Customer Reviews for

Angels in America

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great message wrapped in a beautiful package

    This is one of the most faithful film/television adaptations out there of a literary work of any kind. The cast is simply superb. Mary-Louise Parker in particular surpised the hell out of me with her tender, vulnerable performance. Broadway veteran Patrick Wilson also shows he has some great acting chops. Streep and Pacino are outstanding as ususal. Basically, the whole cast is excellent and it would take too much room to mention them individually. Tony Kushner's words and message are brought brilliantly to life by Mike Nichols and it just goes to show that a lot of money for production can go a really long way and achieve something great in the proper hands. As to those who are "tired of the subject matter" I say to you: WAKE UP!!! These are real issues that real people who live outside of your thoroughly homogenized, double-shot of esspresso, WASP-ish, bible-thumping, blinders on, W-is-great lives are dealing with everyday. Tired of the subject matter? Are you kidding me? This play, lik RENT, was written to make everyone aware of the very real threat of AIDS and HIV and is intended as a message to the public to get off their collective behinds and do something about it. Look, if you are uncomfortable with what the play and the mini-series has to say, then don't read or watch it. Go home and listen to Rush Limbaugh and read Left Behind and pretend that nothing exists outside of your own little world and dream of the day that you and your ridiculous ilk will go to heaven and live happily ever after and all sinners like me and Tony Kushner will....blah, blah, blah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really worth those 6 hours!

    I enjoyed everything about it, I cannot believe Al Pacino was this good at what he does. Meryl Streep; pure excellence! The whole plot of it is really emotional but true and I think people really need to watch this to know what I'm talking about. Well worth my time and you should definitely watch this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superlatives still do not do full justice...

    ...to this simply miraculous achievement. I saw in repertory a touring company of Tony Kushner magnum opus back in the early 90's and was simply blown away by the sheer intelligence and passion of this work! I recall saying to myself that as staggering as this work was and due to the innate theatricality woven into the script it would never be able to be adapted to any other artistic medium. Was I ever wrong! Mike Nichols , who has never done anything better in his entire career, has done a simply brilliant job in reconceptualizing this stunning work of art, which will one day join the list of the inmortal theatrical works, to be considered in the same breadth of Hamlet and Death of a Salesman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Inspiring

    I laugh as I read the reviews stating this movie is "UnGodly!" First, anyone buying this movie because it has "Angels" in the title will be greatly suprised and should be embarrassed that they have never heard what is arguably one of our centuries greatest litterary works. Kushner's script proves to be highly dramatic, rich in symbol and meaning, and an exceptional telling of how the Regan administration foolishly ignored one of the countries greatest plagues. I myself am a Christian, and I still find this to be a wonderful tribute to a group of people hit with grief and dispair. "More Life" to everyone. "The world only moves forward."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    you'll feel alive

    and you'll never forget it. still thinking about what i've seen after so many days. full of life and death, yet so uplifting. long live art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful movie

    I found this film deeply moving and scorchingly honest. Bible thumpers and conservatives be warned that this is not for you, however--as one patron appeared to be misled by the title. (read the descriptions, people!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the most UnGodly movie I have ever seen, should have been rated SC

    this movie's Title is very misleading. If your looking for a religious movie, this is not one of them!!Angels having sex with people is UnGodly. further more, the homosexual sex scene in the park was graphic and disturbing. This movie Bashed God and I found it very offensive.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More than 5 Stars

    An incredibly emotional movie. Those who think it's 'pornographic' and 'anti-religious' need to look past that. The nudity in the film is there for a reason, and it's not for pornography. The religious theme(s) are there for a reason as well. Emma Thompson plays the three different characters for a reason. This movie is here for a reason. It's a brilliant film and extremely emotional. It will touch your heart like no other movie you've seen. HIGHLY recommended for anyone and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good

    if you like this, check out any book by c.s. lewis. he's amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    I cannot believe that so many awards went to this film. Al Pacino, Emma Thompson, and Meryl Streep's acting was superb, as always, but the show itself was a total disappontment. I for one, and tired of the subject matter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Acting perfection!

    A mini series that goes by so fast, you want to start it over the second it is finished. One of the best films of a stage play ever! Please do yourself a favor and watch this film then share it with friends and family. You will feel every emotion you have. A MUST see for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Almost, but no cigar

    Excellent acting and an awsome script until about halfway thru, Takes a turn for the worse and has alot of uneeded self pity type of chatter from the lead actor's lover. Also. I had a huge problem with the angels having sex with humans everytime they meet one. Seemed kind of sleezy and left me with a negative feeling about Angels. They also claimed that God is missing and rarely mentioned his name except to curse him. Theres a section in the movie that has the lead actors standing up and making speeches that will give you the sensation of fingernails scratching down and across a chalkboard. They leave God out of the equation but offer no hope or answer for the situation other than to say that "The work now begins". The lame attempt at preaching to the audience left me wanting to destroy the DVD and warn others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Positively Brilliant

    There are NO more words to discribe this story. Just see it, read it, injest it, embrace it and look at the world in a new way. Ciao.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Steal this movie

    This movie's writing and acting will BLOW YOUR MIND. Ben Shenkman is especially great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TONY KUSHNER IS A GENIUS

    'Angels' is one of the most important theatrical works to come at the end of the last century; Mike Nichols has done the impossible, and made this WORK as a telefilm. I have seen many stage-to-screen adaptations crash and burn; here is the exception, and the rule that future adaptations should follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See!!

    This is a very well written and crafted piece of art. Deals with the important issues of our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerful drama & entertainment experience!

    This is one of the best dramas I have ever seen on television. It is very complex, well written and acted, and thought provoking. This is a 'Do Not Miss' event because it is more than just a movie. I would highly recommend it as an 'experience' as well as an important drama. The actors are fantastic as is the direction and scoring. It is definitely a 'must see'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2