Customer Reviews for

Across the Universe

Average Rating 4.5
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must see!

    a great movie to add to your collection!!!! And everyone has to love Beatles Hits! The actors do wonders to the old Beatles songs, especially Martin Luther Mccoy, Jim Sturgess and Joe Anderson! And Bono..LOVE HIM!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch before you judge

    As a woman who grew up with the Beatles, I'm always skeptical of anything currently written about them or the sixties in general. The feeling of the time is rarely captured well, and virtually every attempt to discuss the Beatles trivializes the place they really held, at least for me. For these reasons, I was not inclined to see this movie until a fellow Beatle-phile urged me to do so. It's very well done. Yes, it's a musical, yes, it's odd and simplistic, but because it chooses to do just one thing well -- really illustrate the fact that for many, the Beatles were the soundtrack of our lives during that era -- it ends up anything but trivial. I've now bought it, and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    My 17 year old daughter got me to watch this movie, and I was wonderfully surprised. When I realized they were going to singing Beatle's songs I was prepared to hate it, as no one can do the Beatles like the Beatles! But the songs were beautifully done, making each song almost a ballad. The story was sweet. Boy meets girl, they fall in love. Forces beyond thier control seperate them, then of course a very happy endidng. What got me though was the way the 60's culture was depicted. Every shot, music number brought you right back to those days (yes I remember them). It made me almost sad that we didn't know how great we had it back then. The movie truly captured the explosive changing times. A wonderful movie and I reccomend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie changed my Life

    This was one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. It truely changed my views of the Beatles AND the 60's/70's time period. This is one movie you have got to see. I wish times were still like the "good" 60's/70's. That would be awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie!

    I love this movie!!!!!!!! I liked the love story aspect and the way it showed the war and protests and everything. Although it is not the Beatles singing, I really enjoyed the different versions of the songs in the movie. My dad is a huge Beatles fan and because of that I grew up listening to their songs and so I am a big fan also. I would really recomend this movie to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MUST SEE FOR BEETLE FANS

    They have captured a wonderful feel good story from a collection of all my favorite songs. Sing along time and time again, I have both the movie and soundtrack - highly recommended. Surprises each time I watch it...to me that is a sign of a GREAT movie, when you walk away wanting more, and watch it over and over again. I am listening to the soundtrack as I type this review -smiling the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The ultimate story

    This is a great movie to experience with your friends. It brought back memories of the 70's and the sound track is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended!

    This is one of my favorite movies of all times. Love 60's clothes and music, the Beatles, and surrealism? You must see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst movies ever!

    The previews looked good so being a Beatles fan thought it would be a good movie. Was horrible. Don't waste your time or your money on this one. Wouldn't even borrow from the library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I loved this movie! It was so good. I don't typically like musicals, so it was surprising that I did this one. I now own the soundtrack to the movie as well. It was a great romance movie. I love the way they have redone the songs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    I thought this movie was awesome. It is perfect for anyone who loves the Beatles. I loved Jim Sturgesses slowed down version of All My Loving. T V Carpios version of I Want To Hold Your Hand is also amazingly sweet. The sadness and the effects of the Vietnam War were accurately shown through the characters change in spirit after returning from the war. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who appriciates the effect The Beatles had for their generation and for those to come. Its one of my top ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For Non-Beatles Fans Too!

    I had very low expectations going into this film. I was pleaselantly surprised. The Music really made the movie. I plot line was not about protest or race or any of those other really heavy issues that put people off. I was about Love. That was it. This movie was an ulitimate Musical Love Story between Jude and Lucy. If you like romantic comedies or musicals you will enjoy this flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In my Top Ten WORSTmovie list.

    I had such high expectations... only one of which was met - the soundtrack (which I will surely purchase). This movie was disjointed at times, predictable, and sometimes just left you scratching your head wondering, "what the...?" The social commentary (political aim) of the film started strong but ended weak. Total disappointment (except for the soundtrack, which was pheonominal, and the only reason I watched the movie all the way through).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Every Little Thing this movie does, it does for me, YEAH!

    If you're one of the people who owns Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band which was the first movie to feature Beatle songs featuring Billy Preston, George Burns, The Bee Gees, Earth Wind & Fire, Aerosmith, Steve Martin, Alice Cooper, and Peter Frampton, and loved that movie, Beatle fans would love this movie too. Like how Sgt. Pepper was in 1978, this movie features some special guests as well like U2's Bono and Joe Cocker, which I give this movie a big 100%, and it's a must own DVD movie for Beatle fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Just for Beatles Lovers!

    I bought this the day it came out, and wasn't disappointed at all. Jim Sturgess and Evan Rachel Wood could scrap their acting careers and be singers "except that they are also great actors"! Dana Fuchs physically reminds me of Joan Osborn, but sings like a better version of Janis Joplin. The movie is reminiscent of "Grease", but set in the Viet Nam/anti-war protest/mind-expansion era and with a much better soundtrack. Not enough of the Gen Xers and younger are exposed to the mindset during the Viet Nam era. Hopefully, this movie will expand the mind of a whole new generation. PS - It was good to see Joe Cocker again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This was by far the best film of 2007! Just fantastic...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Incredible!!!

    What a beautiful mixture of music, drama, and visual spectacle! The Beatles songs were brilliantly placed in a non-forced way that completely blew my mind...undoubtedly one of my favorite movies ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jim Sturgess is amazing!

    I couldn't wait to buy the movie after seeing it at the theater. I took my 18 year old nephew and 15 year old daughter and they loved it also!!!! Jim Sturgess is superb! He captures the aroma of the age! Revolution and Across the Universe are perfectly sung! Thanks for the making of this movie masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Change of Mind....

    I was someone who wasn't a fan of The Beatles. Then I saw this film and I got to hear some of their songs that I never had before and completely fell in love. Now I'm giving the old stuff I had dismissed before another chance. Besides the impeccable music the storyline of the film is so moving. I think it really captures the essence of the era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding

    There was a lot riding on this movie. I mean to make a whole movie and sountrack based on beatles songs could be defined as stupid to some but either way its very ambitiuos. This movie could either kill or fall very hard. I went to go see it with high hopes and I wasn't at all disapointed. It was great, witty, creative, and entertaing. The soundtrack was even better, as soon as I got home I bought the CD on Itunes. I would definetely encourage everyone one to watch this great film that will surely be a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6