Customer Reviews for

An Inconvenient Truth

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

You've got to see this Movie

In a few words. This movie is soo good, it change my life. There it is. Enjoy it.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Doctored Truth

This movie, The Doctored Truth, is nothing but propoganda, and scientifically it is questionable. Al Gore presents scientific data that looks very nice and persuasive. However, he takes much out of context. For example, he shows RECENT data (past 50 yesrs) that shows...
This movie, The Doctored Truth, is nothing but propoganda, and scientifically it is questionable. Al Gore presents scientific data that looks very nice and persuasive. However, he takes much out of context. For example, he shows RECENT data (past 50 yesrs) that shows CO2 levels rising, and temperatures with it. He did show ice core data that shows temperature and CO2 levels going back hundreds of thousands of years. But what he failed to disclose is that the CO2 levels rose AFTER the temperature increased. What this suggests is that the CO2 concentration increase is an EFFECT OF GLOBAL WARMING, NOT THE CAUSE!!! You may ask how is an increase in CO2 level an effect of global warming, and not the cause. The reason is that CO2 has a lower solubility in warmer water than in colder water, so as water temperature increases, it releases CO2 in the atmosphere, as the amount of CO2 that it can hold drops as the temperature increases. Al also didn't seem to notice that the CO2 levels have been shown in the past to be very dynamic. Al completely forgot to mention, or perhaps he just doesn't know, that the sun's output has been shown to be VARIABLE!!! This is very distinctly shown back in the 17th century when sunspots all but disappeared from the surface of the sun, suggesting that the suns output had dropped. This corresponded very nicely with a cooling of the globe, along with it, such nice things as GLACIERS ADVANCING AND THREATENING TOWNS, AND LOWER AGRICULTURAL OUTPUT. I guess Al Gore forgot about all that. Al Gore mentioned that the ice shelves on Greenland could disappear. He also made note of that at the end of the last ice age that receding glaciers reduced that salinity of the North Atlantic, shutting down the North Atlantic Converyor, and bringing on 1000 years of glacial conditions. If we follow Al Gores own presentation, were the Greenland glaciers to melt suddenly, we could find ourselves in the middle of an Ice Age. We've got to prevent this!!! :) In summary, I think this is an extremely cleverly written, and for the general uneducated masses, a quite effective propaganda piece. As a comprehensive scientific piece, well, let's just say that it comes up a lot short. And the fact that it makes some rather large ommisions in the subject mater, I find it to be extremely misleading for the uneducated or the gullible.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You've got to see this Movie

    In a few words. This movie is soo good, it change my life. There it is. Enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wake up call for the masses

    If this documentary doesn't move you towards helping global warming than nothing will. It lays out everything that has been happening in a simple, yet powerful manner. I would definetly reccomend this film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WoW

    After seeing this in school, this movie made me think a lot. so much that i had to tell my boyfriend to get this movie and see for himself what was happening in the world. This was an amazing fim and i wish that everyone got the chance to see it like i have. This was a life changing movie for me and i recomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    There is a reason why he won an Oscar this year. Al Gore's film is a detailed, insightful, and passionate piece that shows the dangers of global warming. He lays downs the causes and the effects of global warming, and it serves as a wake-up call for all Americans. Do yourself a favor, and watch this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    As a science teacher from Brooklyn...

    ...I can tell you that this film has been the corner stone of my unit on the environment. I have recommended it to every science teacher and think it should be part of the curriculum. The movie is actually older than you think. The clips of Al Gore giving the presentation are older than the extra fottage about his life growing up and him walking through an airport and such. if you can find it, I actually would recommend getting a copy of JUST his powerpoint presentation. This movie has a little too much "regular guy" footage of Al Gore, which is a tad insulting. However, the basic message is the most important message of all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do your part...

    After seeing this movie I went and replaced all my light bulbs, I was planning on buying a big car but ended up buying a fuel efficent car (Toyota). Even if you don't agree with this movie we all need to take care of the Earth. Do your part. Recycle, make shorter trip or plan your daily trip around town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE NEXT PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES!!!

    Go Al Gore, Go Al Gore. This documentary is phenomenal. The tips that scroll the screen at the end of it are useful for anyone who cares about the planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Interesting

    I watched this at my school one evening when they were having a special viewing. I was very impressed with the information that was presented. It really made me stop and think about what I do and what I can do to help fight against global warming. It is very interesting and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Interesting

    Just finished watching this for the 2nd time. The first time I watched it alone, and this time with my husband. My husband is a Geologist and works in the environmental field. He told me that what the documentary showed was true, not biased. I wish we could all come together on "being green" and leave the political crap out of it. My parents won't watch the DVD because they are staunch Republicans and Gore is a Democrat. I don't care what political party you follow, I think you should have an open mind. Honestly, I'm glad Gore found something meaningful to do when he did not become president. Would it hurt people to just Recycle? We've done it for 10 years and we recycle more than we send to the landfill. Doing little things can make a big difference and this DVD shows many little things we can do on a daily basis to make our Earth a better place to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch this movie and DO something !

