Customer Reviews for

Alice in Wonderland

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great movie!

    I love this movie! I went to see it in 3D in the movie theater; that was awesome! It is scary, but the Mad Hatter makes it funny. Alice falls down the rabbit hole again, but this time she thinks she is dreaming. Everybody in Wonderland wants her to defeat the Jabberwocky, (I hope I spelled that right.;) the Red Queen's Pet Dragon. But before she can do that, she has to find the Vorpal Sword.....The only sword that can kill the Jabberwocky. To me this movie is actually more funny than scary. I love the part when the Hatter starts dancing the Flatterhagen (again, I hope I spelled that right!;). His head starts spinning around, and his legs look like spaghetti. It was soooo funny! He is definately my favorite character. I can't imagine how anyone could dislike this movie. I definitely recommend it to everyone. Whoever watches it will enjoy it. I can't wait until it comes out in stores so I can watch it over and over again at home!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie is so awesome.

    What can I say about this movie that I have not already said in the headline. I watched this movie for the first time a couple of days ago & I was speechless after it was over. Everything from the actors & actresses to the 100% awesome graphics to the story line & everything else in-between is really awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Excellent movie. I watched the cartoon version when I was younger loved it and now I love the new version. I enjoyed ever charcter and could watch it over and over again. If you are a kid at heart like me you will love it too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Return to Wonderland.

    What you need to understand about this movie is that it is a SEQUEL, NOT a remake.

    I had been waiting for this movie for about 2 years and Tim Burton did not disappoint me. The characters were perfect and stuck close to the book. But this movie is definitely dark and may be semi-scary to younger children (probably 0-5, maybe 6) so it's your call parents. The make-up and costuming was extraordinary and I had tons of fun picking apart the symbolism that was hidden in the movie.

    There are several famous actors in this film such as Johnny Depp, Anne Hathaway, Helena Bonham Carter, Alan Rickman, Michael Sheen, Crispin Glover, Stephen Fry, and even the great Christopher Lee. This all-star cast definitely brings Tim's vision to life and they do a wonderful job of doing so.

    The film is thoroughly enjoyable and I recommend it to everyone.

    Fall down the rabbit hole and enter Underland!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    What can I say? I love the movie. Mia Wasikowska (as Alice) starts right in and brings the movie to life. All the recognizable characters become animated with personalities (both computer and actors). The storyline begins where the book (traditional C.S. Lewis)leaves off. It's hold-on-by-the-seat-of-your-pants suspense with a good dose of humor, largely due to Johnny Depp's character, The Mad Hatter. The Red Queen and the White Queen, ugly and beautiful, respectively, provide a good and evil symmetry to the story. The good White Queen needs the help of a reluctant Alice in order to triumph. Guidance from her companions and a wise, blue caterpillar, is the only means to convince Alice, who believes she's in a dream, of Underland's (not Wonderland, as in her childhood dreams/nightmares) reality. Will Alice be convinced in time to be a Champion for the Queen?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED IT!!!!!

    Soon as the dvd Alice in Wonderland hit the store i was out the door (2 purchase it). i didnt see the movie til i bought it & believe u me i luv it. many think i bought it cause of johnny depp (2 be honest thats 1 of the reasons) but my main reason was that i wanted 2 c it & it seemed like it would b fun 2 watch. i was rite. it didnt stay in the theaters 4 long & got very good reviews. the characters r somethin especially my favorite The Mad Hatter(of course). in this version Alice is now 19 & is anticipatin bout a future of marriage. she sees a rabbit n chases it which leads 2 her return back 2 wonderland. many of the characters from the book r enclosed (the mad hatter, cheshire cat, march hare, the red queen & the white queen, tweedledum & tweddledee, the caterpillar, white rabbit, etc)& their make up/appearances is great as well as their features. talk bout 1s face gettin red when gets angry u should check out the mad hatters eyes when his mood changes. those that i have shared it w/luved it. its a great movie 2 watch & especially the effects. only tim burton (1 of many) can do such a thing (the effects) when it comes 2 movies like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Tim Burton breathes new life into an old story!

    This movie was a great twist on a classic. The creators did a wonderful job of bringing Underland to life with an accuracy true to Lewis Carroll's stories. Although I was dissappointed in the 3-D effects and would reccomend the regular, 2-dimensional version to viewers. With the exception of the 'rabbit hole' sequence I felt the movie was a bit distracting with the poor 3-D quality. The gothic vibrance of this movie and the way the cutesy-creepy characters were brought to life stayed true to Tim Burton's style. My children have watched Disney's aniumated version of Alice in Wonderland over and over but this version prompted my 11 year old and her BFF to begin reading the books. As with most of Tim Burton's movie's there were a couple of scenes that may be frightening for younger children, but all in all fun for the whole family.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4