Customer Reviews for

About a Boy

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST SEE

    it took me a looong time to see this movie i heard it was good. finally one day i saw it and i went to sleep late because i couldn't stop watching it. it is soo good i wish to tell people if you buy it like me without ever seen it you would not have wasted your money in vain. now i am looking for the book to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Just Loved It!!

    I really enjoyed this movie. It's one of those that you like to watch over and over again. Grant plays a very cynical and selfish and lonely man whose life gets interrupted by a kid. It's funny, moving, and some parts are jsut embarassing. You should definately get it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic, Hilarious Comedy

    I like the plot of the story which you can Will's changes gradually from a self-centred to a caring, loving guy. I like the way Hugh Grant protrayed Will, speaking with brutal tone. His boyish behaviour makes me laugh all the time, telling lies, chasing ambulance and ridding his life of all responsibility. Above all, his sarcastic remarks, "the most killing is that both of them close their eyes."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Memorial Day 2002 Release

    This movie was released the same day as Star Wars episode 2 (Clone Wars). Amazingly, Hugh Grant and company delivered the better Memorial Day release. Actually one of the best movies summer of 2002. Watch, laugh, and enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious--so many one-liners you'll need to take notes

    I'm still quoting this movie. It's filled with hilarious, perfectly dead-pan one-liners delivered perfectly by Hugh Grant. The human side of the story holds up its end of the bargain fairly well, but the comedy alone is worth the price of entry. If you're a fan of the British school of humor, this is your flick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best movie I have seen in quite awhile

    This movie was one of the best I have seen in long time. Best story line, and humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    Possibly my favorite movie. I love the real life situations and

    Possibly my favorite movie.
    I love the real life situations and how the movie deals with sensitive subjects so truthfully and cleaverly, but it is a feel good movie that playfully and wittily creates a feel good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Boy's alright...

    Quirky tale about the rich and lonely son of a one-hit-wonder (Grant), and Marcus, the frumpy 12 year old son of a single, suicidal hippiechick, who inconvienently invades his well controled and solitary existence. Grant, Nicholas Hoult (Marcus), and Toni Collette all deliver charming performances in this warm but funny movie about very different lives intersecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hugh Grant in his element

    This was a great movie. And I highly suspect that this is how Hugh Grant see's himself at times (like his character in the movie) which is why he made this movie so believable. Robert Deniro bought the rights to the film before Hugh could do it himself as they both felt it would be a great movie. Since Hugh couldn't own it, he contacted 'Bob' and was asked to play the lead but not before trying to make it americanized. Hugh felt it was written by an english bloke (Nick Hornby) and should be made as an english movie too. Bob realized Hugh was right and made it with english characters. I agree, the english way is the only way for this film. It's funny yet has feeling. You learn from this film too...things such as how it was Jon Bon Jovi who first said 'No man is an island'. You'll laugh, you'll cry...and totally enjoy the soundtrack from 'Badly Drawn Boy'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good romantic comedy

    I'm not into chick flicks much, but I gave this movie a try for my girlfriend. The first thought that came to my mind was: ''Oh god, a chick flick with Hugh Grant, the pansy from England.'' But after about 15-20 mins, I was laughing and actually enjoying the movie. I suggest this movie for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    funniest movie I've seen in awhile

    This movie is one of those comedies where you can't stop laughing. I see lots of movies, but none compare to the wit and charm found here in About A Boy. I am not normally a Hugh Grant fan, but I am now. He redeemed himself in this movie and I love the actor who plays Marcus. The directing was brilliant and the screenplay was clever. I loved everything about it. I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hugh Hits the Mark

    About A Boy is a hilarious film with substance as well. You care about these characters and want to see where the story takes you in addition it's a film filled with humor that will leave you wanting more. Hugh Grant delivers an outstanding performance, a little different then some of his twitchy characters in other popular films, not to mention Toni Collette and the boy who plays her son who give their characters realistic and loveable traits. I think men and women alike will enjoy this film as it is as funny and full of guy humor as it is sensitive. Check this movie out it's a rare cinematic find!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2