Customer Reviews for

Alice

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Back to Wonderland

    I saw Alice on Syfy in 2009. I recorded it, but lost it. Now, I have it again! Anyway-back to the point-the new Alice is exciting for all. Sure there was some language, but the rest is awesome! They do stay true to the books, but just added a few differences like Alice's age, the characters (except the Jabberwocky and the Cherise Cat), and they only used the Looking Glass, not the rabbit hole. But all and all, it's a great re-telling of Alice in Wonderland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Must Wstch

    I loved this miniseries more than I liked the movie by tim burton. It puts a whole new twist on Wonderland and the characters in it. I loved every minute of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful show!

    I stumbled across Alice while searching for Alice in Wonderland after the recent movie with Johnny Depp. While I found that version good, Alice puts a whole new spin on an old tale. Catarina Scorsone does a marvelous job and the headstrong, independent female, and Andrew Lee Potts is a great Mad Hatter. The tale was simply wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Year of Alice

    This has been the year of "Alice". The market is absolutely saturated with everybody and their brother doing some sort of high-end remake or bizarre retelling of the classic Lewis Carroll story, so you may be wondering what Syfy, whose budgets are pitiful by Hollywood standards, could have to offer.

    This mini-series is fantastic. The modern-day Wonderland is a world that has fallen to sin and vice by way of the Red Queen and her menu of quick fix potions harvested from the emotions of people from our world like pearls from oysters. Unsuspecting, Alice follows a raiding party that has taken her boyfriend Jack through the magic mirror and gets caught up in the Wonderland Resistance. Escorted, occasionally begrudgingly, by the charismatic Hatter, and later the eccentric White Knight Charlie, Alice discovers that Jack was far more involved in Wonderland's affairs than she could have imagined and she has become a target herself.

    The story and dialog are both excellently written and excellently delivered. There are several well known names attached to this mini-series, but with the exception of Kathy Bates as the Queen, they are relegated to smaller supporting roles, allowing the lesser-known, but equally talented main characters to shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    i recommend watching Alice it is a great movie

    i loved this movie. it kept my intrest through the whole movie it loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great adaptation of Alice in Wonderland!!

    What a great way to put a new twist on Alice in Wonderland! With the well-known characters of Lewis Carroll's story such as White Rabbit, Hatter, the Queen of Hearts, and the Caterpillar in this modern adaptation, "Alice" is a refreshing look at an old classic. The mini-series starts with Alice in modern times- when she quickly finds herself in a very changed and commercial Wonderland, after passing through the looking glass. With many twists and turns, fun characters, and some comedy- the three hour movie seems to fly by. Very different from the new Johnny Depp "Alice in Wonderland" but just as good in many respects. Definitely worth buying and adding to any library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Like no Alice you've seen before...seriously!

    This Alice in Wonderland adaptation is ingenious; it's original, funny, dramatic, and as quirky as you would expect an Alice story to be. Set in the future of Wonderland, after "Alice of legend" has already made her mark, a new Alice appears to shake things up again. Kathy Bates is brilliant as the Queen of Hearts, as she always proves to be, and you will fall in love with the bumbling white knight (Matt Frewer), but it is the lesser known stars (Catarina Scorsone and Andrew Lee Potts) who really shine in this production. With all of the things you love about Alice, and more, this Syfy miniseries is well worth the purchase price and 3 hour viewing time.or 6 hours, or 9. It's hard to stop yourself from starting it back up from the beginning the moment it ends. Trust me, this is so different from any other Alice interpretation you have seen that it will not ruin your love of the original, but it will make you want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Alice In Wonderland Reinvented

    This is one of the most amazing versions of Alice In Wonderland I've seen since the original. I love the twists and how they inserted key elements of the original movie into this one in a completely new way. The characters were amazingly portrayed and I really liked the take of a very strong and confident Alice. And Hatter was just the best! His off beat sense of humor and the journey his character takes is just as important as Alice. The actors and actresses did amazing jobs at makeing the characters real and you really feel connected to them and that you are on the journey with them. I have to say this really is my favorite version. First Tin Man and now Alice, I can hardly wait to see which movie is next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maddeningly Brilliant

    Having already been a fan of Nick Willing and his work on "Tin Man" I had pretty high expectations of the miniseries (tv movie, whatever). But even I was surprised how much I just fell in love with it. From the acting to the characters to the story, it was all just great. There were a couple nit-picky things but, nothing's perfect.

    Story: Part of the reason I loved this so much is that I'm a huge Lewis Carrol and "Alice in Wonderland" fan in general. But it's really just a collection of poems and short stories, so Nick Willing (who wrote as well as directed) had to come up with a overall plot on his own while still giving enough of a reference to the original. Not easy, but did he pull it off? Yes! It included most of the iconic characters, had some nice twists, and kept a pretty constant pace. It ran a little on the quick and convenient side near the end (one of my nit-picks) but I can ignore that pretty well. There was also a great underlying message about true wisdom vs. instant gratification that I rather liked.

