Customer Reviews for

Amazing Grace

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Wonderful Movie

    So great! Well done movie and appropriate for all to watch. No trash in it. I loved learning a bit about the history of this great song. But mostly the great bravery of those in England who ended slavery there without a war.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    This is probably one of the best movies I have ever seen. It's really fantastic. William Wilberforce is, sadly, one of the world's unsung heros. This movie portrays his epic legacy in a wonderfully realistic manner and reminds the world that one man really can change the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Magnificent!

    What a magnificent story! The little-known story of William Wilberforce and the fight to end slavery in Great Britain despite the forces against such a political move. Inspiring to see how God can use someone within the political arena to effect change. The acting, costumes, sets/sceneery were as magnificent as the story. Viewing it is time well spent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    very well done and highly recommended

    this movie tells an amazing story in a straightforward manner and clarifies much history that I was unaware of. The actors, scenery and script are all compelling enough to watch several times over to make sure you don't miss anything.
    We are using it for our Sunday School lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    great to learn the history to defeat slavery

    Great movie to learn about abolition of the slave trade by England - and love the Chris Tomlin version of John Newton's "Amazing Grace" song which he did for this production.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    Wonderful film about a little known hero - one of the greatest m

    Wonderful film about a little known hero - one of the greatest men in modern history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Grace

    This film delineates in moving fashion the struggles of Abolitionists in England to not only end the slave trade, but to outlaw slavery itself. William Wilberforce gave his heart, mind, and soul to accomplish recognition of the humanity of all persons. The actors portraying Wilberforce, his wife, his friend Pitt, and other key players are uniformly well chosen and skilled at shading the most dramatic moments, not with histrionics but genuine emotion. So many us are familiar with "Amazing Grace" (which was not written by Wilberforce). This beloved piece is given fresh meaning after viewing this film. We are reminded that change for the common good may require great personal sacrifice and dedication. In today's atmosphere of instant opinions, hate-filled rhetoric, and dismissal of the rights of those who are not of the same color/culture, we would do well to honor the memories of Wilberforce and his compatriots. We would do well to strive to emulate their fight for justice-a struggle still very relevant in our day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True life of one man's fight to rid his country of the cruel punishment to slaves during time of British slave trade.

    One of the most compelling movies I've seen in quiet sometime. First seen when it came to local theater. Appreciated William Wilberforce's determination to follow his heart and convictions over 25 years of his life to bring down the slave trade in Britian. The title, Amazing Grace, is applicable to this film. Wilberforce was not a well man, he battled with fatigue and illness but inspite of his health, he perservered in his fight with Parliament to see a law passed that would abolish the slave trade. Moving, compassion, full of action, love for fellow men no matter their color, to make right the injustice that had plagued the slaves for so many years. This is a movie to be viewed over and over again, thus had to add to my library of home videos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A marvelous piece of history unfolds before your eyes

    This film is great at depicting the story of William Wilberforce and his abolutionist fight to free slaves of England.
    It relays the story of a great historical person who did many great things to change the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Accuracy - thumbs up

    Don't worry, I've checked the accuracy. Pretty good for a movie, although they don't really explain things too well. You can tell from seeing the movie that there's way more to Wilber's story, and there is. Read the Metaxas bio and get everything you ever want to know about him. He really was an amazing guy, and this movie is a good testament to him. The movie downplays religion's role in his fervor and decisions, so any Christian (like myself) would really want to read the bio to get the full scope of his devotion to God (the link is below). He did so much that you can't fit nearly enough of his very large portrait into a two hour film. It would have made a wonderful mini-series. This is the kind of movie you can watch over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Eye Candy

    The story line was just so-so and I'm not so sure about the historical accuracy. However, that Ioan Gruffudd is real eye candy. I watch anything in which he appears. Check out the Horatio Hornblower series starring the same, if you haven't already done so. History can be forgiven if he stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What a Gift! It is awe inspiring to see history come to life in full color. This man's passion ignite's on the screen and you are awakened by his will to fight for others. This is one of the best movie's I have ever SEEN!

    Hat's off to the collaborter's of this film. You have captured a page from history like no other. A page that more than likely we would have never been seen. You are gripped with emotion from the beginning by Wilburforce's convictions, calling and compassion. The ongoing love affair between him and his Savior is unmatched. The understanding he has for the purpose for life and serving something greater than himself is contagious. Wilburforce understood the authority in his life and as a politician that is huge. Especially in our political areana today where moral decay is so prevelant. He was more concerned about fulfilling God's calling than what public opinion said. The film maker's captured England in the truest sense of the word. The cinematography was artfully done, the costumes were beautifully created for the period and the acting....perfect! All in all, a true find and I am better for it. I believe this would be a great educational tool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful re-telling of the life of William Wilberforce

    An amazing re-telling of the telling of William Wilberforce's battle to abolish the slave trade. Thrilling and stimulating Amazing Grace is a wonderful film for the entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Grace-A Mover

    Amazing Grace was so incredible! There was so much history in it. They did a great job on showing hoiw the slave trade was wrong and the hardships people went through to put it to an end. I think children 5-6 years of age might not understand some parts of it. It is a great family movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Grace a act that changed history

    Amazing Grace the movie is truly an amazing movie. It clearly talks about the slave trade and the horrors of it. It is an outstanding movie also because it is very true to history and people's inner feelings at the hard time in England's history when the people were gaining more of a voice than they ever had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2