Customer Reviews for

An Affair to Remember

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of favorite movies of all time

    Very pleased with the dvd. Very good quality even though it's not a blue ray dvd. I highly recomm. this particular dvd/movie. Price, you can't beat. Now I can watch it when I want and not have to wait till cable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic...but too mushy

    I have yet to see this entire movie becasue I can't get through it without walking away...very mushy....the performances of both actors is phenomenal...the plot leaves something to be desired...but I'm not that much of a romantic,I bought it because it is a classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Found at Sea.

    Wonderful movie. For those of you that enjoy the work of Cary Grant you will not be disappointed with this romantic-comedy. Deborah Kerr and Cary Grant have some delightful times together and several scenes have real comedy to make you laugh and enjoy their antics. This classic movie offers a great plot, good character development, and some funny dialogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Warms your heart

    The song An Affair To Remember was the theme for my brother and sister-inlaw wedding in 1957.
    They had their first dance to that song while a twenty piece band played.
    I was sixreen at that time,and to this very day I still find this movie and song so romantic.
    For their 50th anniversity I gave them the best gift An Affair To Remember.
    After all these years the movie still brings tears to your eyes.
    Finding love what more can you ask for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not For the Boys

    Clearly all the negative reviews of this movie are from men. This is the eternal love story. Truely the love between these two people conquer all. Yes, it is probabley not realistic but frankly I would not like for my love stories to be set in the real world cause that would be a downer. This is the best movie for hopeless romantics everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Over-rated 'classic'

    The reputation of this film as a classic film 'weepie' romance far excels the actual film itself. Two of Hollywood's finest film actors--suave, sophisticated Cary Grant, and the incandescent Deborah Kerr--shine in the first film's first part during their shipboard romance. However, neither star can overcome the saccharine dreariness of the second half after Kerr has her crippling accident (which includes an excruciating musical number with Kerr and some school children). 20th-Fox filmed 'Affair' in their patented Cinemascope widescreen process which only accentuates how hopelessly studio bound the sets are, giving the film a cheap, low-budget appearance. While the film is not as good as director's Leo McCarey's 1939 original, 'Love Affair', this version is still preferable to Warren Beatty's 1994 remake, an insufferable vanity production if ever there was one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really, who cares?

    This movie is not as good as I think the world thinks it is. I bet Sleepless in Seattle made us think this is good. OK, I love Cary Grant and would rather watch him read the telephone book than sit through two hours of Gary Oldman any day, but I could not care less that some rich people aren't gonna get it on. There is one simple reason to watch this movie: the is a nice return to Jim Crow at the end of the second act when a crippled Deborah Kerr is conducting a group of children. I think Rosa Parks fell into her bus seat having watched that scene, contrary to popular legend. So if someone has a copy of this (check with your gay male or zaftig female friends), skip over to the musical interlude and pick your jaw up off the floor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie To Remember

    This is the best romantic-comedy of all time. Cary Grant plays Nicky, who's fallen in love with a singer and they propose to meet 6 months later on top the Empire State Building. This has the most romantic ending ever, plus the music adds to it! Also, the AFI named this movie the 5th best love story ever! (Although it should be 1)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Affair To Remember; My New Favorite

    i'm 36 and i just discovered this movie. If you love old, classic, romantic, get-me-a-box-of-tissues love stories, this one is TOPS! Carry Grant and Debra Kerr play a coy game of falling inlove quite by accident when they're both supposed to be marrying someone else. The best part is that Carry Grant is a flagrant playboy and it proves that love really can conquer all. I won't spoil the end for you but be prepared to have a FLOOD of emotions hit you when these two run into each other after about a year goes by and they're STILL in love with each other! I cried like a baby...no wait i SOBBED uncontrollably! It was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Movies Ever

    I didn't watch this movie until my senior year of college and fell instantly in love. A must see for all hopeless romantics and those who loved Sleepless in Seattle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2