    Characters: This is the big reason I love this so much. Alice is not the blond, innocent little girl she once was. She is a strong woman who saves herself and others more than once. Because her father left as a child, she has a hard time trusting people (particularly guys) and it's nice to see that play into the story. But at the same time she is still slightly naive and vulnerable; and both sides of Alice's personality are played fantastically by Caterina Scorsone. The Queen of Hearts is no longer the over-dramatic, shrieky ruler of Wonderland anymore. She is cold, cunning, and dangerous. But, much to my delight, she still says "Off with his head!". Again, another great performance by Kathy Bates (double points for the flawless English accent). The White Knight, he just makes me smile. He's comic but not just skin deep, and he is almost a clone of his book counterpart. Had me really applauding Matt Fewer. The Mad Hatter...oh my. Everyone says it, and it's true. Andrew-Lee Potts as Hatter MAKES this movie. He's quirky, witty, and slightly eccentric but at the same time he's also street-smart, brave and very sweet. As Hatter becomes a guide and companion to Alice on her quest it's great to watch their interaction, whether they are having a spat, running for their lives or whatever. Another nod to some good work by Caterina Scorsone and Andrew-Lee Potts. All the acting was great and I enjoyed catching all the references and "hidden" characters. The only bad thing I have to say about the characters is the lack of a very iconic one: the Cheshire Cat. He has a slight cameo but that's it.

    The special effects: Again, miniseries. They aren't the best but really not bad. The Jabberwock was the only really noticeable thing but I was so happy to see the creature I forgave the unimpressiveness of it.

    Overall: Again, even taking all of my fandoms into account I was surprised how much I just loved this. Since most of the references are from the books, I think those that have read them will catch more of the small references but it's still fun even if you haven't. And, I have to add this, the last scene always makes me grin and giggle like an idiot. You'll see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I Had know idea that this was on DVD yet!!!!!! me and my best friend absolutely love this. i have it recorded on my TV but i'm going to buy it this Friday!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best Versions of a classic I have yet to see!

    This movie was fantastic, its a great watch, and Hatter is amazing! The characters are all there although it takes a more Into the Looking Glass kind of turns, instead of the good old classic Alice in Wonderland. Love it and worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So unique, my new favorite

    An unexpected hit from Syfy. I thought it would be another B-movie in response to Tim Burton's new release but I'd take Andrew Lee Potts over Johnny Depp in a heartbeat, I instantly fell in love with Hatter (the heart and soul of the movie, in my opinion) A good blend of classic Wonderland and a kind of urban future look without overdoing the whole futuristic thing which I think kills a lot of movies. A few familiar names, Kathy Bates as the Red Queen and Tim Curry as Dodo. It's hard to say how much I liked this movie without spoiling it, so I'll just say: It's Awesome, I Loved It, Buy It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME!!

    I have no IDEA what that parental warning is talking about. This is the story of a modern Alice in Wonderland. Alice is fun and engaging and so is the hatter. It is a four hour long mini-serise, great fun to watch over and over again. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderfully Mad Genius

    "23-year-old Alice Hamilton knows all about Wonderland. But doesn't every child? Hadn't they all been read the stories? But after a very sudden and unexpected series of events, Alice not only finds herself there but in pursuit of 1 kidnapped boyfriend. Unfortunately, this Wonderland is NOT out of a children's story. The Queen of Hearts controls it almost like a mafia would, keeping people satisfied with quick fixes and instant gratification. Humans are in danger, Wonderland is under a shadow, and this time around...Alice may not be the only one who needs to wake herself up."

    Plot: Like the title says, the director/writer Nick Willing was a wonderfully mad genius with this movie (mini-series?). The retake is very creative but at the same time true to the source (Most of the throw-backs and references come from the books so if you haven't read them you will miss all the little ones completely). He took a simple set of mini stories and poems and turned it into a full 3-hour plot. Even more impressive is that it never drags. The ending did seem to get a touch messy and run a little on the convenient side but still. There are also some great underlying themes: finding true courage, learning to trust, doing the right not just the safe thing, and instant gratification versus the wisdom gained in experiencing both the good and the bad in life.

    Characters: Short answer? FANTASTIC. This Alice is not the delicate, blond one we are used to. This modern Alice is strong but vulnerable. Can protect herself but still needs help. Will ask for that needed help but finds it hard to trust even those who offer it. And Catarina Scorsone plays it wonderfully. She can be both a karate queen and a lost little girl. The White Knight is also quite sock-rocking in his own way. He provides a lot of the comedy, is probably the closest to his book counter part, and is just a fun character. As expected Matt Frewer plays him perfectly. It could have easily been over done but it's not. It's just right. But it's Alice's quirky, slightly eccentric, hat-loving guide through Wonderland who just completely takes the cake. I have recently relooked over the chapter where the Mad Hatter is introduced and NOWHERE does it say he is an old man with white hair. So seeing Hatter here as a young, good-looking, owner of a "tea" shop is perfectly in tune. Plus, the performance by Andrew-Lee Potts was spot on perfection. His facial expressions made me giggle, his accent is awesome, and the interaction between he and Catarina was great. The Queen of Hearts is not the comically over-dramatic vision that first pops into our heads. She is cunning, heartless, but says "Off with his head" (much to my delight). And Kathy Bates is fantastic; with a great British accent to boot.

    Special effects: Not...horrible but not the best. Better than it's predecessor "Tin Man" but still not perfect. I think the one time it looked really bad was the Jabberwock; but I was so happy to see the creature I forgive the unimpressiveness of it.

    Final word: Watch it. It's fun for the whole family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2