Customer Reviews for

American Beauty

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    loved it

    best movie i've ever seen...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Stunning

    When I first heard about this movie I had no desire to see it. Then on a rainy Sunday, bored out of my mind, I flipped onto HBO and saw that it was coming on next. So I decided to give it a chance since it won best picture. After watching those 2 hours of the movie, I was in a shock, as if I'd seen a ghost. This movie was stunningly beautiful, dramatic, and funny. Kevin Spacey and Annette Bening were perfct together. Bening deserved and oscar for her part since she didn't win. This movie changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Beautiful

    American Beauty is a spectacular movie of hope and life that has captured the hearts of so many people. Sam Mendes, the director, and Alan Ball, the screenwriter, both succeed in displaying the lonely life of Lester Burnham, a middle-aged man who takes a closer look at the world he lives in, and progresses on a journey to get his life back. The beginning tone of the movie is dull and uninspiring as Lester Burnham embarks on another boring day. He is seen as a prisoner looking out onto a world of beauty, a world that he once knew. He seems to be trapped behind bars everywhere he goes. Sam Mendes was born in Reading, England in 1965. American Beauty was his first feature film in 1999 and it won five Academy Awards, including Best Picture and Best Director. He is now happily married to actress Kate Winslet. They have one child. In the beginning of the movie during Lester’s monologue, the audience finds out he is going to die, but at this point he seems already dead. His life is lonely and he has a low and tense relationship with his wife and daughter. Every aspect of this broken family is distant and isolated. Colors are dark and dull except for the red roses that so regularly appear throughout the course of the movie. The roses in the movie represent fantasy and life. The life of a rose depicts the direction of the movie and also the life of Lester. A rose begins as only a seed, waiting to be nurtured and cared for. It then transforms into a bud after it has grown and grown, and is only seconds away from blooming into the next phase – the American beauty. After the rose has had its beauty, it dies, satisfied and fulfilled because not only did it live, it lived a life of beauty. Throughout the course of the movie and the introduction of all the characters, one specific character stands out more than any. Ricky, a teenage kid and the Burnham’s new neighbor, brings light and beauty to the suburban family. He influences every character, directly and/or indirectly, and shows them how beautiful life really is. Lester begins to break free from his life of imprisonment and manages to live life without a care in the world. At one point Lester states, “I’m just an ordinary guy with nothing to lose.” This movie illustrates that there are always preconceived notions about people and life, but in reality, there is usually a lot more going on. People are always searching for meaning in their lives, and Lester Burnham finds that meaning… that beauty. American Beauty is a movie that will surely touch the lives of anyone who should watch it. It is a film that can be viewed by both young and old and never cease to send a beautiful message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Tremendous

    This is a great movie that reaches all aspects of life and shows how life can reach its depths. It deals with the distance caused by a cold wife, lack of communication between parents and children, and total lack of care to what happens with oneself. It masters it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Winner!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is the most touching, heartwarming, beautful movie ever! Best picture of '99 for sure! All the charactors are relatable: Lester, the sad man who feels he had no life, the daughter, who longs to be normal, the wife who has no love, the neighboor boy who needs to show how he feels from the world with only a video tape. This flim isn't gross or preverted. It captivates what real men feel like when their in a rut at times. You ever thinks this flim is disturbing then just think for a second... look closer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True Beauty

    It was so touching. And I completely relate to it. I love this movie now and I always will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If I could give this movie ten stars, I would.

    This movie changed the way I look at movies. I have always liked quality films and a badly made movie is the worst waste of time anyone could ever endure. I borrowed this movie from my friend about two or three years ago and immediately loved it. I knew then that Kevin Spacey was the best actor to ever live and have followed his career ever since. Sam Mendes and Alan Ball have put together a wonderful film about the nature of beauty itself and I appreciate them giving me the chance to see it. Thank You, your film is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What most people don't see in this film

    The movie American Beauty, unlike the review from this site, is not about the underside of suburban life. American Beauty is a wonderful film that speaks about true beauty. It speaks about true happiness. This film is tied around the theological statement that God is beauty. The middle of the film states this very clearly when the conversation about beauty takes place. Also, it is centered around the theological statement that all desire comes from God and all desire is for God, even hunger, but is misinterpreted by us as humans. The desire for success, youth, order/discipline, attention, are all false desires that bring in the end no happiness at all. In fact, in the end what brings happiness is that which was always there, but often forgotten. This was a wonderful movie that needs to be watched more than once to really get everything out of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE FIFTH BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN

    American Beauty is a near perfect. My only complaint is a little too much unnecessary use of the f-word. This movie astounded me. I had two new favorite actors after seeing them in these roles: Kevin Spacey and Annette Bening. They both deliver some of the best performances I've seen. (Especially Spacey) The screenplay was one of if not the best original screenplay I've come across, so is the cinematography done by the fantastic Conrad L. Hall, and outstanding direction by Sam Mendes. (Some of the best I've seen.) This movie is the kind that you keep playing seens over in your head after you've seen it. What would make this a perfect movie for me would be that there is a little too much use of the f-word that makes me feel uncomfortable. But, it's still #5 on my list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Caution!

    Don't be fooled like I was! This movie starts out in a light-hearted tone, introducing you to an ''average'' if somewhat quirky suburban family. Your mind will say to itself ''This is clearly a comedy, relax and prepare to be amused.'' However, the twists and turns of the story slowly (so slowly you won't even notice) become darker and darker. By the time the movie was half over, I found myself squriming in my seat, as each event snowballed with greater and greater emotional impact. Hang on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie

    American Beauty is a must see! It is very deep and humorous. The humorous look at suburbia is great. Kevin Spacey was awesome. I dont want to reveal too much about the plot, but the issue of homosexuality in the family environment of suburbia is very strong and powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Will stand the test of time!

    Kevin Spacey, gives an amazing performance as a middle-aged, middle-American everyman, and caught in Surburban hell. Annette Bening gives her usual excellent performance, but the real winner here is the performances by the 3 young actors; Thora Birch, Mena Suvari, and Wes Bentley. This tale is mixed with at least 7-8 separate plotlines that are all essential to the story showing how seemingly unrelated events can somehow come together. It never fails to hold your attention and the ending which initially may be disappointing is only so because you root for Spacey to succeed. But succeed he has when you take it into context. American Beauty is a tale about 7 people trying to find beauty in their own way and finding it in places they never tried, or dared, to look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2000

    Excellent in EVERY Respect

    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. From the cheerily depressing music (this may sound like an oxymoron, but it IS possible) to the superb acting of the always-great Kevin Spacey, this movie deserves more than five stars. I never get tired of it no matter how many times I watch it. Every character is superb; Mena Suvari as the slutty cheerleader, Wes Bentley as the darkly peaceful drug dealer/boyfriend, and even Annette Bening, who portrays the detestable, sexually frustrated housewife. Wonderfully timed comic lines combined with Kevin-Spacey's inimitable dramatic acting and a great story make this twisted classic one of, if not THE, year's best film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2