Customer Reviews for

Amelie

Average Rating 5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Visually and Emotionally stimulating.

    I must admit, I fell in love with Amelie- both the protagonist and movie itself -the second the film began. It is highly aesthetically-pleasing and simultaneously a bit melancholy yet completely heartwarming. There is not a single movie that I enjoy more than this one; perfect for First Dates, Rainy Days or evenings when you need a bit of a European Pick-Me-Up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Been a favorite since the first viewing.

    Subtitles? What subtitles? Fall in love with Amelie, as she takes you through her neurotic life and her crazy adventures. This colorful and thoughtful movie will leave you full of hope, inspiration and a smile at the end. Beautifully filmed, and a little quirky. LOVE THIS FILM!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly Recommended!

    Amélie may be over a decade old, but it is like a breath of fresh air. The music alone is enough to make a person want to watch. A very enjoyable movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly an Amazing film

    Amelie is and forever will be one of my most favorite movies. It is so brilliantly compiled together and you instantly fall in love with Amelie. She is quirky, compassionate, mysterious, and curious all wrapped into one. it is a hilarious,light-hearted, and beautiful film for anyone to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Refreshing

    The beautiful sound of the French language only magnifies the simple and basic story of a sweet and colorful character, Amelie. I love, love, love this movie! Audrey Tautou is just precious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    J'amie Amelie!! I love it, I love it, I love it!!!!

    I found out about this movie by watching figure skating one day. Belbin and Agosto used the soundtrack for their long program and I eventually wanted to watch the movie. I loved every second of it. It was charming, funny, and the music was just amazing. I'm telling you, go watch it. If any of your friends say anything about how foreign films are not worth their time, tell them they need to watch Amelie! I hope you enjoy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A truly inspiring foreign film!

    I first saw this film at the international cinema at my university and fell in love with it. Even if you're not big into foreign films or don't speak French I highly recommend this film! It is funny, inspiring, and a unique movie experience. Definitely a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eccentric, bright, and funny

    Amelie is a movie defintely worth your time. I laughed all throughout, and was very pleased at everything that went on in the movie. It is French, and you do have to read the subtitles if you can't understand French. That aspect seemed like a big deal to me at first, but the dialogue is written so well, I didn't mind after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome!

    One of the best foriegn films ever! Audrey Tautou is absolutely briliant as the young, quirky and wonderful young woman. I adore her in this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Awesomeness!

    The greatest movie I have seen so far. It also gives me goosebumps just thinking about it. 2 years ago, a friend from France told me it was a wonderful movie, so I decided to watch it. I agree..you fall in love with it. The music is great, especially "valse d'Amelie." I just can't find the words to express how much I love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amelie gets better with every viewing!

    I wasn't expecting to like this movie. My sister brought it home and said it was a French film. I usually avoid French films or anything French for that matter because of my bad experiences while living in France for a year. Imagine my surprise when I discovered I absolutely adored this movie. It is visually beautiful and the story warms your heart. Audrey Tatou makes you fall in love with her. She is breathtaking on screen. The movie made me fall in love with being in love. It reminded me of all those goosebumps and emotions one feels in the beginnings of a crush/love affair. The traveling gnome story was a hoot. I highly recommend this movie as it is the only good thing to come out of France.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shame That There's Only Five Stars To Give It!

    This was the most amazing, artsy, colorful movie ever! I was instantly drawn in by the suicidal goldfish, and the way they introduced each character with their likes and dislikes. This movie restored my faith in France. I'll never forget the frenchmen in the picture snickering about Amelie's pocket.. pure magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Took Me Off Guard

    There was always much talk of the feel-good French film that took the world by storm. I never really cared much to take an interest. In French class right before Christmas Break, the teacher put the movie on. In the start, it was this surreal movie that caught my attention because there were more than a few racy images. But then she started working these little mini-miracles for people areound the city. I immediately fell in love with this movie when it's lead character led a blind man around the neighborhood telling him what everything looked like and she just made his day. I had to see what happened in this movie. Unfortunately, class ended before it was over. So I went home and immediately rented it... I loved the rest of the movie just as much as I loved the beginning. It just made you so...happy. I don't know how else to describe it. Or maybe the movie just oozed happiness into everything around it, I don't know. All I can say to finish this review is: If you haven't seen this movie yet, you have to. You'll love it. If you don't love it, you probably have a disorder that keeps you from being giddy with happiness, as everyone who has seen this movie has felt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome, Inspiring movie

    I just love this movie. It is bright, wonderful and full of goodness that you cannot find in a box of cereal or anywhere else. Audrey Tantou reminds me alot of Audrey Hepburn and wouldn't surprise me if she was named after her. She's full of spunk and makes happiness a disease you want to get. The rest of the cast were awesome including the spiteful Joseph and the ''Glass Man'' and love the hypochrondriac Georgette. I would recommand this movie to anyone. It is unlike any French movie I seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just an example of all the good things to come out of France

    I m really glad of the success of that movie, which came to the US public in it s original French version and thus gave a real picture of what France really looks like. Indeed, I was really disapointed by too many low quality remakes such as ''La femme Nikita'' or ''The bird cage'' just to name a few.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The only good thing to come out of France

    This is an incredible movie. Recently, I've found myself unable to watch more than the first half of a movie without getting bored. However, this movie kept me from begining to end. It is the uberr0xor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming, delightful, and completely enchanting!

    I wasn't too thrilled when I heard my mother had rented Amelie, and I was even less happy when I found out that it was all subtitled. Nevertheless, I was astounded at how the emotions expressed in the film are realistic without being overdone. I loved Amelie's enigmatic, sporadic smiles at the camera, and her sweet, painfully shy nature. And for those of you who shy away from subtitles--the cinamatography is fantastic, and the storyline captures so much of your attention that you don't feel like you're reading the subtitles at all! Take it from this teenager--I would rather watch Amelie again than any of the flicks in the theaters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    Amelie is one of the most beautiful movies I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So surprised!!!

    I watched this movie because a friend said she absolutely adored it and I agree completely - it's an amazing movie. Finally romance is being brought back into the theaters. I loved the scene where Amelie finally met up with her photo man - beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So magical and beautiful

    Actually I rented this DVD because I wanted to practice my French. Anyways I was watching this movie. Personally this movie was magical and beautiful to me, for various reasons. A very unique and beautiful story and great actors. AMÉLIE ROCKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5