yet revitalizing. You come away with a sense that you've just done something good for yourself, and a sense of peace and calm. Not another 'home-video' quality Yoga program - I was pleasantly surprised by the professionalism. Beautiful scenery, soothing music, confident instruction - all come together to make an excellent experience.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too fast for yoga

A.M. yoga helps focus on waking the relaxed mind and body. It is very well designed. But P.M yoga is fast paced , not allowing for enough time to draw a full breath. I ended up feeling sick after a workout. I fo not recommend this version. The instructor goes thru the ...
A.M. yoga helps focus on waking the relaxed mind and body. It is very well designed. But P.M yoga is fast paced , not allowing for enough time to draw a full breath. I ended up feeling sick after a workout. I fo not recommend this version. The instructor goes thru the motions too fast.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    Incredibly relaxing, yet revitalizing. You come away with a sense that you've just done something good for yourself, and a sense of peace and calm. Not another 'home-video' quality Yoga program - I was pleasantly surprised by the professionalism. Beautiful scenery, soothing music, confident instruction - all come together to make an excellent experience.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow what a surprise!

    Poses are simple and easy to follow. Even for someone as out of shape as I was. AM totally relaxing but somehow gives strength and energy to make it through the day. PM releases tension and relaxes me enough to let me sleep at least 6 hours straight! I started out with the 15 min AM. That's all I had time for with working 12 hrs. a day. Now I do both. They are short enough where I can commit to 15 min in the moring and 18 min. at night. No matter how busy or hectic. I saw a difference in 1 week.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great yoga DVD

    This is a great DVD if you are new to yoga. The both sessions are abot 20 minutes each and they are a great way to relax.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Rodney Yee - totally relaxing - 4 stars for him

    I agree with another reviewer that the AM portion is wonderful - relaxing, calming, a wonderful way to start the day. The PM portion, however, is very difficult for a beginner. I have trouble with it and I am in shape, and when I tried to get my 70 year old mother to do it, she couldn't do much of it at all. She should have been able to do some of a beginner yoga program. Once you get stronger, it is doable, and the music/scenes are beatiful and relaxing. So start with the AM with Rodney and work up to the PM yoga.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Knee Pain

    Also suggest "Treat Your Knee Arthritis" if you have knee pain that interferes with your workout.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Two great options in one DVD

    First let me begin by saying that GAIAM puts out excellent DVDs for yoga. I own several and each exceeds my expectations. Rodney Yee instructs a wonderful yoga practice that gently wakes your muscles and quiets the mind for the day. This practice is filmed in Maui. The scenery is stunning and adds to the yoga practice. Now if you want a more active/vigorous practice for a way to work out the stress of a day the PM session with Patricia Walden walks you through that option. Her session is filmed at the Sand Dunes in Death Valley which accentuates the winding down and relaxing of the mind. These practices have allowed me to walk into a beginning class with an instructor and pick up with the class immediately. For an added bonus, a section for properly using yoga props is demonstrated by Suzanne Deason.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    I really enjoy the AM Yoga. It's easy, relaxing and I really notice the difference in the way I feel. The PM is a bit harder although I'm sure as time goes by I'll get used to it. I'm glad I got this DVD.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very relaxing

    The AM part was very easy to follow, even if you are not flexible. I found it relaxing and rejuvanting. The scenes on the beach are beautiful. The PM portion is more of an intermediate level. For someone who is not flexible this portion is hard. There are too many leg poses and it seems she goes too fast for beginners. I will stick with doing the AM portion instead.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for busy people.

    I have been doing these practices for years on VHS and am now buying DVD versions. This is good traditional yoga in 20 minute the way it is meant to be done. If you practice these everyday you will find a great increase in flexibility and wellness. People who don't understand yoga may not get the benefits of a short practice. I am very active and busy. I find this yoga a good balance for cardio and strength training.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not long enough

    This dvd was just not long enough. Just as I was getting warmed up, it was over.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Video

    This video is great for anybody who wants to do a little yoga at morning and at night. I'm a full time student and i work full time and in about ten minutes a day, using this video, you can totally increase your clarity and vitality first thing in the morning and keep it through the day. Highly recomended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Yoga for Movers

    This yoga is perfect for those who need to move constantly. Some people can't just be and relax. This yoga keeps you moving and in the moment, yet the constant slow movement is relaxing. However, if you want a more meditative yoga with long quiet poses, this may not be for you.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too fast for yoga

    A.M. yoga helps focus on waking the relaxed mind and body. It is very well designed. But P.M yoga is fast paced , not allowing for enough time to draw a full breath. I ended up feeling sick after a workout. I fo not recommend this version. The instructor goes thru the motions too fast.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Yoga Workouts!

    I absolutely love these videos! I try to do the AM each and every day--when I don't do it, I notice a huge difference in my energy level throughout the day. As far as the PM goes, it is definately more difficult, but with practice becomes easier. I am amazed that I'm able to sleep so well after performing exercise! I highly recommend these videos!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    This is misleading. Rodney Yee does not do the PM session.

    You have to read the fine print to realize Rodney Yee doesn't do the PM session and while I love the AM session with him, I find the PM very difficult to follow. Frequently, I have to get out of pose and turn around to see the screen because she is not walking you through it verbally well enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    good beginner workout

    I learned these moves in rehab years ago. When I found myself needing to start exercise over from square one, this is one of the videos I turned to. There are some moves that are - and may always be - beyond my ability to fully execute, but they are easy to modify. I'd recommend this video to anyone wanting a handful of basic, uncomplicated poses for morning and evening practice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    Challenging.A great way to start out your day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible Waste of Time

    Unless you're one of those characters in Wall-E who is completely inactive, overweight, and lazy, then you'll get nothing out of this DVD. It's not yoga; it's glorified stretching for wastes of life who apparently never walk, stand, or really do anything even remotely involving their bodies.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic Routine

    Gret routine for the vast majority of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2