Customer Reviews for

American Me

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    As anybody has ever been around a prison gang member, whether from the Mexicarma, La Nuestra Familia, the Black Guerrilla Family or the Aryan Brotherhood, and now the Nazi Low Riders, the old saying, "blood in, blood out," relates to all prison gangs and everything they do is very serious, unlike what we hear about these newcomers like MS-13 and the 18th Street Gang. Everybody knows that they are ruled by the foot soldiers in Pelican Bay of the Mexican Mafia. Edward James Olmos has directed the most accurate film about prison gangs and the ruthlessness and ultimately the futility in joining these criminals and fighting them. Even the most powerful man in the most powerful prison gangs is not immune to death from his own, as the movie shows in vicious detail. I know Mrs. Reagan, it would be a much better world if people "just said no!" but the world sadly doesn't work like that. If we are to win some "respect" in the war on drugs, which at times feels like a farce, the only way to win is to address it honestly and not simplistically just say "lock up." Once you are in the game of drugs and gang violence you cannot get loose unless you end up in prison, in a pine box, addicted for life, or turned snitch. Breathtaking film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    yo must see

    itz 1 of da best gang movies ever made must see no lie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    100% REAL!!!

    eye opening, shocking, with an anti gang style of story telling. recomended for all 15-19 mexican teens. the movie is real and scary but its life if you live in the barrio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Of the chain gang movie!

    damn well played and writed by Edward J. olmos. So vivid I gave it 5 stars. If there were only 100 stars more to give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    aaa movie for all to see

    if you feel lost, you need to see that you are really here. this is life for people that you know and love. dont close your eyes. it is life!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    Working in a prison in Nevada, i can tell you that this is the most realistic prison movie ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    la mejor pelicula de prisiones

    es la mejor pelicula jamas que eh visto en mi vida te esprica la cruda realida lo que paso y esta pasando en las pintas de california.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    best damn prison movie ever

    you havent lived until u see this movie, shout out to h-town texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See!!! The Best Prison Movie Ever!!!!!!!!!

    This movie captures you from start to finish, so much that before you know it you'll be quoting lines from some it's heroes like Santana, JD, and Mundo. The way the movie follows Santana's entire life from boy to man is amazing, you actually feel like he is aging before your eyes!!! This is simply a must have!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    One of the best gangsta movies ever made- PERIOD .

    Everyone one from main stars to supporting actors shined in this movie about real life. Very gripping subject matter will keep you fastened to your seat and the screen. Is one of the most under-rated movies of all time. I never even seen it at movie theater, was recommended by friend for a weekend rental and was hooked at begining.Definitely a must own !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    Olmos does it again!!

    What an inspiring movie about the way an unfortunate prisoner finds himself in war among not only his surrondings, but among his own family! a must see film my hats off to this compelling, moving, movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    The truth is told

    An incredible view from the inside of one of the most feared gangs in prison and on the streets. The acting is as goods as the movies reality and this movie is very real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2002

    The most riverting and disturbing movie I've ever seen!

    I saw this film on a lark, having been conditioned to see all prison movies as stereotypical and poorly made. But nothing else was playing and the movie poster looked interesting. Boy, was I in for a ride! This movie will shake you to the core and is at times very painful to watch. You really don't watch American Me, you experience it. It has multiple subplots and twists and turns. No bathroom breaks in this movie, you are glued to your seat but in certain scenes, your eyes will shift away. Worthy of an Oscar for best screen play, I am surprised that it was not a box office smash! A lot of folks slept on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2002

    Still Waiting For The DVD Experience On This One

    This movie is the most realistic of prison movies I have seen in a long time not only does it show the life in prison to the extreme but the outside as well and the srtuggles that come with that freedom, I hope this movie is released on DVD soon I cant wait for the extras

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2002

    It needs to be put on DVD

    This film needs to be put on DVD so that I can buy it, and put it into my DVD collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2001

    One Of The Greatest

    The movie Amercian Me was an excellent movie by Olmos. The main character ''Santana'' is sent to jail and starts to control all drug trade and murder in Folsom State Prison. This movie really only gives a glimpse of what mexican gang life is all about behind bars. I liked it because it shows a lot of what people don't see. It does give some extreme insights on what really happens. The movie goes from Santana being a kid to him being old and all his trials he endures with his two best friends ''J.D.'' and ''Mundo.'' And i liked that it shows betrayal and loyal and it gives you a good idea on who to trust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1