Customer Reviews for

American Psycho

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    this was great, christian was so sick it was sweet to watch, running around naked in sneakers and a chainsaw, trying to put a cat in the ATM, cheesey 80's music they ment killing was about to happen. This guy was sick to the max and i loved it. just shows they even the most successful business man can be a killers not just the back woods hobo. worth the watch, best part was him killing Jarded leto's character while listeing to Huey Lewis & the News... ironic they make me want to kill myself when i hear their music...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very funny

    I just rented this movie, had never heard of it,but it was in the ''we reccomend'' section of video store. I was expecting a thriller, but found myself laughing hysterically thru the whole movie. Nowhere on the outer jacket were the words funny or humorous. What a pleasant surprize!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I NEED TO RETURN SOME VIDEOS.

    I'm not sure, but this may be my favorite movie I've ever seen. (I'm writing this after having watched it for the I-don't-know-how-many-th time) It is so refreshing to see a movie different from the standard Hollywood plotline. This movie is engrossing, incredibly original, and is a rollercoaster for anyone willing to really get into the mind of a homicidal, frantic lunatic. Christian Bale portrays this role in all its extrapolated subtleties with the fluent skill of a genius of his field. The supporting characters are masterfully written in a subtly surreal tone which perfectly frames the lost mind of Patrick Bateman, where this movie takes place. very entertaining. a laugh-riot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Get Psyched About American Psycho

    This was the best movie I saw all summer. When it was over people booed, and you may too, but only because you didn't get it. American Psycho is a brilliant piece of satire and cinema. Follow Patrick Bateman through the 80's and through insanity. A wonderful movie. The book was 10 times better, but still and excellant movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BLEEPING HILARIOUS

    This was the funniest movie I've seen in ages. The whole audience was in hysterics throughout the movie (sick world we live in:) The best part (other than for the obvious reasons)was Bateman running down the hall in nothing but his STARK WHITE tennis shoes holding a bloody axe. Great dark comedy - if you liked Harry and Maude, you'll probably like this movies sense of humor. Of course this is lot more bloody

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Instant Classic- but not for the ignorant

    This movie is outstanding from start to finish. A classic, a must own for the DVD library. It is very dark, very sick and very good. Those that love it, get it, those that dislike this movie just don't get it and are, frankly, morons. If you understand the point, its truly a great accomplishment in film making.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY ENTERTAINING

    I went out and bought this movie after reading an article on it in a magazine. This movie is very funny and very bloody. The beginning is the only part I really didn't enjoy about the movie, but it's worth watching all the way through certainly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty good slasher movie.

    I thought the way he killed them was clever and original. I also liked some of the dark humor in it, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    twisted

    I liked it. It was a weird thriller with a little dark humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Refreshing

    This is a nice change of the normal dung Hollywood has been putting out for the last several years. This is a must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Expand your mind and read the book!!

    Yes this film makes fun of the eighties and at the same time it revels in them. If you are a fan of Bale then you can not help but love this movie. Aside from Empire of the Sun this is probably the most screen time he has received in a film. The only lacking of the film is that the almost disgustingly precise description of the book can not be duplicated on film, it just is not fully possible. If you are in search of shocking black comedy this should be at the top of your list!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What is it with every generation dumping on the one before them?

    Let's begin with the most 'starling' thing about this film. Here it is; Total COMBINED screen time for Sevigny,Defoe, and Witherspoon.....less than 10 minutes. One demensionl characters, implausible scenarios, and a generally simplistic interpetation of the 1980's.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2