Customer Reviews for

Akira: Special Edition

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Godfather of Anime

I have known of this title for a long time but just got it. What I found was the most outstanding way to put violence into a cartoon. The story line is the best I'v seen in a movie and is going strong. I am addicted and I'm currently collecting the manga, realising that...
I have known of this title for a long time but just got it. What I found was the most outstanding way to put violence into a cartoon. The story line is the best I'v seen in a movie and is going strong. I am addicted and I'm currently collecting the manga, realising that a lot is not in the movie, and it still puts me in a daydream.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Superior anime, inferior dialog.

I think Akira is the greatest anime in history and always will be. Akira introduced me to anime and made me think about everything. But I hate this version because Pioneer butchered Akira by changing the dub. In the original, Kaneda sounded cool and tough because he w...
I think Akira is the greatest anime in history and always will be. Akira introduced me to anime and made me think about everything. But I hate this version because Pioneer butchered Akira by changing the dub. In the original, Kaneda sounded cool and tough because he was voiced by Jimmy Flinders (he voiced Leonardo from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). In this one, Kaneda sounds like a sissy because he was voiced by Johnny Yong Bosch (he voiced Vash from Trigun, which stinks). The dialog sounds lifeless, idiotic, and modern. Those groupies from Kaneda's bike gang fit all three descriptions because of the revised dub. In the original, they sounded more realistic and authentic. Boycott all the Akira DVDs from Pioneer and buy the Akira 'ultimate collection' DVD from Manga. Heed my advice, you'll thank me some day!!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Time During the Days of Bimota Tesi at war with Psyclops

    This is one of the most memorable and noteworthy of the Japanese Anime Genere save for the original Speed Racer series itself; and true to it's roots, we have Tetsuo on his lowly yet roadworthy rice rocket followed by his wayward cousin Kaneda on well,... The Mammoth Bike... The Suzuki GSXR Ultimaximus.

    The Slavedragon remembers these Seasons during the Abyss rather with a fond bittersweet betearing of loves lost and fine days during the sun under the realms of Odin.

    We have two young magnet school droputs, who, true to form, have each stolen his own bike. "No you can't have mine, steal your own". Words of Odin one should heed.

    Now our friends get deep into the hidden weaponry of the state gone rogue by some rather sickly deformed abominations of the spirit in personal development who have colluded with bad science to create some rather frightening Monsters. How the god Akira found out about it is beyond my understanding but he is made carnate in flesh, (well, sort of) and then a crowd of religious fanatics gather togther to exalt Tetsuo, (with whom Akira is in communication with), over the screaming fanticss of the greatest city wide riot and mosh pit anyone one could ever imagine.

    The film is great fun and could never be made by actors. This film shows the superiority in certain drama of the Animated form. In addition to that, we deal in the best rendition of the usability of the Bimota Tesi and The Frog 750 from Milan 1984, set in a believeable science of usability on the street.

    Quorthon of Bathory call this film, "Odin's Ride o'er Nordlundt" Sssshhhh. keep it down! Others call it the Battle of Lost Tokyo. "who he?"

    This film is real. Parents will never even think to look twice at it.

    The Slavedragon hath bespaken.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Godfather of Anime

    I have known of this title for a long time but just got it. What I found was the most outstanding way to put violence into a cartoon. The story line is the best I'v seen in a movie and is going strong. I am addicted and I'm currently collecting the manga, realising that a lot is not in the movie, and it still puts me in a daydream.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superior anime, inferior dialog.

    I think Akira is the greatest anime in history and always will be. Akira introduced me to anime and made me think about everything. But I hate this version because Pioneer butchered Akira by changing the dub. In the original, Kaneda sounded cool and tough because he was voiced by Jimmy Flinders (he voiced Leonardo from the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). In this one, Kaneda sounds like a sissy because he was voiced by Johnny Yong Bosch (he voiced Vash from Trigun, which stinks). The dialog sounds lifeless, idiotic, and modern. Those groupies from Kaneda's bike gang fit all three descriptions because of the revised dub. In the original, they sounded more realistic and authentic. Boycott all the Akira DVDs from Pioneer and buy the Akira 'ultimate collection' DVD from Manga. Heed my advice, you'll thank me some day!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Great movie but get the books also

    this movie was amazing and well done but if you want to get the full grasp of akira read the graphic novels there are six of them and they will bloow your mind the movie barely scratch the surface of what akira is and was

