Customer Reviews for

Aliens

Average Rating 5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best sci-fi/action movie EVER!

    Every once in a while a sequel is made that tops the original. That film is Aliens. After expelling the troublesome alien in the first movie, Lt. Ellen Ripley returns to the planet that she and her cronies first encountered those hideous creatures. However, the second time around she arrives with marines ready to battle the third kind. The climax encounter between the queen alien and Ripley clearly makes this particular sequel the very best of the franchise. This powerful movie should be a lesson to all filmmakers in the industry. Aliens builds a story within the first hour and then once they reach the actual planet, the real action begins. Director and screenwriter James Cameron, perfected the art of storytelling in addition to the visual masterpiece he put together in this '80 classic. An absolute must see!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aliens

    Not only is it the best sequel ever made; seriously, but it too scared me speechless. I honestly believe that one cannot have Alien without Aliens. I have seen all the Alien series, but none of them measure up to their predacessers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The ultimate in action cinema

    This is not just an icon in the history of sci-fi moviemaking, it's also a legendary piece of work in terms of its action content. Complete with a terrific script, top-notch acting, editing, costume design, scenery and music, it is a thrill ride I have enjoyed from start to finish ever since I was a kid (I'm 36 now). Even my sister, who had no interests in action or sci-fi films until this time, was hooked from the first viewing. The tension shown by the previously fearless Marines bumps up bit by bit throughout the story, with a wild first fight and a mind-blowing final battle. Then comes the climax: Ripley versus the Queen - a phenomenal accomplishment before the days of CGI and a brilliantly-conceived showdown. Easily the best James Cameron film I know of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    scream louder?

    i would love 2 pick a copy of ALIENS blu-ray again even though i have the Anthology, but, it wouldn't hurt 2 get it again. someday. but who would ever hear anyone scream louder?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Still great after all these years

    It had been awhile since I had seen this, several years. It's still as good as I remember. I must say though that i prefer the original release. Somehow the extra scenes slow this one down.

    But overall still a great movie, the best in the series IMHO and destined to be a classic sci-fi movie, if it isn't considered one already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A stunning sequel

    James Cameron directed one of the most exciting and fascinating SF action adventure films ever made in Aliens. Not only does the story flow seamlessly from the first film of the series, Alien, but the characters, special effects and directorial pacing cause the film to pound like a sledge hammer from start to finish. The action is nearly non-stop once it begins and the character of Ripley, as all good characters should be, is driven further and further up that tree of absolute peril until you are just sure she’ll be torn limb from limb. The grisly antagonists drive the action with such relentless power that the screen seems to come alive with their swarming malice. No surprise there though, since these monsters were dreamt up by Dan O’Bannon and Ron Shusett and brought to organic, ghastly life by the artist and sculptor H.R. Giger. If you haven’t seen it, see it. If you’ve seen it already, see it again and tune into the finer cinematic touches that make the danger so palpable, especially the sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the best.

    Aliens is easily the most well done sci-fi ever, especially if you're an action suspense fan. The realism, detail and resolution of the story is what we expect from a director like James Cameron who set the bar high. He had the good sense not to be involved in the two sequels to this masterpiece. Watch this with the added footage as it enhances the film and watch Alien(Director Ridley Scott) without it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way better than the first one!

    Aliens is way better then the first one. Alien just had one alien, but this one had hundreds of aliens running around, plus a queen alien! The best movie ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Forget the 1st One!

    The 1st movie had 1 Alien..forget that!! How often does a sequel outdo the original? Well here is one time for sure!! This movie totally knocked my socks off. Sure, it takes a long time before you finally see an Alien but once discovered, they never stopped. The directors cut was awesome, seeing scenes that I had never seen before was a shock considering I know the movie by heart. (or did till then!!) Ripley totally kicks butt in this movie, and you cant help but feeling sorry for the rest of the characters. Non stop and breath taking movie...I loved it. Forget Aliens 3-it bites. THIS is the best one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    This movie is awesome. I don't know where to begin. The marines are awesome. They should of had more of these dudes in the sequel. This movie is definatly worth a rent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aliens not a masterpiece, but pretty close

    When I first saw the film alien in 96 I knew that they had to have made a sequel to the film, though only six at the time I had reviewed the plot lines of many strategic and logical horror films. The film was above what you would call bleak but didn't give enough action for me. Then the ending left us blank and we never knew what happen to Ripley or the cat! Then aliens came along filling in from practically where we left off in the first film. Then Ripley begins to go psychotic and having dreams of a chestbuster ripping her apart. Then we find out about the colony. From here on out the film was almost perfect in my opinion, I especially enjoyed the fight at the end of the film between the queen and Ripley. So I gave the film a 4 star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Aliens, equal to the original.

    Aliens is one of the best sci-fi action films ever. James Cameron shows a great flair for mixing FX, excellent acting, and jaw dropping action all rolled into one. Sigourney Weaver as Ripley is simply perfect. What can I say she gave the performance of a lifetime. The supporting cast is equally good. Michael Biehn is flawless as he brooding quiet take charge Hicks, Bill Paxton is hilarious as the frighten but brave Hudson and Jennette Goldstein is on target as the rough and tough Vasquez. The FX are truly one of a kind. But the heart of Aliens is with it's director, James Cameron. His direction is truly a tour de force.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    best movie ever

    This is the ultimate cool movie. It i full of everything that makes movies great. Also you begin to feel for the characters and feel bad when they die. The only downfall is that the Colonial Marines carry the title Marine which is bad. I mean who would want to be a Marine. I mean the Army is the best. Especially the Army Rangers. But the Colonial Marines still have the coolest gear and are still all around cool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    A sequal or a masterpiece?

    Many movies have sequals that ruin or cause people to hate the franchise. This sequal makes you love it even more. With a great cast and great props the USCMC kicks serious alien exoskeloten in this action sequal to Alien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best

    I write reviews for the best horror films...Truth be told, this is the most powerful Alien film of all. The latest one wasjust too gory; this delivers a sensational pack of wonderful mystery, action, suspense, great acting, and cheer-for-the-heroine-enthusiasm. Sigourney Weaver won an Academy Award for her work in Aliens, and should be seen by all sci-fi horror buffs. ---Joe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Aliens is the Best

    This is my personal favorite movie so I have no problem telling you that Aliens is the best Sci Fi-Action-Horror film out there! Only James Cameron could have brought you this in '86, and his classic thriller will leave you on the edge of your seat. This is truely the best movie in the entire Alien series. Excellent acting by Sigourney Weaver, Michael Beihn, Paul Reiser, Bill Paxton, Lance Henriksen, Jeanette Goldstein and William Hope combined with excellent special effects and a storyline seamlessly put together make Aliens the movie to which all other sci fi, action, or horror movies should turn to and proclaim ''I'm not worthy!''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2