Customer Reviews for

Anne of Green Gables - Collector's Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great gift for anyone

This box set is a must have for any Anne of Green Gables fan and will leave you wanting more Anne and Gilbert, guaranteed. The bonus features are wonderful and it's great to have all 3 movies in one place. Since they originally aired on PBS, they were not rerun very oft...
This box set is a must have for any Anne of Green Gables fan and will leave you wanting more Anne and Gilbert, guaranteed. The bonus features are wonderful and it's great to have all 3 movies in one place. Since they originally aired on PBS, they were not rerun very often so it is nice to be able to watch these movies whenever I want.

posted by CarrieBradshaw on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The first two movies are wonderful BUT do not waste your time on the third

For those of you who have read all of the Anne of Green Gable books, you will love the first two movies. They do a very good job of combining books into two movies. That being said, the third will truly disappoint you. It has nothing to do with any of the books and comp...
For those of you who have read all of the Anne of Green Gable books, you will love the first two movies. They do a very good job of combining books into two movies. That being said, the third will truly disappoint you. It has nothing to do with any of the books and completely changes Anne's character. I taught this novel and have told my students not to watch this last movie in the trilogy. So disappointing!

posted by 4655296 on December 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great gift for anyone

    This box set is a must have for any Anne of Green Gables fan and will leave you wanting more Anne and Gilbert, guaranteed. The bonus features are wonderful and it's great to have all 3 movies in one place. Since they originally aired on PBS, they were not rerun very often so it is nice to be able to watch these movies whenever I want.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Innocently Life Motivating

    I first saw the Anne of Green Gables film when it aired on public television many years ago. I then purchased the VHS versions of the entire set and proceeded to watch them over and over again. Now that I'm upgrading my VHS tapes to DVD discs, I was so excited to finally be able to updrade my Green Gables collection.

    When I first watched Anne of Green Gable's, I fell in love with Anne's wonderful and creative imagination. It's a great story for any girl/teenager/woman to watch. To follow the adventures of Anne Shirley from her youth to young lady and then into a woman is heart warming. Watching her grow from a desperate little girl looking for friendship and family to a beautiful and intelligent woman who found a place to call home in Green Gables, a bosom friend in Diana Barry and the love of her life in Gilbert Blythe is truly motivating and inspirational.

    For anyone who wants to escape our fast paced world of none stop duties to home and business, I truly recommend you allow yourself to relax and enjoy this tender story and share Anne's life through her own self dicovery.

    I don't travel much but watching Anne of Green Gables has even made me want to visit Prince Edward Island. The film shows so many beautiful places there. I just may have my vacation planned for next year. I truly hope many of you will take the opportunity to see this story in it's entirety. It may take the weekend to do it but it's worth it. Enjoy!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    The first two movies are wonderful BUT do not waste your time on the third

    For those of you who have read all of the Anne of Green Gable books, you will love the first two movies. They do a very good job of combining books into two movies. That being said, the third will truly disappoint you. It has nothing to do with any of the books and completely changes Anne's character. I taught this novel and have told my students not to watch this last movie in the trilogy. So disappointing!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great family fun!

    Megan Follows does a wonderful job of playing Anne from the time she comes to Green Gables as a girl to marriage; I was very impressed with the make-up and costume people as well, they had a hand in her ability to age. As usual, I got irritated when the script deviated too much from the book, but they did a pretty good job over all, and I thought all the actors were well cast.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Anne Of Green Gables

    We see one episode on TV and decided to get the series. We have watched all the through. It is a good holsome familey series. Our Granddaughter also has the series. She really enjoyed it. My husband and I are over 65 and we really enjoyed it. It was a great change considering everything that is so violent on TV today. It just shows that you can make a wonderful series without the use of profanity and violence.We would recommend it for the family to watch all together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Classic and Endearing

    Having all 3 movies in one place is handy, and the special feature disc has a lot of extras, with some interesting commentaries, short features and even Megan Follows' original audition.

    The story is portrayed beautifully, the imagery and casting are perfect. Anne of Green Gables is such a watchable character you can't help falling in love with her and the others she interacts with.

    I loved the first two movies, while the third was merely OK.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my favorite of all time

    fabulous story-line, beautifully filmed, engaging characters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I tried three different copies of this set and every time, the s

    I tried three different copies of this set and every time, the same DVD was spliced.  These cost too much to accept  this poor quality.  Returned each set.  Poor quality or quality contron.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    The First film was exactly what it should have been. I really enjoyed it. Each dvd following was disappointing. By the final film, I regretted buying the whole series. Yet, if I hadn't, I would have regretted only buying the first Dvd, and always wondered how it ended. I just really disliked the final film....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ultimate entertaianment! The story, the characters, the scenery! Anne has it all!

    Anne is fasinating! I couldn't take a break. And I couldn't wait for the next episode. I had to have the entire collection, and wish there were more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A movie for all ages

    When I was younger I watched this movie with my mom and I loved it(and still do). Now I get to sit down with my nieces and watch it with them too.. Never get tired of watching it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful series for a mental vacation from reality.

    I LOVE this series. It is beautifully filmed in a setting and time period that makes you want to go there. It is perfect for viewing with girlfriends of all ages. I borrowed the videos from a friend, then watched them with another friend. I didn't want the series to end!!! So purchased my own DVD collection that I can use for special "girlfriend retreats" to our cottage in the woods. While watching the stories about Anne it took me away from the troubles and stresses of the day and put me in a mental space that was simpler and more innocent. It was like funning through a mental field of lovely flowers. The feelings I came away with lasted a long time. This is truly a collection that is worth watching over and over again. The content is suitable for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A gift for my oldest daughter. She loved it.

    Have not had the opportunity to see it. Highest marks from my daughter who we purchased it for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Anne Of Green Gables Collector's Edition

    I Love this Story & watch it over & over when its on Tv
    Its a Great Series for people of all ages ,A Real Classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Quality Acting at it's best

    A wonderful quality piece of acting and over joy to watch and discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2