    Why would someone question the validity of the information in this work especially when the evidence is overwhelming that we are experiencing drastic weather changes and a Northeast winter without any evidence of snow? 50 degrees in December, but no global warming? Al Gore provides impeccable proof on a cause he has been working to enlighten the planet on for decades, conference by conference. When I hear people tell me Global Warming does not effect them, I cringe!Selfish people!!! What of your offspring? What of the planet's fate? Do you wish to leave behind a planetary sewer as a legacy? Ignorance is bliss, and Gore provides a forum where even the ignorant need to take heed. this is why he titles it "An Inconvenient Truth"...it means we ALL have to work to repair it, but that would mean taking time away from our ballgames and beers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No rat here....

    It's a great movie, and it's about time someone made it. The message is indisputable, and as for the profits mentioned in the other review, 100 percent of the profits from the book and the movie will go to an educational campaign to further spread the message about global warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everyone Should Be Required to See This!!!!

    This movie spells out the facts in a manner that everyone should be able to understand. The only problem is the people who refuse to open their eyes. I don't understand how people can refuse to acknowledge what global warming is doing and at least make a small effort to help. It is amazing the lengths that corporations are going to in order to keep this information from getting out. Global Warming is NOT a HOAX and only someone who is totally ignorant and blind or on the Exxon payroll would believe that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this is the thruth

    may i pose the question to all those who believe that global warming is not real, why has greater boston not recieved any snow this winter and had temperature 20 degrees above normal? Global warming is reality. It is our responsiblity to keep the earth livable for the highschoolers of today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EVERYONE Should see this

    Wonderfully presented! Every person, parent, educator, family and business should have a copy of this! Cuts to the chase with information and clarity...and a touch of humor to help us understand: We Can All Do Something To Participate!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Our very survival on this planet, is indebted to Al Gore

    As an observer of our climate change phenomenon, I am grateful to Al Gore for his dedication in this work. Hopefully, sufficient people's - globally - will "get it" and begin to implement changes that slow down and/or turn around the impending catastrophic changes due to global warming. Thank You Al Gore My unborn grandchildren thank you, Stephanie Portland, Oregon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A documentary on Global Warming

    This film is a documentary, as opposed to a conventional movie. But this documentary does tell a story and one that needs to be told. Al Gore presents the best case for the reality of Global Warming--with human societies as the culprit--I've ever encountered. While certain politicos argue and quibble, the facts are almost self-evident. This movie, unlike Farenheit 9/11 or Bowling for Columbine, is basically an environmental message, rather than political. Al Gore does make some biographical remarks about his childhood and political career, but there are no political attacks here by Mr. Gore. As he says, we are in a crisis now and the Earth and all of humanity are hanging in the balance, and everybody is to blame, and we created this mess, only we can get ourselves out of it and partisan politics is only slowing or halting the process. The facts are there and have nothing to do with Democrats or Republicans or those of religious persuasion. Global Warming is no more a Democratic idea as opposed to Republican than there exists Democratic Calculus or Vector Analysis Vs. Republican Geometry, or Methodist Biology or Muslim Economics. Science is science and is the tool with which man can create Heaven or Hell. So far we done a good job at destroying the planet--one might think it was our actual goal! Yes, Hell on Earth in 20 years, or your money back! Unfortunately, typical lawmakers have about as much knowledge of the science involved in Gore's arguments as they have an understanding of Quantum Physics, String Theory, or Differential Calculus, in other words--Nil, Nada, Nichevo, Zilch. However, Gore presents his case in a manner that anyone, even Republicans could understand. After all, the Earth is our only home. Destroy her and mankind destroys himself with her. And we can have a good economy and even enjoy the greater part of our technological goodies in contrast to the anti-environmentalist propaganda of the Ayn Rand Institute. As Gore says in the film "Good enviromental policy is good economic policy as well." I recommend this film as well as Al Gore's book The Earth in the Balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This movie really expressed the current situation the entire world is expieriencing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Scary Truth of the World

    This is a great movie and totally unbiased,which is quite refreshing and very mature on the part of a politician like Al Gore(what a nice guy).If I had the opportunity to make a movie like this I would have made it a diss-Bush saga!Excellent theme song by Melissa Etheridge-you go girl!-called "I Need To Move."Quite astonishing and sad to see what the world has come to:maybe we need a consumer intervention!?hmmm...Give to everyone who votes for Xmas this year!Proud to be an American still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2