Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You've got to see this Movie

In a few words. This movie is soo good, it change my life. There it is. Enjoy it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Doctored Truth

This movie, The Doctored Truth, is nothing but propoganda, and scientifically it is questionable. Al Gore presents scientific data that looks very nice and persuasive. However, he takes much out of context. For example, he shows RECENT data (past 50 yesrs) that shows...
This movie, The Doctored Truth, is nothing but propoganda, and scientifically it is questionable. Al Gore presents scientific data that looks very nice and persuasive. However, he takes much out of context. For example, he shows RECENT data (past 50 yesrs) that shows CO2 levels rising, and temperatures with it. He did show ice core data that shows temperature and CO2 levels going back hundreds of thousands of years. But what he failed to disclose is that the CO2 levels rose AFTER the temperature increased. What this suggests is that the CO2 concentration increase is an EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING, NOT THE CAUSE!!! You may ask how is an increase in CO2 level an effect of global warming, and not the cause. The reason is that CO2 has a lower solubility in warmer water than in colder water, so as water temperature increases, it releases CO2 in the atmosphere, as the amount of CO2 that it can hold drops as the temperature increases. Al also didn't seem to notice that the CO2 levels have been shown in the past to be very dynamic. Al completely forgot to mention, or perhaps he just doesn't know, that the sun's output has been shown to be VARIABLE!!! This is very distinctly shown back in the 17th century when sunspots all but disappeared from the surface of the sun, suggesting that the suns output had dropped. This corresponded very nicely with a cooling of the globe, along with it, such nice things as GLACIERS ADVANCING AND THREATENING TOWNS, AND LOWER AGRICULTURAL OUTPUT. I guess Al Gore forgot about all that. Al Gore mentioned that the ice shelves on Greenland could disappear. He also made note of that at the end of the last ice age that receding glaciers reduced that salinity of the North Atlantic, shutting down the North Atlantic Converyor, and bringing on 1000 years of glacial conditions. If we follow Al Gores own presentation, were the Greenland glaciers to melt suddenly, we could find ourselves in the middle of an Ice Age. We've got to prevent this!!! :) In summary, I think this is an extremely cleverly written, and for the general uneducated masses, a quite effective propaganda piece. As a comprehensive scientific piece, well, let's just say that it comes up a lot short. And the fact that it makes some rather large ommisions in the subject mater, I find it to be extremely misleading for the uneducated or the gullible.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You've got to see this Movie

    In a few words. This movie is soo good, it change my life. There it is. Enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wake up call for the masses

    If this documentary doesn't move you towards helping global warming than nothing will. It lays out everything that has been happening in a simple, yet powerful manner. I would definetly reccomend this film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Al Gore's New Religion

    Puff piece to make you feel guilty about being a human. Promoting more control over human existance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Doctored Truth

    This movie, The Doctored Truth, is nothing but propoganda, and scientifically it is questionable. Al Gore presents scientific data that looks very nice and persuasive. However, he takes much out of context. For example, he shows RECENT data (past 50 yesrs) that shows CO2 levels rising, and temperatures with it. He did show ice core data that shows temperature and CO2 levels going back hundreds of thousands of years. But what he failed to disclose is that the CO2 levels rose AFTER the temperature increased. What this suggests is that the CO2 concentration increase is an EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING, NOT THE CAUSE!!! You may ask how is an increase in CO2 level an effect of global warming, and not the cause. The reason is that CO2 has a lower solubility in warmer water than in colder water, so as water temperature increases, it releases CO2 in the atmosphere, as the amount of CO2 that it can hold drops as the temperature increases. Al also didn't seem to notice that the CO2 levels have been shown in the past to be very dynamic. Al completely forgot to mention, or perhaps he just doesn't know, that the sun's output has been shown to be VARIABLE!!! This is very distinctly shown back in the 17th century when sunspots all but disappeared from the surface of the sun, suggesting that the suns output had dropped. This corresponded very nicely with a cooling of the globe, along with it, such nice things as GLACIERS ADVANCING AND THREATENING TOWNS, AND LOWER AGRICULTURAL OUTPUT. I guess Al Gore forgot about all that. Al Gore mentioned that the ice shelves on Greenland could disappear. He also made note of that at the end of the last ice age that receding glaciers reduced that salinity of the North Atlantic, shutting down the North Atlantic Converyor, and bringing on 1000 years of glacial conditions. If we follow Al Gores own presentation, were the Greenland glaciers to melt suddenly, we could find ourselves in the middle of an Ice Age. We've got to prevent this!!! :) In summary, I think this is an extremely cleverly written, and for the general uneducated masses, a quite effective propaganda piece. As a comprehensive scientific piece, well, let's just say that it comes up a lot short. And the fact that it makes some rather large ommisions in the subject mater, I find it to be extremely misleading for the uneducated or the gullible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WoW

    After seeing this in school, this movie made me think a lot. so much that i had to tell my boyfriend to get this movie and see for himself what was happening in the world. This was an amazing fim and i wish that everyone got the chance to see it like i have. This was a life changing movie for me and i recomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OK presentation, inaccuarate facts