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a must see anime for any new or already a fan

    i'm sure you've heard of this and either have seen but don't remember much or haven't and wan to see it. this has to be the most weirdest and a confuse piece of film ever next to ghost in the shell. the animation was out of this world and the story was a bit confused but should watch more than once. this is the story of two best friends, creepy telepathic kids and a not forgotten being called Akira. one scene that creeped me out was how the toys came alive, damn i'm not looking at a teddy bear the same way again. loved loved that the voice actors who did kiba and hige from wolf's rain were in this. in my opinion this is one of the few good dubs out there from princess mononoke "billy crudup was terrific in that" and howl's moving castle "super yay that christian bale was in it":"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, disliked the redub

    Maybe it's just nostalgia but I like the original English dub and never had a problem with it. Amazing movie, I wish there were more like this. Top notch animation, with some scenes a liquid-smooth 30 frames per second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Addictive

    I never watched Akira until a few days ago and it is so great I can not stop watching it. I was a little worried about the dialogue though because most people say the new verson is not interesting. Seeing it for the first time I thought the dialogue was awesome and the graphics are well drawn for its time. The movie was slow and boring at some parts but what movie isn't? This movie also makes you think and it is kind of what you want it to be. Also the music is excellent. If you buy this also get the soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Akira is the coolest

    Akira is definitely a must see anime that can be confusing at the (no spoilers) end. if you want know why see it for your self. only theres one thing wrong i think that they should make a sequal to the movie. if you want to know why see it for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    better, but not.

    i like the new voices, but at the same time i grew up watching this movie and i just expect the guy who did the voice of leonardo from teenage mutant ninja turtles to be kanaeda's voice. when you've seen a movie so many time you can almost quote the whole thing all the way through and then you buy the dvd and its completely different dialogue and voices? it kinda throws you off and you are disappointed.(even though i always thought kanaeda's voice was cheesy)i don't think i was ready for it to change. i reccomend it highly anyway, especially if you've never seen it. if you're an ald school fan like me, pass and wait till you find an old vhs. now if they would re-re-release it with the old dialogue (fingers crossed)and the new with an option for whichever one you wanted to hear, that would be AWESOME! then you could compare the two and make your decision. ---- still the best though.-----

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever created.

    This is simply the best movie ever made...It has an amazing plot and enthralling characters as well as some of the best action in any anime ever. It is what truly started the whole anime craze that is sweeping the nation today. If you have seen it you would know what I'm talking about. I myself haven't seen the original release since I was about 1 year old when it came out, but if it is better than the re-dubbed re-released version it must be even more amazing, which i didn't think was possible. Go buy it...now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a waste of plastic.

    When i saw the original of this film for the first time on video i was in awe of not only the quality visuals, animation and plot, but also the the fact that the english dub voices were extremely good, very well acted and perfect for the film ( very rare for anime!)but when i got the dvd i found it to be destroyed by very badly acted cheap hollywood voices, totally ruining the film. shame on you Pioneer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    crime against anime

    the akira that has been released on dvd has been redone so as to reach the new generation i suppose but in doing this it has been butcherd. the new voice actors are terrible and do not even come close to the skill and emotion of the original voice actors. also the dialog was changed so some charectors sound more ignorent which is bull none of them were so single sided. the animation was touched up by computers which goes against what akira stands for. it was made without the help of computers and looked 10 times better than animes that are made using them. my question is why did the creator allow pioneer to redo a master piece. i feel sorry for all the people that will see this new version and not even understand that it is a rip off of the original i review this extortion a zero

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It all Starts Here......

    This is the movie that started it all. Sure there were anime before this movie, but this movie became the true landmark. This is a true anime movie classic. It's not some cartoon. In fact, anime is not even close to being a cartoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Almost there!

    I think that this movie was good but without the others that followed it, I think it would have bombed. However, I think all of them put together makes one hell of a movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2