    Many graphical examples and numerical facts used in this documentary are either inaccurate or terribly mislabeled. I agree that the climate needs to be preserved, but it isn't changing so rapidly as this suggests. The snows on the mountain in Africa have been melting for hundreds of years, not the last 20. I know these facts are all skewed so that the point will be proven better, but try to be a little more accurate when presenting facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    earth worship?

    after seeing this movie in school it made me want to help stop global warning i think it is good that al gora " if that's how you spell his name" is inspiring us to help our earth but i think he is going to far. It seems that stoping global warming is all he seems to think about. You have to admit the world is going to end anyways and trust me it is going to end sooner then you think. I think it is nice that he is trying to get people to stop global warming but he is going to far. Plus this world is not our home heaven is and when jesus comes back it is going to be a glorious moment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    There is a reason why he won an Oscar this year. Al Gore's film is a detailed, insightful, and passionate piece that shows the dangers of global warming. He lays downs the causes and the effects of global warming, and it serves as a wake-up call for all Americans. Do yourself a favor, and watch this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only one thing bothers me....

    Though I believe in what Al Gore is doing,and I found the movie thought provoking, it bothers me that during the entire film he is driving a gas guzzling suv.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    As a science teacher from Brooklyn...

    ...I can tell you that this film has been the corner stone of my unit on the environment. I have recommended it to every science teacher and think it should be part of the curriculum. The movie is actually older than you think. The clips of Al Gore giving the presentation are older than the extra fottage about his life growing up and him walking through an airport and such. if you can find it, I actually would recommend getting a copy of JUST his powerpoint presentation. This movie has a little too much "regular guy" footage of Al Gore, which is a tad insulting. However, the basic message is the most important message of all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hooey!

    Totally off base! Al Gore scares me, creating a cult like religious movement to save our environment. He neglects to mention our moon is slowly drifting away from earth creating less of a lunar pull which can have dramatic effects on our climate! Those who care to dig deeper can look at Mars as an example of the effects of a planet w/o a moon. Save your money and invest in solar power!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do your part...

    After seeing this movie I went and replaced all my light bulbs, I was planning on buying a big car but ended up buying a fuel efficent car (Toyota). Even if you don't agree with this movie we all need to take care of the Earth. Do your part. Recycle, make shorter trip or plan your daily trip around town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE NEXT PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES!!!

    Go Al Gore, Go Al Gore. This documentary is phenomenal. The tips that scroll the screen at the end of it are useful for anyone who cares about the planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Interesting

    I watched this at my school one evening when they were having a special viewing. I was very impressed with the information that was presented. It really made me stop and think about what I do and what I can do to help fight against global warming. It is very interesting and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Interesting

    Just finished watching this for the 2nd time. The first time I watched it alone, and this time with my husband. My husband is a Geologist and works in the environmental field. He told me that what the documentary showed was true, not biased. I wish we could all come together on "being green" and leave the political crap out of it. My parents won't watch the DVD because they are staunch Republicans and Gore is a Democrat. I don't care what political party you follow, I think you should have an open mind. Honestly, I'm glad Gore found something meaningful to do when he did not become president. Would it hurt people to just Recycle? We've done it for 10 years and we recycle more than we send to the landfill. Doing little things can make a big difference and this DVD shows many little things we can do on a daily basis to make our Earth a better place to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch this movie and DO something !

    Why would someone question the validity of the information in this work especially when the evidence is overwhelming that we are experiencing drastic weather changes and a Northeast winter without any evidence of snow? 50 degrees in December, but no global warming? Al Gore provides impeccable proof on a cause he has been working to enlighten the planet on for decades, conference by conference. When I hear people tell me Global Warming does not effect them, I cringe!Selfish people!!! What of your offspring? What of the planet's fate? Do you wish to leave behind a planetary sewer as a legacy? Ignorance is bliss, and Gore provides a forum where even the ignorant need to take heed. this is why he titles it "An Inconvenient Truth"...it means we ALL have to work to repair it, but that would mean taking time away from our ballgames and beers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No rat here....

    It's a great movie, and it's about time someone made it. The message is indisputable, and as for the profits mentioned in the other review, 100 percent of the profits from the book and the movie will go to an educational campaign to further spread the message about global warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everyone Should Be Required to See This!!!!

    This movie spells out the facts in a manner that everyone should be able to understand. The only problem is the people who refuse to open their eyes. I don't understand how people can refuse to acknowledge what global warming is doing and at least make a small effort to help. It is amazing the lengths that corporations are going to in order to keep this information from getting out. Global Warming is NOT a HOAX and only someone who is totally ignorant and blind or on the Exxon payroll would believe that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this is the thruth

    may i pose the question to all those who believe that global warming is not real, why has greater boston not recieved any snow this winter and had temperature 20 degrees above normal? Global warming is reality. It is our responsiblity to keep the earth livable for the highschoolers of today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WHAT NONSENSE

    Want a real inconvenient truth? Snow fall in Malibu California record setting cold throughout sections of the United States. Global warming is a HOAX and so is Al Gore. Climate change is CYCLICAL and real FACTS prove it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2